alphatrak2

Status
Not open for further replies.

racn1320

Member Since 2014
Numbers still high,going back to vet in two weeks and try again. Vet wants me to go.from two to three units. I might try and have a local vet do a housecall and see what level is at home. Then after that vet said maybe get alphatrak2 if numbers still high. Not hearing good things on alphatrak tho. Anybody can chime in if you like. Any help apprciated.
 
An AlphaTrak is a good meter, I have one, the original one, but seldom use it because the strips are expensive.
I doubt I would increase from 2 to 3 units. Usually an increase at that low of does is 1/4 or 1/2 unit.
Can you post some BG values and when they were taken with respect to giving the shot?

A lot of use here use a spreadsheet in Google docs. See:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207
 
Is there and alpha track and a alphatrak 2? Been going to vet for checks,originally started 496, went back last week was down to 383, was told to up it to 2 units,went in last night and was 448. Shot at 715 am and tested 445 pm. Im not giving her three,i think to much,ill go up to 2.5 ,going back in two weeks for another check. I know she was more agitated last night so im hoping thats why number up?
 
The AlphaTrak2 is the replacement for the original AlphaTrak and was just called the AlphaTrak.
I would just get a human meter like the WalMart ReliOn Confirm or Confirm Micro, aka Glucocard 01 or 01 Mini from American Diabetes Warehouse (see SHOP link above).
It is less expensive than going to the vet for glucose measurements. It is also better since for many cats the stress of going to the vet can raise the BG by 100 or more points.
 
Do you still have to use a pin to prick there ears with alpha trak and relion? Is there any other way?
 
It'll help us give better feedback if you add some details to your signature, as listed below.

To edit your signature

Go to the top left of the screen.
Click on User Control Panel.
Click on Profile
Click on Edit Signature
A text box displays.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
Add any other text, such as
your name, cat's name,
city, state,country
date of Dx (diagnosis)
insulin
meter
any other pertinent issues like if there are any food issues, history of DKA, hepatic lipidosis, pancreatitis, allergies, IBD, etc.
Then Click on Submit to save it.
 
I think the vet said something about you dont have to use a needle for alphatrak2. Does this sound correct
 
Some vets will use a needle to do a blood draw from the leg to check glucose levels with their meters. But yes, you have to use a lancet to prick either their ears or paw pad to get blood with either the Relion or the Alphatrak2. There has to be a hole somewhere to produce blood.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top