Alternate Food Recommendations For Fussy Diabetic Cat - Newbie On Forum

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris.K

Member Since 2021
Good morning all! Our Lilo is picky like most cats and of course when we feed her can food twice a day, she will usually snub her nose and eat the partial can. We try to coax her to eat more with very little success. We time her prozinc after feeding her the can food twice a day. We know she is eating dry kibble (which we have for the other cats) that is higher in protein content. We are going to try Dr Elsey's clean protein kibble and have ordered it. Will slowly introduce into the dry kibble bowls.

Are there toppers or alternate wet food that anyone has tried that will entice a fussy cat to eat more? She is on Fancy Feast pate right now only mixed grill, beef & liver and beef and chicken. Wont touch the other flavors. I was thinking of trying the Dr Elsey's wet food but they sell that in bulk! We have run through the entire list of pates that we can purchase from the stores with no success......meow mix, tiki cat.....etc. Thanks and have a great day!
 
I did a sesrch on the forum and found this

FOOD TOPPERS - Halo treats, other dehydrated treats, parmasean cheese, etc. do NOT put it on their food when they can't see it. MAKE SURE THEY CAN SEE IT. Show it to them, let them smell it and watch you as you sprinkle it over their food - don't leave them guessing, keep them in the moment and usually they'll eat.

Any freeze dried treats you can try, just toodle freeze tried treats
Some grind the freeze dried treats an put then on top
 
Thank you very much. One follow up question on the Parmesan cheese. Does it matter if it is the ground up sprinkle Parmesan cheese that is used on top of pasta or the freshly shredded or ground up Parmesan cheese? Sorry want to make sure.
 
I'm sorry I have never seen anyone ask that question lol, I myself have never had to use it. I guess it's the cheese you just sprinkle on pasta that you buy in your supermarket that's in the containers or the have it in the plastic jars that you sprinkle on. You can always start a new thread and ask
? Parmasean cheese
 
I would think the dried kind for pasta and stuff might work better because it’s really smelly which might tempt them more, although I’m sure either would be fine!

Does Lilo like any treats? The freeze dried Pure Bites treats are pretty popular here. My cat likes the salmon kind and when she’s being picky, I’ll sprinkle the dust from the bottom of the bag on top of her food and that usually works. Sometimes I can just pretend to do it and it’ll still work :rolleyes:
 
Yeah, I'm seconding the Pure Bites dust at the bottom of the bag. It's like kitty crack lmao. My cats love a pinch of the chicken dust on their food.

Theres also Fortiflora -- it's made with animal digest (stuff they put on dry food to make it appealing to cats) and it's marketed as a probiotic and it supposed to help them digest their food (a kombucha for cats, if you will)... but cats don't care about the health benefits, they just think it makes everything delicious :cat:

There's also raw feeding with homemade cat food if you wanna go full-on crazy cat lady. My Olivia was pretty so-so on most canned foods, but she'll throw down on a bowl of raw food now. There's a post in the Think Tank forum here about how to do it.
 
I squeeze out that creamy Nulo stuff that comes in long tube-like packages. It is a great starter to get Sister licking the wet food and eventually consuming it.
Nulo Freestyle Perfect Purees. I use just a little.
 
Hi there. Thank you and will update on the food. Yes I am home testing. We have bought many containers of the test strips........ I will have to enter in all the latest numbers on the chart and post shortly. Her numbers are all over the place. She has recently gained all the weight she lost from when she was first diagnosed and now her BG has gone up. She actually gained back the 2.5 pounds she lost at the start of April. So we are going through with monitoring her daily. Vet had recommended that we increase her dose from 1 unit to 1.5 per day. Her nadir is in the mid 200s and sometimes even in the 300s this week. I am worried about the .5 increase and tried a ,25 increase starting yesterday. Vet is aware and we informed her.
 
And thank everyone for all the recommendations on toppings for her food. I guess I should not have to worry too much since she is back to her pre diabetic weight! Once a mom always a mom.....
 
Salmon makes her itchy, it’s for her own good! Lol

I also second the Fortiflora recommended, especially if Lilo likes kibble! It’s not usually super great as a probiotic since it only has one strain but lots of kitties love the taste. It’s kind of pricey, but you can use each package over multiple meals if you want since you’re using it as a topper. I also think you made a good call only increasing by 0.25 instead of the 0.5. That’s what we recommend doing here :cat:
 
Thank you for the confirmation of the .25 increase. I have been tracking her BG today and the numbers. I am refraining from anyrash actions and sucking it up and let the insulin work through her system over time/days before making a determination.......its tough but I will preserver. Haha.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top