Amps 124 dosing advice asap

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruby&Baco

Very Active Member
Hello, Baco gave me just now amps 124. What to do? Stall en test in 20 min? But i want to give her a shot regardless (don't want to skip because her # are low now and good), so what dose should I try later on? 0.60 is waaaaaayyy to much. Maybe something like 0.2?
 
Last edited:
Honestly, Ruby, I can't advise you shoot at that low number. It's pretty far down there...and I never shot anything that low. If she rises up, you could shoot something, but if she stays low...I just can't advise a shot. Are you home to monitor today?
 
I will do, was planning that, but what dose should I try later on? Cuz i'm not wanting to skip the dose, just because she's in great blue # you know... And what if she doesn't cone back up?
Btw she is hungry, reaalllll hungry, she's giving me the evil eye :nailbiting:
 
Well what you say is what I mean. If she goes up I want to shoot.
I'm home untill (from this current time ) +6.
Its 7:07 AM here and I'm leaving at 1:30PM.
 
If she doesn't come up, you have a few options. Skip the dose, shoot a reduction tonight. Stall further, hoping she'll come up. Or you could try feeding, waiting 2 hours, and then if she is high enough, shoot. If you do that, it will throw your schedule off and you'll have to work your way back to it, though.
 
What is the # she has to be on to get a shot now? 200?
Eating now 2 hours stalling isn't going to work for me now because of the schedule being messed up and I can't get her back before monday on the hours I need to work. So that's not an option.
I'll test her in 5 min see what her test brings me.
What do you mean with reduction dose tonight?
 
I'd say if you can't be home, and she hasn't risen, I'd probably skip. I know that sucks because you hate to lose momentum, but honestly, you'll get her there. Clearly she wants those low numbers!

Tonight the dose probably needs to be brought down. As you said, 0.60 was too much since it brought her so low.

I don't think I'd shoot if she doesn't hit like...180 at least. And then, maybe a very small dose, like 0.20 or something. I'm normally pretty conservative on dosing advice, and we just don't have the data on Baco at these lower numbers to make me comfortable.
 
It's past midnight here so I'm heading to bed in a few. Remember...the blue is a good thing! If you have to skip, remember she may be high tonight, but better too high for a day than too low for a moment.
 
That's totally true. Stalled 20 min and she got 126. So not really going up. I will retest her again in 20 minutes. But what if she does come up to 180? (What I can't imagin)? How much should I give her? A drop maybe?
Btw here is her sad face... She doesn't understand why she isn't getting food... :oops:

Have a good night sleep Rachel ! :bighug:
 

Attachments

  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    42.6 KB · Views: 97
Honestly, if it was me, I'd just go ahead and feed and skip. We'll get her back (obviously) but I don't think you'll see much upward action right now and at that number...just can't dose. That way you aren't stressed now about feeding her and aren't stressed later when you're out wondering if she is okay. :)
 
Not even a drop? On the dutch forum they are asking if you guys think I should give her a drop to provide her to stay where she is?
 
Not even a drop? On the dutch forum they are asking if you guys think I should give her a drop to provide her to stay where she is?
Ruby, ProZinc is not Lantus. (I think that advice may be coming from some Lantus aka/glargine insulin users on the Dutch forum.)

With ProZinc, what you're seeing now means she'll need a reduction next cycle. But as she is not rising nearly enough and you will not be home to monitor, the wisdom for ProZinc users is to skip the dose. This AMPS is QUITE a difference from her last pre-shot number.

It's simply not worth the risk to shoot when she's this low, period.
 
One more point about this: The drop in BG can often be more sudden and steeper with ProZinc vs. with Lantus. (This does not mean that ProZinc is not as good an insulin for your kitty; it just means that they are different insulins, so the dosing strategies are different.);) Ok?
 
Hi Robin, thanks for the advice! Waited 20 min again and her bf is at 128. So i'm going to feed her now. Maybe she will just stay in the blue and yellow ones. She doesn't get any carbs so i don't think her bg should be that much effected by it... I will skip this AM dose.
Could you advise about tonights PM shot? Or do you first want to see her # tonight?
 
We will definitely want to see the pre-shot #. (Who knows? If it's this low again, you'll be skipping again!:))
And I probably don't need to say this, but ... don't leave any dry food out today.;):bighug:
 
don't leave any dry food out today, or ever!;):bighug:
HAHAHAHAHAHA LOL. learned my lesson, NOT every going to leave any dry food out today.
Hopefully her # will not be that high at PM, how great would that be?

She wants those blues I guess !! Well I don't mind:bighug::cool:
 
Ruby, it looks to me like you are entering the twilight zone of possible remission. (Hope that cultural reference make sense). When a cat goes down after feeding instead of up, and stays in lower numbers for longer than the usual 12 hours at small doses, we think that the pancreas might be helping out. There is no quantitative way I know to figure this out, but this is usually what people see. Unfortunately it doesn't seem to be on/off. The pancreas helps for awhile, gets "tired" and quits. This makes dosing very challenging because you don't know when it might turn "on".

That's one of the reasons everyone was concerned about dosing at your 126. If the insulin (even a tiny amount) piled on with a working pancreas, she could drop like a rock. And even if her pancreas isn't working, adding more insulin at that number is not wise with ProZinc. (Lantus is dosed very differently - it can be given at low preshots because the determining factor for a dose is the nadir ). With ProZinc, you have to consider both numbers since ProZinc can impact the levels right away. Even a drop at 126 could get you down to the 50s by nadir or sooner.

Besides the danger of hypo numbers, you add in likely having to give high carb to bring her numbers up. And we know where that leads. :p With Baco, it seems to lead to a big jump, worrying about a dose and a step backward.

To me, a slow march to remission is wisest, as others have said. Yes, it may mean skipping. It might mean dosing at different times and monitoring carefully. But better to take a little longer to get there and get there safely. Because it does look like she is headed in that direction (anti jinx)

Where ARE those patience pants?
 
Hi Ruby! I sacked out right after I wrote you, so I'm glad Robin was there to take over! Everything Sue said is spot on (as always). Just looking at the numbers you've gotten today with no insulin on board show us that giving anything would have been a mistake. I'm really glad that you skipped!

Good news: we have patience pants in every color!
 
Ruby, it looks to me like you are entering the twilight zone of possible remission.
hahaha twilight zone! funny!

But better to take a little longer to get there and get there safely. Because it does look like she is headed in that direction (anti jinx)

Where ARE those patience pants?
Thanks! I know it takes longer, but I don't mind. Love her # now.

Her PMPS is 189.
I will make a new thread about it. please advice me in that new thread!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top