? also posted on Vetsulin forum - no-shoot AMPS question

Status
Not open for further replies.

CandyH & Catcat

Member Since 2019
see Catcat's spreadsheet

AMPS this morning was 184 (10.2) -- still relative newbie so have been abiding by the no-shoot-less-than-200 guideline

caught a 168 last month, did the usual procedures, everything turned out fine then

problem is, to get the test, I have to give him a small amount to eat -- trying to get test without it, is nothing short of an allout cat fight

so he's had about 2 tablespoons of LC food, diluted with equal amount of water

opinions please -- he usually drops about 100 points by +3, but not always that much, and I will be here to observe and test whenever necessary, have HC carb food, Temptations treats (left over from pre-FD), Karo, honey

do I dare shoot? really want to get him back in the blues after excursion into yellows and pinks

(Caninsulin/Vetsulin forum so quiet these days , I'm asking here too)
 
Last edited:
hour and a quarter later, meter shows 214 ... holding off on food and shot ... waiting to hear from experienced members

bitten getting this test -- Neosporin applied to both of us
 
wrong SS -- two in signature, you are accessing the metric one (work in progress) look at "Catcat's SS"

I started converting (manually) my USA numbers into World numbers so those in the rest of the world would find SS in numbers they are more familiar with

this as a follow-on to conversations in Think Tank ... newbies from other countries not understanding us revolting colonials
 
Last edited:
not kidding when I say he is part Siamese (though that is an assumption) -- he's really fast, really strong and muscular, and resents this poking and messing with ears; also unhappy about no free feeding (glutton would eat it all pronto) , no problem on the shots, he hardly notices them -- the only problem is, he sometimes moves just as I have needle poised above skin .. blasted fur shot
 
Now now don't mean mouth Siamese cats. :woot: My girl has Siamese in her too, and is fast, strong and muscular yet she is the gentlest, most co-operative kitty I could ever hope for. She hates being held, and I thought I'd be in for the fight of my life time trying to test her and give shots but she turned out to be super compliant and smart. I used the bribery of food and the tactic of letting her think everything is her idea not mine and things go swimmingly. I don't even have trouble pilling her anymore. I think you just need a bit more time. Menace definitely lives up her name and her Siamese heritage in other ways and oh what a loud but beautiful voice! :D
 
oh, could be he takes after whatever Domestic ?Mediumhair? he has in ancestry too -- also most likely neutered after he had matured (has jowly cheeks, thick ruff, neutering did not allow him to retain the kitten personality nor conformation, has been known to spray but only outdoors in areas where other cats intrude)

however wasn't intending to diss Siamese (have always loved and preferred them), merely explain why I had to resort to more drastic measures than I'd like to; he used to be quite compliant (objected only to having belly touched) but may be regressing to behavior he exhibited with last owners, they had three preteen boys who teased him, roughhoused with him, and his female sibling was QUITE mean to him, would not share food bowl, water bowl, nor litter box, kept swatting him with what seemed like no provocation -- was glad to get him out of that household

would be so nice to let Catcat think what's happening is HIS idea -- he's quite nonchalant about injections (runs to me when he sees syringe or container that holds the Vetsulin) -- comes when I call him even if he knows it's for a test -- but yowls, protests, any way he can, if lancet, meter, or topical medicine is anywhere within a foot of him
 
however wasn't intending to diss Siamese (have always loved and preferred them), merely explain why I had to resort to more drastic measures than I'd like to;
I know .....I was just pulling your leg! Siamese cats can definitely be VERY willful and stubborn! Maybe it's Catcat's red hair? Don't folks often say redheads are feisty.;) I know my red tabby was a feisty little guy but pure love as well.

I'd be in serious trouble with my little grey RB wannabe. Takes me days to cut his claws because I have to wait till he is half comatose and then can only get 2 or 3 claws done before he decides he's had enough. He thinks all attempts to pick him up are a game of tag and while he will come when called, he still won't get close enough to allow me to pick him up. If he chooses to get on my lap however it's "I'm coming whether you like it or not. Sit still and assume a good position so I can get comfortable!" He's quite the character that speaks some foreign version of normal kitty speak and only I know how to interpret him. Probably a product of being reared by humans.:woot:
 
though most red/orange/buff cats have mellower personalities than their black/brown/white compatriots, and it's a genetic difference since the phaeomelanin (orange) gene on the X chromosome replaces the eumelanin (black) gene there -- also partly explains why tortoiseshells/calicos have such complicated emotions, since they have one of each (assuming female or XXY male) -- but then there are the differences between male and female, the different tendencies between breeds, and the genetic stew that mixed-heritage cats enjoy -- that's the "nature" part -- and then there is the "nurture" ---

as King Mongkut would say "'tis a puzzlement"
 
cats !!! just tested, in reality it is +10 but I was hoping it would be PMPS

:cat::cat: (Catcat), being contrary, decided to throw a 122 ...

late nadir? double bounce? reaction to previous bounce? a clue to the dose to head towards regulated BG?

:):) -- could be any of those or none -- :confused::facepalm:
 
Well that just gave me a good belly laugh but of the good kind. HMMMM! Sometimes a late nadir like that (or what appears to be a late nadir) can be indicative of needing to reduce the dose or it could be that the second drop Vetsulin produces in the cycle was more effective because of the lower BG prior to that drop occurring. Let's see what Catcat does for PMPS. So glad you got that +10 tonight so we had a heads up. It's certainly not a bounce. Bounces are increases not decreases in BG. Definitely heading in the right direction. Have to wait and see what happens next.

I'm going to go watch the Handmaid's Tale and will check back in for PMPS around midnight my time. :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top