AMPS 112, pancreatitis, not eating much, shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom & Monty

Member Since 2020
Hi there.

Wondering if anyone can advise on if I shoot. Monty is on 112 AMPS, has eaten only 1/4 of his food and I suspect pancreatitis (he had this two weeks ago and recovered, same symptoms).

An hour before feeding he's had mirtapazine to boost appetite.
 
Yes, he's having a bout of pancreatitis recently and through a combination of my failing to get blood and him being poked and prodded a lot by the vet I'm not able to get too many readings. I'm intentionally prioritising his comfort so that I can get him to eat which is a 45 minutes per meal effort at the moment.
 
As you have already fed him I think with a peshot of 112 on the alphatrak and him not eating well, I would skip the shot.
As long as there are no ketones in the picture.
Are you giving Monty cerenia for the nausea?
Cats with pancreatitis have nausea and they can need to take cerenia or ondansetron for a few weeks until the nausea settles.
Giving an appetite stimulant when the cat is nauseated is not a good idea.
 
I did inject just now as I've managed to get him to eat 3/4 of a meal, thanks for the advice :)

I have some cerenia spare from the last time he was ill but my vet said only to give if he vomits which he hasn't. He was grinding his teeth as he ate which I think means pain and also purring more than usual.

I'm going to ask for the vet for some pain medication and more cerenia (I only have enough for 3 days).
 
So updates, his blood sugar at the vets had raised to 67 after I gave him high carb snacks. The vet preferred me take him home as she didn't want stress to induce a shock and given that he's rising she felt comfortable with me feeding him high carb snacks throughout the day and monitor with BG tests.

She's asked me to skip shoot tonight if he's under 15, otherwise half dose.

Tomorrow she's said skip shoot if under 10, over ten give half dose.

After that my best judgement but she's reduced his regular lantus dose to 1.25 and we'll rise back to levels he's happy with.

As for drugs, I'm to stop giving him mirtapazine, I've got vetergesic for pain every 8 hours for 24 hours and 6mg of cerenia daily for a week.
 
Thanks for the update. I have been waiting to hear.
I'm so glad he is OK!!
Keep testing him every hour until he is up into higher numbers. Offer small snacks often throughout the day.
Remember that if you get stuck and he won't eat, and the numbers are low, you can always rub honey on the gums. It gets absorbed quickly from there.

Just want to clarify it all.......
So the vet wants you to skip the shot tonight if the BG is under 15 (270). If over give 1/2 dose.
And tomorrow skip if under 10 (180). If over 1/2 dose.
Are you saying now that the insulin dose moving forward is 1.25 and if you have to halve it, it will be 0.6. Is that correct.?

I'm glad she is giving the cerenia daily for a week. That's good.
Please make sure you get tests in during the cycles and if the preshot are on the lower side always get a +1 or +2 to start with.....you can see from today how important they are.
Give snacks during the first half of the cycle as well as before the shots. Do this for both the am and pm cycles.

I'll wait for you reply before I head off to bed Tom.
 
I just did a reading and he's now at 137.
Everything you said above is correct. I'm giving him small amounts of high carb snacks throughout the day.

Now that you have got him up to 137 I would swap it to normal low carb food now and see if he can maintain the numbers with low carb food. He could well bounce after that very low numnr so don't be surprised if he bounces up high for a few days.
I'm going to tag @Nan & Amber (GA) to see if she can keep an eye on you today.
If you are in need of advice, swap your subject line to reflect the question.
I hope the day goes well for you .
Well done today managing the low numbers and getting him to the vet quickly.
 
Happy and snacking :)
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200613_161040.jpg
    IMG_20200613_161040.jpg
    68.3 KB · Views: 61
PMPS 15.0 (270). As per vet's advice I'm skipping tonight.

Will measure AMPS and give a half dose if over 10 (180) and then continue tomorrow evening as normal with his new dose of 1.25.

Looks like he's out of the woods for now, his BG is back up and the vetergesic is working miracles for his pain! I've just administered his next vetergesic dose to his gums and he's being a very affectionate, happy cat :)
 
The vet needs to sell you pain meds and anti-nausea meds to have at home for when your kitty gets sick. You should be able to have these on hand for the next time and there will be a next time. I hope for you and your kitty that this doesn't happen again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top