Amethyst 12/30/2107 PMPS 48 AGAIN!! No Shot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oh, look at that green. Good thing you monitor closely, the tumor looks like it may be ramping down right now and more reductions may be required.
 
Oh, look at that green. Good thing you monitor closely, the tumor looks like it may be ramping down right now and more reductions may be required.
YES!!! Another .o5?? It is a good thing ! I am learning very quickly to watch my little girl very closely I do not want to lose her or have her hypo:oops:
 
I saw your other thread, but answering here to keep everything in one place, you can keep one thread per day and just edit the title of the thread to ask a question. 90 is a very good and safe number on TR, the fast drops can be alarming, but until or unless she goes below 50, you are fine as far as reductions go. You gave her a little snack and that seemed to help her surf. You're doing great and Amethyst is looking pretty good these past couple of weeks! :cat:
 
I saw your other thread, but answering here to keep everything in one place, you can keep one thread per day and just edit the title of the thread to ask a question. 90 is a very good and safe number on TR, the fast drops can be alarming, but until or unless she goes below 50, you are fine as far as reductions go. You gave her a little snack and that seemed to help her surf. You're doing great and Amethyst is looking pretty good these past couple of weeks! :cat:
THanks:bighug:
 
Dropping fast is not a reason for a reduction. Give her the snack and see where she goes. If she goes below 50, then she might want another 0.5 unit reduction.

Time to surf Amethyst!
 
In addition to Stacy's housekeeping suggestion regarding maintaining one condo (aka thread) per cat per day, remember to link your condo from the previous day:
Amethyst's 12/29 condo

I know, we have a bunch of rules. This is a busy board so changing the subject line versus starting a new condo means that all of your information from the day is in one place. That helps both you and us if you need to backtrack to find a piece of information. Would you mine changing the subject line on your other condo asking people to not post to that thread?

One of the challenges with a high dose kitty is that it it hard to tell if, in the case of acro, there's less growth hormone being released (tumor is revving down) or if what you're seeing is that it's the depot taking a while to respond to the dose reduction. It's possible with a bigger depot, it may take more time to see a response. My hunch is that the drop to 90 is a matter of an overly full depot. If this were a matter of the influence of the acro, giving food, especially low carb, may not have an effect and may, in fact cause numbers to drop further. (In this situation, you may need to give Amethyst a LOT of HC food.) Because you saw a good response to LC, it seems like this is a matter of the depot needing to catch up with your having reduced the dose.
 
@Wendy&Neko -- I'm pretty sure I can recall some (emphasize "some") acro kitties who did not undergo SRT that would have numbers drop due to the influence of food. Granted, this as also back in the day of some of the more "interesting" caregivers of acro kitties who had a particular slant on how to treat an acro kitty. On the whole, I think it's an issue of knowing how YOUR cat responds to insulin, food, etc.
 
Definitely with an acrocat it's very ECID. You have to know how your cat responds to food and insulin. Neko would surf on freeze dried test treats. I'm pretty sure she had a working pancreas and that wasn't changed by SRT. I haven't seen acrokitties dive when given low carb food, but it's possible.
 
In addition to Stacy's housekeeping suggestion regarding maintaining one condo (aka thread) per cat per day, remember to link your condo from the previous day:
Amethyst's 12/29 condo

I know, we have a bunch of rules. This is a busy board so changing the subject line versus starting a new condo means that all of your information from the day is in one place. That helps both you and us if you need to backtrack to find a piece of information. Would you mine changing the subject line on your other condo asking people to not post to that thread?

One of the challenges with a high dose kitty is that it it hard to tell if, in the case of acro, there's less growth hormone being released (tumor is revving down) or if what you're seeing is that it's the depot taking a while to respond to the dose reduction. It's possible with a bigger depot, it may take more time to see a response. My hunch is that the drop to 90 is a matter of an overly full depot. If this were a matter of the influence of the acro, giving food, especially low carb, may not have an effect and may, in fact cause numbers to drop further. (In this situation, you may need to give Amethyst a LOT of HC food.) Because you saw a good response to LC, it seems like this is a matter of the depot needing to catch up with your having reduced the dose.
 
Yikes indeed! Can you stall a bit without feeding and see if she's coming up? The tumour does seem to be slowing down. I would go to 7.0 units next.
 
I meant to ask - did you ever find out the results of the IAA or insulin autoantibodies testing? Been about a year since she was diagnosed, and if she had positive IAA, maybe it's breaking.
 
She did test positiv
Do you know what the IAA number was?

With IAA kitties, we'll be more conservative on dose and take them down faster. For example, this could be considered back to back reductions, too close to the last one. But with IAA in the picture, we'd take the reduction. We'll help you through this. :bighug: If it is IAA breaking, the result will be a lower dose, which is a good thing.:)
 
Do you know what the IAA number was?

With IAA kitties, we'll be more conservative on dose and take them down faster. For example, this could be considered back to back reductions, too close to the last one. But with IAA in the picture, we'd take the reduction. We'll help you through this. :bighug: If it is IAA breaking, the result will be a lower dose, which is a good thing.:)
Hi Thank you :bighug: She tested at 52
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top