Recap:
Peyton's BG at vet a month ago 143
At the next vet a few days later BG 243
At our regular vet the next week BG 426 and continued to creep up. He spent all of last week at the vet on IV fluids (he's 4 years CRF) and getting his insulin regulated. Monday and Tuesday of that week he got Vetsulin and his BG went down. They did not give him insulin Wednesday or Thursday because his BG was 150 or less. Then in Friday it went back up to the mid 300's. This could have been from the food they were feeding him...royal canin renal lp.
I brought him home Friday and the vet suggested once a day Vetsulin at 1 unit. Saturday morning I didn't have test strips so I gave him the day off from ear sticking...probably not the best idea.
Sunday AMPS 148
1 unit Vetsulin
Fed Wellness can food in small amounts throughout the day and didn't retest.
Monday AMPS 134
1 unit Vetsulin
+4.5 BG 45 (fed slightly higher carb food)
+6 BG 53
Continued to feed slightly higher carb food throughout the day.
Called vet and he suggested insulin once a day, every other day which doesn't seem appropriate to me. I would think a reduction before skipping days?
Today:
Fed small amount of Wellness canned at 3:00 am
AMPS 128...didn't shoot
Should I have still shot a reduction at an almost normal BG level? It had been 24 hours since he had insulin and had eaten several small meals since then.
Thoughts/Advice?
He was on Lantus last summer and would have severe drops. He was in remission within a little over a month. I didn't think the Vetsulin would drop him like that.
Before his diabetes diagnosis this time he was being an extremely picky eater and I thought it was because of his CRF. He was mainly eating baked organic chicken. Do you think his body has been missing all the nutrients that were in the can foods and that is what has caused this? I would offer low carb can food but he wouldn't have anything to do with it so I baked him chicken and he would devour it. I'm just at a loss as to what has caused his diabetes to return.
My main question is...
At what BG do you not shoot? Was I right in not shooting this morning or should I decrease his dose? Looks like his BG is doing good even 24 hours after insulin. I'm at a loss a and I know I don't have that much data to look at.
I've tried to get in my spreadsheet and it keeps saying "loading" but won't come up. That's why I've had to write it on here.
Thank you all!!!
Peyton's BG at vet a month ago 143
At the next vet a few days later BG 243
At our regular vet the next week BG 426 and continued to creep up. He spent all of last week at the vet on IV fluids (he's 4 years CRF) and getting his insulin regulated. Monday and Tuesday of that week he got Vetsulin and his BG went down. They did not give him insulin Wednesday or Thursday because his BG was 150 or less. Then in Friday it went back up to the mid 300's. This could have been from the food they were feeding him...royal canin renal lp.
I brought him home Friday and the vet suggested once a day Vetsulin at 1 unit. Saturday morning I didn't have test strips so I gave him the day off from ear sticking...probably not the best idea.
Sunday AMPS 148
1 unit Vetsulin
Fed Wellness can food in small amounts throughout the day and didn't retest.
Monday AMPS 134
1 unit Vetsulin
+4.5 BG 45 (fed slightly higher carb food)
+6 BG 53
Continued to feed slightly higher carb food throughout the day.
Called vet and he suggested insulin once a day, every other day which doesn't seem appropriate to me. I would think a reduction before skipping days?
Today:
Fed small amount of Wellness canned at 3:00 am
AMPS 128...didn't shoot
Should I have still shot a reduction at an almost normal BG level? It had been 24 hours since he had insulin and had eaten several small meals since then.
Thoughts/Advice?
He was on Lantus last summer and would have severe drops. He was in remission within a little over a month. I didn't think the Vetsulin would drop him like that.
Before his diabetes diagnosis this time he was being an extremely picky eater and I thought it was because of his CRF. He was mainly eating baked organic chicken. Do you think his body has been missing all the nutrients that were in the can foods and that is what has caused this? I would offer low carb can food but he wouldn't have anything to do with it so I baked him chicken and he would devour it. I'm just at a loss as to what has caused his diabetes to return.
My main question is...
At what BG do you not shoot? Was I right in not shooting this morning or should I decrease his dose? Looks like his BG is doing good even 24 hours after insulin. I'm at a loss a and I know I don't have that much data to look at.
I've tried to get in my spreadsheet and it keeps saying "loading" but won't come up. That's why I've had to write it on here.
Thank you all!!!