MrWorfMen's Mom
Member Since 2015
You got it! 
Ok thank you again, I just can't believe I've been doing it starting with the 9:00 am , it makes sense that you have to start monitoring from the time you give the insulin, thank God I thought to ask you, I don't know what made me think of it. I'll check in with you tomorrow morning, I hope you had a nice day outYou got it!![]()
Sorry about your friends mom, must have been nice to see your friends and your family. It's so nice to talk to you, have a good rest of the night, I'll be drinking a lot of coffee tonight so I can test Tyler lolI was out of town at a memorial service this afternoon for a friend's Mom who passed recently. It was an informal but sweet service and I certainly enjoyed seeing my friends and all my "adopted" daughters, son and their babies aka my "adopted" grandkids! Then I went to pick up the kid who cuts my grass for me, got the grass cut, got my pond running again then we went out for dinner so yes it was overall, an enjoyable day.![]()
You are too funny, I was so happy to see this number, his poor ears are so red from all the testing, I wonder why all of a sudden it's that low, I'm only going to test him tonight hoping I see a good numberWhoo Hoo! Loving that number. That is definitely too low for a shot so you both get a break today!![]()
I hope so too, let's see what happens tonightThat's better. Hopefully he will continue this trend of lower BG. Fingers crossed.![]()
Hi Linda, no need to apologize, I know I could be relentless lol, zIts just that I got a little nervous seeing him in the 200's . I'll see how it goes, and again so sorry for all the PMDiane, my apologies but things have been a bit crazy here along with a PC keyboard giving me grief. Just catching up here. Not sure what to tell you for Tyler. I am really wondering if it would be better to stick with the 0.25u for the moment if Tyler's BG warrants insulin be given. It would be so much easier to see Tyler's patterns on the spreadsheet. I may try to set one up this weekend (holiday weekend here) and plot in the numbers and then we'll see if you can update it from your tablet. I'll let you know when I get it done by PM. A couple of things to try......If Tyler is too low for insulin, stall him without feeding for 30 minutes and then retest to see if his BG is coming up on its own. If it is, and close to 200, then giving the 0.25u should be Ok BUT make sure you retest him at +2 or +3 to see if he is dropping a lot or not. It's those mid cycle tests that really help make dosing decisions. Tyler's not running that high but he's just not quite there yet to get him off the insulin completely.
Thank you Linda, I think that's what I'm doing, focusing on every reading, he always seems like he is feeling fine. Thank you again Enjoy your holiday weekendNo need for apologies from you either! I understand how frustrating it can be with these critters when they don't seem to be doing what you expect them to do. Patience is key and try not to focus on each and every reading as much as how he is feeling overall. Over reacting to any individual reading is only warranted if they suddenly drop low and need some steering to safer numbers.![]()
Yes I canCan you check him at +3 today? Let's see if we can figure out how much that 0.5u dose is dropping his BG.
Ok just re tested at +3Can you check him at +3 today? Let's see if we can figure out how much that 0.5u dose is dropping his BG.
Oh it's to late , I already checked at +6How about checking him again at +4 to see if he's down any more or not. I'm just curious as to how low he is going on the 0.5u dose and his nadir may be before +6.
I didn't know that U-40 syringes come with half markings, I'll tell her that. Did youYou will need a prescription in New Jersey. If the vet will co-operate, you can order the syringes with half unit markings from ADW for far less than the vet would charge you. Chances are that the vet may give you a hard time (may not even know that U40 syringes with half unit markings are available) so you'll have to make it clear that 1 unit is too much for Tyler and you need to be able to draw up smaller doses.
I am starting to really understand what you are talking about. Thank you, you would think my vet would go over all of this information with me, nadar, etc. It's only being on this wonderful forum and especially your help is why I had asked her some questions. Ok we will see where he is tonight and I will definitely test him at least +2, +3, +4 and +6 either tonight if I can stay awake, if not definitely tomorrow morning.With Vetsulin, nadir (peak action) is often before +6. Tyler obviously dropped almost 100 points by +3 today but he may have been continuing to drop and in order to figure out dosing, we really need to see how low he goes on the 0.5u dose. Nadir isn't always at exactly the same time every day...depends on the cat. In some cases they are pretty reliable and in others, they bounce around time wise. It's looking like Tyler is likely reaching nadir before +6 in the cycle. The 212 at +6 is kind of expected. We'll see where he is tonight.
Thanks Candy ,I'll just have 10 cups of coffee all night loloh goodie, another "p j party" -- wishing you the best of luck getting the clues you need
Too funnywill stand by with maple syrup and Top Pot donuts in case YOU go hypo ...
Oh my God, I'm sure he didn't eat any, smell his breath loloops, speaking of that, I just discovered that son's dog found a plastic box of snickerdoodle and peanut butter cookies, pulled them out all over the bed, crumbs everywhere, 3 cookies left out of a dozen or more --- AND I'm not altogether sure that Catcat didn't get into it too -- he's hungry all the time of course, and I went out to the food bank between +8 and +9 for him, --- his schedule calls out for no food served up between +7 and +11.5 .. I'd think he'd be hyper but he's just lying there smiling and saying "Who? Me?" -- oh yeah, the dog is allergic to wheat ....
You are too damn funnynope, he smells of sardines (his post-test treat) and FF liver&chicken (on today's menu) -- no whiff of cinnamon or lemon, and I'd discount the peanut butter since it's chunky bits and he prefers his food smoothly pureed ... we'll see on his pre-shot test, coming up in an hour and a bit
dog is chasing birds in the yard (half husky half lab) and I'm tired after walking more than I should've, at the Relay for Life at the fairgrounds last night, not sure I could survive doggy breath ...



Hey Linda, Thank you, today for TylerDiane, I am working on getting all of your readings plotted on a spreadsheet so we can "see" the pattern. While I think Tyler may need a bit more insulin, I think the 1u with a couple drops pushed out to make it a "skinny" 1.0u dose would be the best way to go. I'd be very careful about suddenly upping the dose to 1.5u and reacting to one reading. Too much insulin can also look like too little and with the low readings Tyler got before, that he is now eating only LC food and it appears his pancreas is at times sputtering into action, I think it would be prudent to increase the dose slowly, systematically and hold doses for a few cycles before making decisions to increase. Obviously if he starts seeing lower numbers again, decreases can be done as needed.
Yes it's an Android, version 4.2.2Sorry....just seeing this now. He's right on the cusp so skipping today is fine. Once I get his readings plotted on the spreadsheet, we can decide next steps as his numbers do need to come down. He's not real high by any means but it looks like we can get him down more.
Curiosity.... is your tablet an Android? If so what version of android are you running? You can check it in the settings.
Tonight wasYes it's an Android, version 4.2.2