Also...how do I change Mookie's shot schedule?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randa & Mookie

Member Since 2011
I'd like to change Mookie's shot schedule to earlier in the day, for example, 8am to 8pm instead of 11am to 11pm. How do I make the shift? He's on 1.5U Lantas bid. Thank you.
 
That one is pretty easy, just shift it back 15 minutes per shot, for example if his normal shot time tonight is 11pm move it back to 10:45 tonight, then 10:30am tomorrow morning, 10:15 again that evening and so on until you get it where you want it to be.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
LOL somethings actually are easy with a diabetic kitty. :-D

You know it just dawned on me after all this time....MommaOfMuse = MOM... :lol: Guess I've been answering to the name mom for so long it never occured to me that my screenname spells it out too...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Good glad you got to :lol: because in the beginning of this dance sometimes laughing is the only way to stay sane. :-D

But six months from now you will look back at these early posts and wonder "Why in the world was I so freaked out and upset? This ain't nothing!" I know I was a basket case when Muse led me here. Then after she became my Guardian Angel and I adopted Maxwell (who was way to easy on me) I thought I had conquered this thing called Feline Diabetes...Then came Musette and I was right back to being a newbie all over again, stressed out and worried...now 6 months later with Musette who still likes to give me fits from time to time, I can relax and laugh again at her sillyness, because I know if something does happen I have a great big cat crazy family here that will talk me off the ledge, sit up with me all night if needed, cry with me, laugh with me and offer hugs and prayers when I need them most.

Unlike my vet who is wonderful...There are no office hours here, they don't go on vacation or close for a holiday. In the little over a year that I have been here, these wonderful folks have cried with me when I lost Muse, introduced me to two new family members and worried over their transport as much as I was, celebrated Maxwell going OTJ, prayed and worried when my Civie Onyx went missing and rejoiced at his return, They have given me countless smiles, laughs, prayers and yes...tears.

Price of Lantus =$108.00
Box of 100 syringes =$15.00
Finding FDMB=PRICELESS

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
I want to remind everyone that giving earlier shots is considered a dose increase, although changing in 15 minute increments is fine without needing a change in dose.

However, what if you had to do this change to 8AM TOMORROW????

Some of us had to learn how to do these type of shot schedule changes by necessity. As mentioned, an earlier shot = a dose increase. So, if you lower the dose, that should prevent any overfilling of the shed to occur. But by how much should you lower the dose?

I have become a proponent of percentage changes in dose, rather than .25 or whatever the current recommendation is. If you learn to think this way, you soon learn that just as the Tilly protocol says, if you are on a higher dose, the changes in dose will be larger. Let's review the math:

1U to 1.25U is a 25% change. 1U to 1.5U is a 50% change! Wowsa, that's a lot of added insulin. However, a change from 2.25U to 2.5U is only a 12.5% change. 2.25 to 2.75U is a 22% change, which would be more reasonable at this higher dose.

So just how would you change the dose if you had to give a shot at +9 rather than +12? First off, giving a shot 3 hours earlier is frankly playing with fire, even if it is reduced. On Levemir a shot at +9 could very well be at nadir. So if you can hold off till +10, that's better, you should be seeing a rise by that point or at least no longer falling BGs.

From my experience with Levemir, a dose reduced by 15% should be safe to give at +10. However, ECID and it would be advisable to only do an earlier shot when you can test over the next few hours and it's also only advisable if you have a decent amount of data to know when nadir occurs and generally how their cycle operates. Do they experience a sudden BG dip at +11? It can happen.

There will be BG repercussions to a dose change in time and amount, but that's life. Nothing's perfect. But it is better to give some insulin than none, even at +10.

This is what an "alternative" forum should be about - finding ways to manage the diabetes around your life, not your life around the diabetes.
 
Vickie

Question: could you do the percent reduction of the preceeding shot by the number of hours earlier divided by the 12 hours in the cycle?

# hours earlier / 12 * 100 = % reduction in the preceeding dose
1 / 12 * 100 = 8 % reduction in the preceeding dose
2 / 12 * 100 = 17 % reduction in the preceeding dose
3 / 12 * 100 = 25 % reduction in the preceeding dose
4 / 12 * 100 = 33 % reduction in the preceeding dose
and so on.
 
Question: could you do the percent reduction of the preceeding shot by the number of hours earlier divided by the 12 hours in the cycle?

I only did what I needed to. And math is not most people's strong suite, so I explain it as simple as possible. And again there's that ECID thing. What worked for my cat may not work/be the right percentage for another, but others have tried the 15% reduction at +10 and it's worked for them. Peggy & Mickey is an example. It could be reduced by less if it's only an hour earlier, but as stated, shooting more than 2 hours earlier than +12 is playing with fire with the longer acting insulins. I have tried +9 and it is not for the faint-hearted. So the percentage/hourly thing isn't necessary IMO.

Oh, there's also the stipulation that the reduction be done both the cycle prior to the needed earlier shot as well as the earlier shot.

It's been a while, almost forgot that very important point.
 
Another thing to keep in mind... three hours is a lot to try to move in 15 minute increments. You could always give the intentional fur shot one cycle (a/k/a just skip) and then go with 8:00 as your shot time the next cycle. I've done this several times as we've worked to find the right shot times to find the right schedule for us.

One note, though... If your kitty is prone to ketones or has a history of DKA, this strategy is much riskier and may not be a viable option for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top