? AM Reduction-nadir 68. PM reduction regardless of BG? Bounce?

E-KC

Member Since 2026
Bitty's AMPS declining 395 to today 313.
1U Nadir can drop 265 pts.
History- prior week 0.75U nadir 249 pt drop.
AMPS 313 reduced to 0.75U, nadir 64
Not hypo but...

AMPS 313 0.75 + 2.31 145 + 4.08 68 + 5.11 87 + 7 145 +9.07 219 +10.07 311 ...
-Reduce PM dose -0.25 or does it depend on his number?
-Is the +10.07 311 a BOUNCE?
-When BG < 90 reduction is for the next dose?
 
Last edited:
Yep! Wendy said below 90 mg/dL at any point you reduce the dose. Don’t forget those mid cycle tests and at night if you can! How’s the Lantus plan going? I only ask because then you can start posting in the dedicated Lantus area with a lot more people helping.
 
Yep! Wendy said below 90 mg/dL at any point you reduce the dose. Don’t forget those mid cycle tests and at night if you can! How’s the Lantus plan going? I only ask because then you can start posting in the dedicated Lantus area with a lot more people helping.
Hey Tim, you are replying to a different post but thanks for confirming. I read the link she gave me regarding Vetsulin (again) and it made several things clearer. Today’s post is asking about dose reduction considering normal dose is likely to produce a hypo.
Regarding Lantus I’ve written to Elizabeth about some supplies she is donating that would complete what I need to start Lantus. Now I just need to read more to get the best pic I can of what our days will be like on Lantus.
Can you tell me why I can’t rely on the daytime twelve hour dose responses to project the nighttime response? Nights are difficult to monitor much due to my own health issues (chronic Lyme +4 tick-borne infections, ME/CFS flare. No spoons. And today I start IVIg (4h IV) which I’m told can leave me nonfunctional for days. ~Eileen🌻🐢
 
Last edited:
You’re doing great, Eileen. So don’t take my words as critical, very much just trying to get you and Bitty on the best path for his health.

Search the forum in the top right for Dawn Phenomenon. Not sure how much researched science is behind it but it’s seen and talked about a lot here that cats will have lower blood glucose numbers at night.

considering normal dose is likely to produce a hypo.
Can you explain what you mean by this? He was 78 mg/dL on 10/21 so I think the reduction advice from Wendy applies.

What supplies do you need? I don’t want to overstep, but I really want to see him on Lantus soon and maybe I can give you the boost you need to just do it. I can send you what you’re missing for free. If you want to send me a private message we can figure that out.
 
10/21 his AMPS 343, nadir 78. I reduced PM dose by 0.25
10/21/20263431(-265)12278 +6.30161 +8.151921900.25183 +3.30
Today if I give 1U when AMPS 313 his nadir could reach +/- 48
I'm asking if a reduction to 0.75 U (from 1U) is correct.

Thanks for your input. Rest assured I wasn't reading you as critical.* Ssending you a DM.

*Regarding members who respond to a post where one is needing an answer for something immediate (non-Lantus), to tell them "you should get him on Lantus...", while I understand is well intentioned, can be overwhelming when you're already dealing with a concern and waiting for help to respond. Like 'I can't help you with your posted question but let me give you something else to think about'. I wouldn't mind a direct message but it muddies the waters on the post and asks me to divert my thoughts to something much more complicated when I am needing help with something specific and somewhat urgent. I don't have that kind of capacity most days. ~Eileen🌻🐢
 
AMPS 313 0.75 (-0.25 R) + 2.31 145 , + 4.08 68 , + 5.11 87 , + 7 145 +9.07 219 +10.07 311 .....
-Reduce PM dose by 0.25 or does it depend on his number?
-Is the +10.07 311 a bounce?
-When BG < 90 reduce NEXT dose?
THANKS ~Eileen🌻🐢
 
Last edited:
From what I’m seeing in that guide to Vetsulin post, below 90 mg/dL means reduce for the next dose. Is that how you’re interpreting it too? So 0.5 units AM/PM for now.
 
From what I’m seeing in that guide to Vetsulin post, below 90 mg/dL means reduce for the next dose. Is that how you’re interpreting it too? So 0.5 units AM/PM for now.
I reduced AM to 0.75 and still went below 90 (to 68). So yes I’m thinking to reduce PM dose. Evening is usually 0.5 so a reduction would be 0.25. Still have a few hours to go before his PMPS. But I’m wondering if his +10 jump over 300 is a BOUNCE?
 
Yes, reduce by 0.25 units, regardless of anything, as long as he is on Vetsulin and he goes below 90. The current dose is taking him too low.

Sorry for the late reply, been an all day youth regatta volunteer. Exhausting but satisfying.

Regarding the night time tests, many cats go lower at night. If you can get a +2 test, it will still help us spot if that is what Bitty is doing. If you see him going lower, you can leave out some higher carb food to keep him safe while you get your sleep.
 
Yes, reduce by 0.25 units, regardless of anything, as long as he is on Vetsulin and he goes below 90. The current dose is taking him too low.

Sorry for the late reply, been an all day youth regatta volunteer. Exhausting but satisfying.

Regarding the night time tests, many cats go lower at night. If you can get a +2 test, it will still help us spot if that is what Bitty is doing. If you see him going lower, you can leave out some higher carb food to keep him safe while you get your sleep.
Sounds like you had a full day!
It’s confusing when he gets the same doses for a week and then has a near hypo with it. 🤔
 
A cat's pancreatic beta cells can heal, meaning they do more work producing insulin. So less needs to be supplemented. But the beta cells are fragile, so dose needs can change over time.
 
Back
Top