AMBG 104

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blackydaisy

Member Since 2013
I have a question about dosing. I've read that is not a good idea to keep skipping shots all the time with lantus but recently Blacky's AMBG and PMBG's have been below 150 or at 150. Today his AMBG was 104 so I skipped. I will start doing 0.5units twice a day but if the numbers are still lower than 150 during AMBG and PMBG should I still give a shot? Skip? or give a lower dose at those times but always give it? I've been skipping a few doses but I understand that is not a very good idea to do this. The main reason I skip is because I know I won't be able to monitor as closely. For the nadir numbers I can only do one nadir a day because of work.
Also, I feed him like 3 to 4 times a day two big meals a day (1 can) and two smaller meals (1/2) can a day. the smaller meals are usually at nadir is this ok?
Thank you for reading :smile:
 
Welcome to Lantus Land.

Before I address your questions, two things. First, Blackie's numbers look very good! Second, I'm hoping that someone has suggested you take a look at the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. They will help to orient you to how this Board works and, most importantly, how Lantus works.

First, if you're assuming that nadir is at +6, it may not be. The lowest point in the cycle can change from cycle to cycle or less frequently. As you gather more information, you'll have a better sense of when the nadir usually falls. (For example, my kitty's nadir is usually around +3 or +4, except when it isn't.)

Right now, you don't have a great deal of data. It makes sense to skip when you see a pre-shot number that's this low. On the Lantus board, however, we use 150 as our "post and ask for help" number. Since you're seeing some routinely low pre-shot numbers, dropping the dose so you can shoot twice a day makes good sense. I would guess we would try to encourage you to shoot progressively lower numbers providing you're going to be around to monitor.

We use a convention for our subject lines: date, kitty's name, +time-BG#. So your thread (we call them "condos") for today would read, 12/5 Blackie AMBG-104.

Please let us know if you have questions. The people here are very generous with their time and information and are happy to lend a hand in whatever way we can.
 
Hi and Welcome to Lantus Land,

Sienne always gives great dosing advice and is one of our most knowledgeable members. Do read the 'Stickies" and never hesitate to ask questions. Someone will always be around to help.

WELCOME!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Welcome to Lantus Land.

Looks like you are off to a good start.
We tend to like the preshot tests and at least one test during each cycle. ( every 12 hours) Data is how you know how Blacky is responding.

Blacky has nice blues going so far.... looks like he has an excellent chance of going into remission. Paws crossed that he will.
I'm glad you came over here.
You'll get lots of help here.... there are lots of eyes.
 
Welcome to LLand :)

I was helping you on the Main Health Forum this morning. May I ask what is your name?
 
O yes I remember. After posting I forgot about the lantus group so I posted some there as well.
My name is Anabell
 
12/05 Blacky AMBG 104

Hi Anabell :)

Did you get a test for tonight's shot yet, or any other tests in today?
 
I just posted Blacky's last numbers but I was not able to test as much today :sad: And I just used my last strip!!!!! :oops: nailbite_smile
 
I just posted Blacky's last numbers but I was not able to test as much today :sad: And I just used my last strip!!!!! :oops: nailbite_smile
 
Hi Anabell. I am guessing you have to work today. If so, then you can go ahead and skip this shot, if you can't test, it's a lowish number, you don't have that much data, and you won't be around to test. Eventually, you will learn to give him insulin on lower numbers. Maybe you'll be home this weekend?
Please buy some test strips today.

Did you test last night, before you gave the shot? There is no number in the PS column of your spreadsheet for Blacky's shot last night. Please always test before each shot.

I usually have a stash of test strips as I buy them in bulk from ADW and when I get down to 100 strips, I make sure to buy more. You may not need to have that many, but I would always try to have a supply on hand as you never know when Blacky may start acting funny and you desparately want to test him to make sure he is okay.
 
thank you :smile:
Yes I decided to skip this one because I won't be able to test him for this cycle and I'm going to buy more strips first thing tomorrow nailbite_smile
 
12/06 Blacky AMBG 102 - Skipped

Blackydaisy said:
Sorry I meant fist thing today :smile:
:lol: Yes, today. What kind of meter are you using, again?
You might want to stock up on some FF Gravy Lovers or some of the FF Grilled varieties and keep them with your Hypo Toolbox in a separate area of your pantry or cabinet, along with your karo or syrup. And print out a copy of the Hypo Instructions and tape it to the inside of the pantry or cabinet where you can easily get to it if ever needed. We are all about safety here, so want to make sure that you are prepared for just in case scenarios.

I know it's a lot of information, but we usually have one condo (thread) per day per cat. So, you could have started a new condo today with the above Subject Line. You can start a new one tomorrow morning, if you like. Let us know if you have any questions.

I hope you have a good day :-D .
 
She is using a relion micro.

What kind of syringes are you using?They have half unit markings right? Just want to be sure you aren't using the pen tips

Oh and welcome to lantus land!

Wendy
 
glad to meet you Anabell! welcome to Lantus Land! we'll do our best to help you get Blacky under good control.

hope you were able to get strips today. you'll need/want more than you think. many of us buy them in quantity on American Diabetes Wholesale. i usually bought 250 or 500 at a time. you can edit the subject line of your first post in this thread (or condo) and if you want suggestions on cheap strips for a relion micro put something like "cheap relion micro strips?" in it. people who use that meter will respond.

there's a wealth of information here - just ask about whatever you need help with.
 
ok, how much did you shoot? would you update your ss when you have a chance?

also, you'll want to get a +1 and +2 so we can see what he's doing. can you get those tests and repost them in the subject line of your first post - that way it's visible from the main page.

do you have high carbs of some kind - gravy cat food or karo syrup? you will need to monitor tonight to make sure to keep him in safe numbers.
 
ok - there are pictures on the "New to the Group" sticky that show small doses. maybe you can see what you gave there and put some kind of name on it in the ss column for doses.

you'll still want to check at +1 and +2, just for safety. i'll watch for you and i'm sure there will be others online who can help as well.
 
you're welcome - there are many people who check on here all day long just to see if anyone needs help.

would you mind editing your first post of this thread and say "12/6 Blacky pmps 132" so others can see what's going on?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top