Pamela & Amethyst
Member Since 2016
+ 3 at 9:30am 419
+6 at 1:30pm 404 PMPS 377 + 4 at 10:30pm 377
+6 at 1:30pm 404 PMPS 377 + 4 at 10:30pm 377
Last edited:
+6 at 1:30pm 404 PMPS 377 + 4 at 10:30pm 377


I am so close to ending up in the hospital I have to remind myself to stay strong because she needs me
Did you find that switching to LEVEMIR helped???Pamela I'm so sorry I know its scary. I feel the same way you do very often. I just want Beenie to heal. Unfortunately it takes time. As I've been told and have to remind myself all the time they didn't develop diabetes overnight. We are all doing the very best for our kitties. Amethyst is lucky to have you
She will get lower, the yellow means you're getting there. Big gulpers add another layer to it for sure but you're getting close.
Yes so far its been a very good switch but that was from ProZinc to Lev. Not sure about switching from Lantus to Levemir. If you look at Beenie's SS you'll see the impact. But also you'll see Beenie and Amethyst had a similar pattern in the sense just flat. We were up to 14 U of ProZinc before the switch. Amethyst is basically doing the same which means to me its just a matter of finding that right dose. Depending on what method you're following I would keep with increases as needed until you start seeing lower numbers....which you will. I started increasing Beenie on ProZinc every 3 cycles because she was running flat. It was clear not too far in she was a high dose kitty and it was just a matter of time before we would get to the right dose. We're still not there yet but have seem improvement with her numbers.Did you find that switching to LEVEMIR helped???

So I didn't see Amethyst's numbers on ProZinc other than the 2.5 u dose.
I think more experienced eyes are needed here.
[QUOTE="Pamela & Amethyst, post: 2026601, member: 17101"I read that some times kitties can receive too much insulin The way you can tell is if their numbers rise with increased doses that is why I am confused right now??![]()
Hi Thank you She is fine getting her shots. I just thought Lev would help with her numbers?[/QUOTE]Looking at her SS, she doesn't look like a kitty that's overdosed, keep on taking her up methodically as you have been doing, every 6 cycles, until you see blue.
As @rhiannon and shadow (GA) says it seems more probable that there is some insulin resistance at play, when you get those tests done they will shed light on the situation.
Not sure that lev will give you a change in numbers, we have a number of high dose kitties on lantus who don't experience stinging, as others have said the stringing is often a governing factor for the swap to Lev. If she seems fine if he inclined to stick with lantus for now.
[/QUOTE]Hi Thank you She is fine getting her shots. I just thought Lev would help with her numbers?




THANKSHi Pam, you are a great mom to Amethyst, believe it. If Amethyst is Purring, Preening, Playing, Peeing and Pooping than she is feeling fine.
![]()
