? Am I losing Yum? AMPS 470 +5 551+8 635 +10 515 PMPS 406 +3 392

Status
Not open for further replies.

MJW

Member Since 2017
Perhaps she is bouncing, but she can't stay at these levels.
I am breaking all sorts of rules now. @Wendy&Neko @Sandy and Black Kitty
She had trouble breathing Saturday night because I probably dropped her lasix dose too low for her heart (in the interest of her kidneys) and triggered CHF.
Her distress sent her BG higher than measured by my alpha track meter.
I took her to the ER again.
Her Lantus had no effect. They gave her lasix and put her on an infusion of Novolin R (4.5 units over 15 hours).
I brought her home Monday.
Her respiratory rate is okay now on her current dose of 6mg lasix twice a day.
I increased her Lantus last night to 3.5u and just now I gave her a half a unit of Novolin R.
I will test her BG every hour. I will probably give her more R with her evening dose of Lantus.
She has so many comorbidities. The IM says I probably can't hope to achieve tight regulation any more, but I need to keep her below 300. And here we are at 635 and climbing.
Clearly this isn't going to end well, but I can't give up until it's over. She is still happy and eating.
 
Perhaps she is bouncing, but she can't stay at these levels.
I am breaking all sorts of rules now. @Wendy&Neko @Sandy and Black Kitty
She had trouble breathing Saturday night because I probably dropped her lasix dose too low for her heart (in the interest of her kidneys) and triggered CHF.
Her distress sent her BG higher than measured by my alpha track meter.
I took her to the ER again.
Her Lantus had no effect. They gave her lasix and put her on an infusion of Novolin R (4.5 units over 15 hours).
I brought her home Monday.
Her respiratory rate is okay now on her current dose of 6mg lasix twice a day.
I increased her Lantus last night to 3.5u and just now I gave her a half a unit of Novolin R.
I will test her BG every hour. I will probably give her more R with her evening dose of Lantus.
She has so many comorbidities. The IM says I probably can't hope to achieve tight regulation any more, but I need to keep her below 300. And here we are at 635 and climbing.
Clearly this isn't going to end well, but I can't give up until it's over. She is still happy and eating.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yum responds to treatment, is happy, and is eating. Honestly take some heart. The people you tagged will know a lot more than me, so I won't try to analyze what you've written, except for the testing every hour. Every 1 1/2 to 2 hours should be enough. If I'm wrong, someone step in here please.

You've done everything for Yum that can be done, and Yum is still making it, so as I said earlier, Please take heart.:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yum responds to treatment, is happy, and is eating. Honestly take some heart. The people you tagged will know a lot more than me, so I won't try to analyze what you've written, except for the testing every hour. Every 1 1/2 to 2 hours should be enough. If I'm wrong, someone step in here please.

You've done everything for Yum that can be done, and Yum is still making it, so as I said earlier, Please take heart.:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks. As the 1 hour mark approaches, I was rethinking it. I will give her another hour of peaceful dozing.
 
Glad to hear it. Peaceful dozing sounds lovely - I envy Yum that.;)

I see that you're a warrior. I am as well. We fight hard. But even warriors need some down time. Is it possible for you to take a nap?
Thanks. I just need to stop panicking. Deep breaths. Such a roller coaster though. On and on and on. Better on and on and on than a bad end.
She came down. I will probably give her .5R with her Lantus shot too.
 
Good that she came back down. Someone knowledgeable said recently that those high bounces don't last long enough to do any harm to the kidneys or anything else, Wish I could remember who said that...
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJW
Good that she came back down. Someone knowledgeable said recently that those high bounces don't last long enough to do any harm to the kidneys or anything else, Wish I could remember who said that...
There's no explaining her BG numbers anymore. They are influenced by the heart disease and kidney disease and lasix. Something about fluid balances. Maybe inflammation. I don't understand. I can only react.
 
I'm so sorry about another ER trip. It's very difficult and such a roller coaster on you both :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Heart trumps kidneys, it just has to :( The last year Doodles was in recurring CHF I was a mess. Glad to hear Yum is eating and happy. Doodles was eating too and he was pretty happy. The last few weeks before I made the hardest decision to let him go he started to swat at me which he never did in his entire life. He would run from me for heart meds (although he always hated them) and started giving me "dirty" looks with shooting and testing (something he rarely did..he was a good patient) His coughing/choking episodes became to frequent and I didn't want him to gasp for air and suffer. We were at the max dose of Lasix and it simply stopped working.

You're doing everything for Yum possible. Her numbers are alarming but with everything going on try to enjoy her more then worry about the numbers. The .5r you gave this afternoon dropped her over 100pts in 2 hrs. Not sure it's enough to cause counter productive bounces or not. Sending mega vines and prayers for you both.
 
(((Marta)))

As hard as it is, we have to step back from the numbers and focus on the kitty and how she’s doing. You said she’s happy and eating. That’s great news.:):):)

The BG is just a matter of taking her dose back up as we’ve done before. You are correct that her comorbidities can be causing these numbers. If she were mine, I’d definitely give her more R at PMPS and try to give her a little better number to onset from.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

PS Wendy is now dealing with her mom’s health issues and I’m not sure about Sandy. But I’m back around if I can help you in any way. :) Sorry that we are having to play tag team.
 
I'm sorry you had another ER visit, I'm glad she's recovered from that episode. I'm totally inexperienced with all of the heart meds and acro, but like others have said, you are doing an amazing job with Yum. Try to take in how she is acting and feeling, even if it contradicts the numbers, I know that's hard. So much newness in a lot of these meds and I don't know how long it will take to work everything out with her numbers. Hopefully Wendy has some tips for you.

Tons of vines to Yum and hugs to you for being such an awesome bean for her.:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJW
I know what it's like to have a kitty with many issues. I dealt with the same plus lymphoma and managed to keep Neko relatively relagulated. It can be done. :bighug: Take a big breath and slow down. And give Yum a kiss from me.

First, I repeat what Karen said "heart trumps kidneys". That means you sacrifice the kidneys for the heart. Heart kills fast, kidneys are slower. If a necessary heart medicine hurts the kidneys, so be it. Stressed heart increases the BG which stresses the kidneys, so dealing with the heart is not all bad. I wouldn't touch any heart med dosing without approval of the cardio vet.

Her numbers are bad now because she missed a L dose at the ER vet and you are seeing NDW/depot filling. Patience is hard, but will be rewarded. Go back to basics with the dosing. Reduce the R dose so you get less of a drop. Follow TR for the L dose.
 
She is spending most of her time in her carrier. I guess she feels safe in there: it is the haven in which we leave the hospital.
She comes out to eat and drink and go to the litterbox. Then she RUNS back to it. Probably she is avoiding me because of all the meds. She will go off the antibiotics on Friday or Saturday. Maybe she is still exhausted from the ER.
 
:bighug::bighug: I hope things improve for Yum and you soon. You both have been through so much and deserve a much needed break. Sending vines and prayers. :bighug::bighug:
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJW
@Kathy and TiTi is right. You ARE a warrior! So is Yum. Do not give up and do not lose faith. You are doing far better than I ever could and I am so impressed with you! It takes the bravest of hearts to stand with your best friend in times like these, a courage that most could never even dream of holding. Take a breath and know that you are doing everything possible. You can do this. Yum can do this. I am sending all of the loves and good mojos towards the two of you!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Don't give up. You had Yum at such great numbers in February. I think it is just a short matter of time to readjust the dosage to achieve those great nadirs and regulation.

Our kittehs don't know how much we worry and fret over them. But they can know love and Yum is getting special treatment from you all day long. That is keeping her going.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
dont know you at all...new to this wonderful group of caring ppl...hoping hoping hoping you get to bring her home....feeling for you...Allison
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJW
May you find peace today sending your precious baby to a peaceful sleepy place...celebrate her life today....cats dont feel sadness in death...only peace...we need to learn from them...God bless you and your family on this day....
 
May you find peace today sending your precious baby to a peaceful sleepy place...celebrate her life today....cats dont feel sadness in death...only peace...we need to learn from them...God bless you and your family on this day....
Thanks. Yum came home Monday. I just freaked out yesterday when her BG soared so high. I'm no longer sure of what I can and cannot control. The patterns aren't clear to me. When she responded to the Novolin R, I regained some sense of control and some calm. Gratitude and peace.
 
Good to see those yellows appear as the depot fills. Looks like a better R dose too. I hope Yum is feeling like socializing more today. :bighug:
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJW
I am glad to hear you got some peace of mind today with her bg down and sorry I thought from the posts she wasnt coming home (very sorry )...I went through this agony for just over two weeks with my Bubbles...I know how stressful not knowing what to do is...hugs and wishing you both rest and peace...
 
Those numbers look so much better.

It's really hard not to panic when all these things are going on and you can't see your way through it. As others have said, hold on to the good parts:

She is still happy and eating.
This is SO important, especially now. After all, your goal at this point is to give her a good QOL, right? Do what you can about the numbers, but don't obsess over them. Remember to breathe, and to take a little time for yourself. Come here and vent as needed. We understand.

Sending loads of vines for Yum and :bighug:s for you.
 
I think of you both all the time and pray for you every day. I hope you can feel the strength I am willing for you, and the healing for Yum.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJW
Yum is an amazing kitty. She knows that you are always by her side. Sometimes they just need to go somewhere private (e.g., the carrier) to think things out, and then they can carry on. I'm so glad that things are better today. Sending a beautiful bouquet of healing vines to beautiful Yum.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
She went back into congestive heart failure Wednesday evening. She is in critical care again. She is improving, but it is of course very hard. They have increased her from 12 mg a day of lasix to 16 mg a day. That will challenge her kidneys more, but so far her kidney numbers are holding steady. Unfortunately, at exactly 4 weeks of antibiotics therapy, they found bacteria ("rare") in her urine this morning or last night. They are taking her off enrofloxacin, which can cause blindness, and putting her on clavamox. She will not come home today. She will finally see a cardiologist on Monday.
Never surrender! Never give up! That's my mantra. Of course I understand that death always wins in the end. I believe Yum will let me know when she has had enough. We aren't there yet, but that time may come sooner than later. It is very hard on both of us.
Thank you so much for those of you thinking of her and checking on her. Cats do steal our hearts, don't they? She has filled my heart with love for 16 years. When I pick her up from her hospitalizations, I feel the excitement and joy of a kid on Christmas morning. I had forgotten that feeling. She means so much to me.
 
She went back into congestive heart failure Wednesday evening. She is in critical care again. She is improving, but it is of course very hard. They have increased her from 12 mg a day of lasix to 16 mg a day. That will challenge her kidneys more, but so far her kidney numbers are holding steady. Unfortunately, at exactly 4 weeks of antibiotics therapy, they found bacteria ("rare") in her urine this morning or last night. They are taking her off enrofloxacin, which can cause blindness, and putting her on clavamox. She will not come home today. She will finally see a cardiologist on Monday.
Never surrender! Never give up! That's my mantra. Of course I understand that death always wins in the end. I believe Yum will let me know when she has had enough. We aren't there yet, but that time may come sooner than later. It is very hard on both of us.
Thank you so much for those of you thinking of her and checking on her. Cats do steal our hearts, don't they? She has filled my heart with love for 16 years. When I pick her up from her hospitalizations, I feel the excitement and joy of a kid on Christmas morning. I had forgotten that feeling. She means so much to me.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJW
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top