AM skipped Nonitta's PMPS +12 164 +2~265

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Dose Advise again

It's very hard to know what to tell you because you don't have any mid cycle data. Lantus dosing is based on nadir, and all you have is preshot numbers. I see where you shot 0.25u when you had a 103 before, but you didn't get any further tests to see how that affected her numbers.

Can you stall for 20-30 minutes and then retest? Please don't feed yet. How long can you stall without causing a problem with your schedule? Remember that you will need to shoot tonight 12 hours from when you shoot this morning, and you need to move your shot time back by no more than 30 minutes per day.

I would suggest that you start getting at least one spot check per cycle so you can see how the insulin is working and if she needs a dose adjustment. If you can do it, getting a curve on a day when you are home would help you too.
 
Re: Dose Advise again

yes i know , I've been so busy the past few weeks,

I will test her +1 its safer .. my schedule is 2 hours flexible .

I will re test her and update .

The thing is that i skipped two shots the past few days. she went very low . 60s .. so i decided not to give any insulin . is it ok?
 
Re: Dose Advise again

I saw that you skipped a few shots because she was in the 60s. It's good that you didn't give her insulin when she was that low, so yes, it's ok that you skipped those shots. You don't have the data that you need to shoot that low. That could mean that her dose is too high, and she could be seeing very low numbers at mid cycle. That's why I said, you need to get mid cycle numbers so you can see how low she is going.

Are you going to be home today to monitor her? Do you have test strips and high carb wet food?
 
Re: Dose Advise again

I would keep stalling, retest in 20-30 minutes. She was at 110 when you tested her the first time, right? That's basically the same number, within meter variance.
 
Re: Dose Advise again

Ok cool .. I will retest again in a while

Thanx a lot for your quick response
 
Re: Dose Advise again

Hi Aseel. I just wanted to say that NoNitta is doing very well, and you are doing good job. When is your next day off, so you can get some mid cycle tests? I set an alarm, so I get up in the middle of the night to test, because during the work week that's the only time I can get a mid cycle test.

It's nice to see you again. Hang in there and keep up the good work. Best of luck to you.
 
Re: Dose Advise again

Dyanaaaa hiiii,, how are you dear? thank you for passing by.. I've been so busy with work and school, its weekend now i will pay more attention I know I haven't been around so much ..

anyhow .. her +1.30 is 90 !!! what should i do ?!!

advise please
 
Re: Dose Advise again

You can continue to stall and retest, if that won't be too much of a schedule issue. You said you have up to 2 hours, right? So, I would stall and retest again in 20-30 minutes.
 
Re: Dose Advise again

hahahah.. i thought its a scientific blah blah ;P

Ella thanks babe ;P my bad

anyways.. its +2 and shes up to 103 !!

help help help my schedule is running becoming to tight and my baby is hungry too
 
Re: Dose Advise again

I do have strips and everything ,, and i will be home .. but not high carb food
 
Re: Dose Advise again

You need to have something in the house to bring numbers up quickly if she goes too low. I wouldn't shoot if you don't have either high carb food or some sort of syrup in the house.
 
Re: Dose Advise again

OMG ! its already +3 behind schedule I don't think i can shoot anymore =/
 
Re: Dose Advise again

even If I have everything,, I don't think i'm capable of handing such a situation !! i'm very weak in these things nailbite_smile

thank you so much Laurie great effort
 
Re: Dose Advise again

You would be fine, as long as you have the supplies, and keep posting here...we would help you!

I really suggest that you try to get at least one spot check per cycle, it will help you a lot to see if she is on the right dose or she needs a reduction. Also, if you post here daily, or as often as you can, we can help you. Try to get some high carb food in the house if you can, or at least some syrup, ok? You will need that for your hypo kit anyway.
 
Re: Dose Advise again

I am trying my best as I am an employee and I'm studying the problem is I'm out all the time .. hope this semester is ending in two weeks .. i promise to pay more effort after to weeks as i have one week break .

anyway ,, i do have some chicken in gravy it's considered as high carb. i'm not so sure
 
Re: Dose skipped +12~110 +13~106 +13.5~90 +14~103

Oh, I see, you have a very busy schedule right now...I know, sometimes it can be hard to get the tests in, do the best you can. As Dyana mentioned earlier, she sets her alarm (so do I) to get up and get a quick test during the night, that's one option. You could also get a quick test right before you go to sleep...it doesn't always have to be exactly in the middle of the cycle.
 
Re: Dose skipped +12~110 +13~106 +13.5~90 +14~103

Laurie I will get you more numbers asap promitto :thumbup

Anything for my princess
 
Re: Dose skipped +12~110 +13~106 +13.5~90 +14~103

You know since you skipped the shot this morning, you can shoot on your regular schedule tonight, or even adjust the schedule to suit you best, since it has been over 12 hours since the last insulin.

Lantus does best with consistancy (I'm one to talk, doing two BCS (Big Chicken Sh#t) (reduced dose) shots) in a row, now. Lantus likes the same dose each time and given 12 hours apart each time. I see a lot of variance on the doses on your spreadsheet. Hopefully, we'll be able to get NoNitta on a dose that works well, and you won't have to be skipping and changing the dose as much, soon.

It was good seeing you posting. I hope to see you more often on the board. We can help you get this straightened out.

Have a good evening! :-D
 
Re: Dose skipped +12~110 +13~106 +13.5~90 +14~103

Hi Dayana,

yes i remember what you keep saying every time i reduce the shot, but the thing is that 1 unit works so long on Nonitta, even my sister was saying that don't give her every 12 hrs, just give once a day .. !
like when she goes down to 60 <<--- there is no way i can shot her 1 unit ! i wont do it !! thats way i had to decide quickly and thats what comes out !

her PMPS is 164 at her regular shot time
 
Re: Dose skipped +12~110 +13~106 +13.5~90 +14~103

Hi, just wanted to drop through & encourage you to stay consistent. I know it is challenging in the beginning to see a normal #60-100 & feel fear of shooting.. but try not to let that base your decision, it is hard the first few months to understand the concept of "you are not shooting the preshot #, but what the # will be in a few hours. Look at Baby's SS when she was beginning to go off the juice.. I was shooting some low #s, but made sure I was always home to monitor. The key to getting any kitty a fighting chance of going OTJ is to learn to shoot those "low" (really normal though) #s & not to constantly adjust the dosage unless the #s warrant it. If I were you, I would stick with shooting 1 unit every 12 hours until kitty drops below 50 & then lower to .75 until kitty drops below 50. Then .50 until kitty drops below 50 & then to .25 & so on. It works sooooo good, when you have the experts on the board helping you along. Keep shooting & keep the dose consistent based on protocol. :mrgreen: I am not an expert, but I personally don't think your kitty will be on the juice too long based on your SS data :mrgreen:
 
Re: Dose skipped +12~110 +13~106 +13.5~90 +14~103

If you are not going to be able to get spot checks in right now, what you might want to consider doing is reducing the dose to 0.75u for now so that you can shoot consistently on a 12/12 schedule. I don't like suggesting an unearned reduction, but in cases where you are having to skip shots, it makes sense to reduce so that you can shoot consistently. Then when you are able to get more spot checks, you can see how that dose is working at mid cycle and adjust it from there.

It's also a safety concern, if she is seeing 60s at the end of the cycle, she may also be seeing lower numbers earlier in the cycle that you are missing....
 
Re: +12~110 +13~106 +13.5~90 +14~103 Skip shot, PMPS 164

Thank you all for helping here ,, i really appreciate your effort.

so i got what you are trying to say ..

but in the scenario of 60 there i should stop.

please give me a number where i don't shoot or its risky to do .

thanks
 
I wish it were as simple as don't shoot below this number, and shoot if above that number. No, I would NOT shoot a 60 in your case, you don't have the data to do so. It really depends on more than just the PS number you are seeing. When you start getting lower PS #s, you need to know if she is rising or dropping, and when the insulin onset is for your cat. As Nicole said, you are really shooting the number that she will be at when the insulin kicks in, so it becomes important to have that data I keep talking about.

Here's a post that will help to explain things for you more clearly: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27894&start=0

And the sticky on being data ready to shoot lower PS #s: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147&start=0

It isn't wrong to reduce the dose when you get a lower PS number than you are comfortable with, especially if you are not able to monitor, but when you get to the point that you are reducing the dose often, or skipping shots often, you need to re-evaluate the dose IMO.
 
Take a look at the following posts about low numbers. I'd suggest printing them out so you have them handy. Since you are on the other side of the globe from most of us, having the informaiton handy will be useful if you need help at a time when most of us are asleep.


Unless you can monitor at mid-cycle, I wouldn't shoot a full dose with numbers at 150 or below. When you are shooting lower numbers, you need to be able to get a +1 and +2 test and then determine how much more you need to monitor based on the data you collect. You also need to really consider getting higher carb, gravy-type food stocked up or making sure you have corn syrup or honey around in case your cat has lower, mid-cycle numbers.
 
Re: AM skipped Nonitta's PMPS +12 164 +2~265+6~185

I went through all the information, thank you it still different in practice
anyhow ,, thanks you guys


I just teste her again shes +6~185 .. i will keep on positing until i stabilize the dose with you
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top