Am I doing this right?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GetFitStayFit

Member Since 2021
I want to make sure I am doing all this right.
If Roberts BG is 150 or below I have been skipping his insulin. I am afraid it will drop too low while I am at work or it go to high.
I have become obsessed with testing his BG because I am scared it’s going to go haywire in either direction.

He goes to the Vet tomorrow to have the lump on his side checked. It does appear it is not as large as it was. ????

He does need a tooth pulled. Will putting him to sleep kill him? My vet seems to think he won’t survive anesthesia.
 
Since you are skipping so many PM shots, I would try 0.5 units as the new dose, to see if you can get to a point where you are shooting twice a day.

He does need a tooth pulled. Will putting him to sleep kill him? My vet seems to think he won’t survive anesthesia.
Does Robert have a heart condition? We have lots of people here with cats that undergo dentals. If your vet isn't confident in their own skills, maybe they can give you a refer to a dental vet specialist. My girl did have a couple issues going on, initially mild heart issues, so I went to a dental specialist. They are used to seeing cats with issues. At one point, Neko's heart did get to the point where the cardiologist said no more anaesthesia cause her heart couldn't stand it.
 
Since you are skipping so many PM shots, I would try 0.5 units as the new dose, to see if you can get to a point where you are shooting twice a day.


Does Robert have a heart condition? We have lots of people here with cats that undergo dentals. If your vet isn't confident in their own skills, maybe they can give you a refer to a dental vet specialist. My girl did have a couple issues going on, initially mild heart issues, so I went to a dental specialist. They are used to seeing cats with issues. At one point, Neko's heart did get to the point where the cardiologist said no more anaesthesia cause her heart couldn't stand it.

Robert does not have any heart issues. The lump on his side will be looked at first. She refused putting him to sleep because his BG was always over 400.
 
Since you are skipping so many PM shots, I would try 0.5 units as the new dose, to see if you can get to a point where you are shooting twice a day.

I should give him .5 even when it’s as low as 91? It won’t cause him to bottom out? That is what scares me. Here is the scale I was given.
Tell me if it needs adjusting.

Above 350, give 1.0 unit
* 251 to 349, give 0.75 unit
* 151 to 250, give 0.50
* 150 and under, skip

Does Robert have a heart condition? We have lots of people here with cats that undergo dentals. If your vet isn't confident in their own skills, maybe they can give you a refer to a dental vet specialist. My girl did have a couple issues going on, initially mild heart issues, so I went to a dental specialist. They are used to seeing cats with issues. At one point, Neko's heart did get to the point where the cardiologist said no more anaesthesia cause her heart couldn't stand it.
 
A lot of vets seem to be uncomfortable giving anaesthesia to an unregulated cat. Of course, dental issues also contribute to a cat being unregulated. Chicken vs egg situation. Dental specialists won't have that problem. Even my general practice vet was fine with Neko's first dental (started the day over 400).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top