Amethyst 12/26/2018 PMPS 150

Pamela & Amethyst

Member Since 2016
Good Morning I am afraid Amethyst may have Glucose Toxicity?? She has all 5 P'S Thank God but her numbers are going up not down? Please advice! I increased her a Full 1Unit this morning. My questions are how often do I increase? and by how much .5Units or 1.0Units? Thanks:bighug:!
 
Hi
No one else seems to be awake, so despite my ignorance I will say that your numbers look pretty good to me and I would think there is very little risk of glucose toxicity. Let's see what others think.
 
I think Amethyst definitely needed an increase, but I'm not sure about a 1 unit increase. Make sure you monitor her today in case her numbers come down quickly.
 
I'm tagging @Sandy and Black Kitty -- our resident expert on insulin resistance and @Wendy&Neko.

I'm assuming they ran IAA tests on Amethyst?

With a solid "blue" spreadsheet and some greens thrown in for good measure, it's not what would typically be considered insulin resistance. My inclination is to suggest evaluating the dose every 3 days and increasing if necessary. However, I want to defer to Sandy and Wendy given that Amethysit is a high dose kitty.
 
Thank you for getting back to me! Wendy had mentioned a couple of doses back that Amethyst may have Glucose Toxicity Yes She is IAA and Acro both test were done Sept. 2017 I am praying for funds so that I can get her SRT treatment It is $10,000.00 here in Boston,Mass. She would not be able to travel any further than that because she gets very anxious and upset in a carrier and car.:bighug::(
 
Since she is IAA, I would not hold the doses overly long. I realize that with nadirs under 200, if you're following TR, you can hold the dose for 10 cycles. With IAA in the picture, if it were me, I'd be thinking about increasing at 6 cycles. Remember, the longer you hold the dose, the greater chance that the antibodies build up and defeat the insulin.
 
If I’m remembering correctly, I believe after 10 units, the increases are done in 1 unit increments. But please confirm that as I’m not positive and it’s been a while.
 
Since you don’t seem to be getting anything lower than the 130’s now, I would try 1.0 unit dose, provided you can monitor as you have been. Smaller increases I would save for green nadirs.
 
Since she is IAA, I would not hold the doses overly long. I realize that with nadirs under 200, if you're following TR, you can hold the dose for 10 cycles. With IAA in the picture, if it were me, I'd be thinking about increasing at 6 cycles. Remember, the longer you hold the dose, the greater chance that the antibodies build up and defeat the insulin.
 
Hi! How are you? Thank you:bighug:
We are doing alright. Miss Gizmo terribly, but I sense his presence all the time, so I know he is with us still just differently. I’ll have to post an update on all the other fur babies. Not much has changed with them. The bunny and our older dog are still sweethearts. The puppy a terror and our civvie avoids them all. Lol. She comes to visit when the puppy is asleep and spends the nights in bed with us.
 
We are doing alright. Miss Gizmo terribly, but I sense his presence all the time, so I know he is with us still just differently. I’ll have to post an update on all the other fur babies. Not much has changed with them. The bunny and our older dog are still sweethearts. The puppy a terror and our civvie avoids them all. Lol. She comes to visit when the puppy is asleep and spends the nights in bed with us.
 
Back
Top