Amazing - Poopy and Dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teresa and Poopy

Very Active Member
When I left for the weekend, and DH was going to give shots, I had been shooting 1.8u, and dropped to 1.6u right before leaving. To avoid any possible danger, I had DH shoot 1.4u while gone. I came home to lower numbers but continued with the previous 1.6 and numbers started to climb again so started shooting 1.4u.

His numbers have been going down. This morning he rang in at 182! Waiting 20 minutes to retest (and avoiding ankle biting in the meantime since not being fed, the hungry beast!).

I'm wondering if I shouldn't lower again to 1.2u.

I did switch foods prior to leaving (and why I bumped down to 1.6u) from Special Kitty (since they changed their formula and I can't get an answer to the as fed values questions) to Friskies.
 
+5 229.

What is it with this cat and not dropping down during nadir? :dizcat

Depending on what he comes in at tonight and in the morning, I may shoot 1.2u again to see if he stays lower overall. Not sure what else to do. Grrrrrr. (And he thinks I call him my special kitty because of his charm! haha_smiley )
 
Back to 1.4? Your 182 might have worked with the 1.4 - as long as you'd be around. I think I'd stick with 1.4 awhile and see what happens...

Yes, they are all so special....... :mrgreen:
 
Hey Teresa,

Looks like poopy and copper are very similar. I have dropped copper's dosage down for the same reason, out of town, and his numbers dropped also. Poppy and copper seem to keep the same numbers. I've noticed that copper will stay level some days and then drop other days. Who knows why. I would stay on the same dosage. Looks like poopy is starting to heal. YEAH!!! Glad to see him doing so well.

Copper loves to ankle bite too! So funny some days!

lori
 
Try this on for weirdness...AMPS 270, shot 1.4u and it was a fur shot as my fingers came away wet and smelled of insulin (did a through and through shot). Wasn't surprised to see a 273 at +6, actually thought it would be higher. Expected a 300 or so at PMPS. Oh no, not Poopy. PMPS? 248. Weirdness.
 
Did the poopster eat between +6 and PMPS?

Carl
 
Poopy had food available and ate from AMPS until +3.5, then from +6 (after testing) until +9.5 (the usual schedule if I know I can be there to test at +6). If I can't test during the day and his feeding schedule at night is food available from PS to +9.5.

So, at +6 there was no food for 2.5 hours prior. Come to think on it, at PMPS there was about half of the food remaining, so he didn't eat quite as much as usual. Probably why he was trying to chew my ankles around +10 onward.

What are you thinking, Carl? Curious minds want to know. :-D Less food to raise the BGs? If so, then why wouldn't his +6 be lower without food for 2.5 hours?
 
I was thinking he ate after +6, and his pancreas fought it off and dropped his numbers...

Carl
 
Holy cow! Dare I get my hopes up? I'd pretty much thrown in the towel over ever going OTJ.

Big breath. Not gonna go all hopeful at this stage. Maybe a little hopeful though. :lol:
 
AMPS 224, shot 1.4u. When he tested this low before, I shot 1.2u and he only went up so I'm hoping this keeps him low without going too low.

Will be back to test around +6.

Have a great day everyone! :-D
 
So glad to see poopy doing so well. Cooper is also going down and i love it.

Paws and toes crossed for our kitties.

lori
 
Teresa and Poopy said:
Holy cow! Dare I get my hopes up? I'd pretty much thrown in the towel over ever going OTJ.

Big breath. Not gonna go all hopeful at this stage. Maybe a little hopeful though. :lol:
Towel throwing is not allowed here:-)
Carl
 
+6 191...same as Saturday from a higher AMPS and same food. My cat is just down right weird. That's all there is to it. Weird.

He's also been acting very hungry during the "no food available" times, like I'm starving him. Makes it a lot easier to test him, though...him knowing food follows. :lol:

No towel throwing allowed? Oh boy...am I in trouble then. Do me a favor and don't tell Sue!

And, Cooper...keep up the great work, buddy! cat_pet_icon
 
Your downward trend is correct, Carl, but your guess was a bit high...AMPS 184. Since Poopy's AMPS was 180ish the other morning and I waited to retest and shot a 1.2u, I didn't wait and shot a 1.4u this morning. My thinking is, he only went up on the 1.2u and since he doesn't have much of a mid-cycle dip, he shouldn't dip too low as well as staying with the same dose should keep him lower all cycle. Poopy will have food available until +3.5, and will have food after mid-cycle test again.

Will be back around +5-6 to test. Any guesses? :lol:

Have a great day! :-D
 
You win the BOS award today:-)
I figured it would be lower than pmps based on history...
Hmmm. 124?
Carl
 
124? You forget we are talking about Poopy. :lol:

+6 211

BOS? Is that referring to something or things made of steel? fll_moon fll_moon If so, you didn't like my logic, Carl? haha_smiley

Seriously, with Poopy not having much of a dip at mid-cycle, I figure the only thing I can really do is shoot to encourage the overall numbers lower. Raising the dose doesn't do it. I figure it's worth a try to shoot when his number starts lower with the hope of keeping them lower. Based on the +6, doesn't seem to work like that with him either. grr_red

I really wish I could figure him out and what is going on. He obviously needs insulin since he's a diabetic. While he doesn't dip, he does go higher without the ProZinc so it's obviously working (on some level at least).

If he's lower at PMPS I'm tempted to lower the dose and hold for a few days. He seems to take a couple days to settle into a dose. Maybe I ought to keep shooting the 1.4u and see how low I can get him to go overall.

Thoughts? Opinions? Divine guidance? :lol:
 
No one here is nearly divine enough to give guidance, Teresa. :mrgreen: I don't know why he isn't dipping much, but he is in nice safe numbers?
 
BOS? Is that referring to something or things made of steel? If so, you didn't like my logic, Carl?
I thought it was a pretty gutsy dose. I thought it would push him down. Poopy obviously doesn't agree with me. Gee, I'm 0 for 2 today. I might have to start using reverse psychology on him. I guess high, he goes low?

Carl
 
AMPS 256, shot 1.4u.

He's a hard cat to figure out. :dizcat

Since I'm nearing the end of the vial, I'll call the vet to either order more or see what he suggests on insulins. I don't know what else to do.
 
PMPS 197, shot 1.4u.

I have an appointment to talk with the vet tomorrow. I'm attaching a graph I made of Poopy's numbers to share with the vet and to see what y'all think.

It won't let me attach it. :evil: I have added it to Poops profile, at the end. It might be easier to see if copied, pasted in Word, and enlarged. I know my poor ole eyes have a hard time seeing it so small.

The dark red are +6 numbers, blue are AMPS, and green are PMPS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top