Almost 15 days

Status
Not open for further replies.

sherrib

Very Active Member
So I've been waiting to post this and I hope I don't jinx anything
12/5 AM was the last time skittles had insulin :)
Before that day, he had been getting 1 unit every other day
He has been running mostly 109. Plz see his SS
Found out he had diabetes on Oct 13, 2015 and had been up to 5 units at one time!
On 11/20 I switched him over to can cat food ( pretty much cold turkey... don't recommend that way) . Right away he had to be lowered to 2 or 3 units . I have to check his SS to get the exact details
I'm over the moon happy!!
 
He looks great, Sherri! How wonderful! You have done a great job with him.

I know you probably know, but you'll want to continue to test at least daily for awhile and make sure he continues to stay below 120 and mostly in double digits. You want to be sure he doesn't sneak back up. No high carb food, ever again.

Congratulations!!
 
What a wonderful holiday gift for you, Sherri: Skittles in remission!:cat:
Such MARVELOUS news; I'm so happy for you!!! :):joyful::bighug:
 
Thank you everyone!! Ive still be testing everyday in the AM & PM. But I did not do that this morning, I did just do it though and he is at 93 ( +6.5 )

My daughter's BFF spent the night and he is so scared! i dont know why but she is pretty loud! i have to keep telling her to stop screaming!! Anyway, with her first outburst last night he ran under my bed and has pretty much stayed there. he came out hours she went to sleep but is back under there now. I put his food & water in the there and shut the door. I had to crawl under my bed to pull him out to test him and man did he put up a FIGHT! I just knew his BG was going to be high from his stress but it wasnt. He will use the puppy pad in there when he needs to go. Not sure if Im going to let her stay again tonight....

how often do yall think I should still test Him? tonight at 8:42 PM ( + 11.5 ) he was 100.
 
Last edited:
Should I still get up at 5 AM to put up his food since I usually check him at 7 AM? My daughters Christmas break started and it would be so nice to sleep in
My daughter ( DD for short) BFF stayed again tonight and once again he is under my bed. Won't even come out to eat so I just put his food under there but only for a few mins cause my dog will eat any food. He just ate a half can because he slipped by me :(
Every night I shut my bedroom door or put up a gate and leave food out for skittles while kona sleeps with me
 
Should I still get up at 5 AM to put up his food since I usually check him at 7 AM?
Hi, Sherri - Basically, a good rule of thumb is: Whatever you've been doing that got Skittles into remission, you should keep on doing. Meaning: low-carb food amounts/ timing of feeding/ portion control, etc. (Make sure you keep an eye on his weight and the "5 Ps," too.)
if he gets 120, what should I do?
Keep in mind that blood glucose can (and sometimes will) spike a bit every now and then: He may get excited by a bird flying close by his favorite window perch; something might spook him; he might get really aggravated by something - like visitors to your home (my cat's BG#s almost always spike a bit then, because she generally doesn't like people, period:rolleyes:). I guess what I'm trying to tell you is that an occasional spike in a BG # is really nothing to be too freaked about; it's when it starts turning into a trend - becoming repetitive, etc. - that you need to start being concerned about whether he's losing remission.

Sue is absolutely right about testing daily for a while* (say, at the usual AMPS or PMPS time) with a mid-cycle test thrown in every now and then. And once it's very clear that kitty's remission-zone #s are holding, you can start cutting back on the daily testing. You might want to check in with some of the folks the Honeymooners/OTJ thread by posting there: ask how often they test, and how they went about spot-testing over time - and it may also be reassuring to you to get an idea of what their experiences have been when they were brand-new to remission-land.

*I foolishly neglected to do this back in 2013 when my cat went into remission. :oops::blackeye: Won't ever make that mistake again if she ever makes it back to full remission a second time.

So far, so good, Sherri - my best wishes for a continuing strong remission for Skittles!:bighug:
 
I'm so excited for you and Skittles, Sherri!

If he gets up to 120, as Robin says, it may just be something random. I'd get some more tests in that day and then, if he stays high, post here. We can try to help figure out what a good next step would be. :)
 
I think I posted about my daughters best friend being her and how LOUD that child can get , but I still love her and claim her as my own :) But she gets TO loud sometimes and I tell her to stop.
Skittles has been hiding and all. I thought I wrote about all this because i was worried that the stress would run up his BG. I can't stroll back to look because I'm using my cell. Even with her here his BG level is good.its higher today then what it usually is ( I know its the company ) she went home tonight so all can return to normal
I'm still going to test daily,still gonna get up at 5 AM to pick up his food , and test at 7:00. Is this okay? I did NOT get back at 7 AM to check.....way to tired
I am planning on doing a curve tomorrow I already called ahead to my pharmacy to get the strips. I have enough for about 2 weeks using 2 a day for about 2 weeks but I want to do every a BG every 4 hours for 12 or maybe go to 18 hours. Depends on what time I go to sleep and it's now like 3:00 AM! I had Pepsi with my Christmas dinner ! I stopped drinking everything but water 2 months ago! I'm 30 lbs lighter but I wired! And wide awake!
Okay real quick.... What is your opinion on the times I should go his curve? His curve without insulin unless something happens between now and there

I am sorry for such a long post and the questions, have to stick to my water only !
 
Last edited:
Hahaha Sherri, I'm impressed! If I didn't have my coffee...well let's just say it would be BAD.

I think you're fine to do the curve for just 12 hours. You can do longer if you want, but I don't think you have to.
 
I don't think you need a curve. I would be tempted not to use up my strips but save them. Maybe sometime get a test after he eats to make sure food is not raising his numbers? As long as he is under 120 at the usual highest times (after eating), he should be fine. Other than that, catch the number once or twice a day when it is convenient for you. Feed him when it works for you and sleep when it works for you.

As long as he stays under 120 in the blues and greens, he is fine and we would consider him in remission. We just suggest catching a test once or twice a day for awhile to make sure (as Robin said) that he doesn't sneak back up.
 
Thank you everyone for all the advice and OTJ comments :)
I will not do a curve but still do my daily testing and get a test in every once in a while after he eats. I hold my breath every time I test right now as it is! And not doing a curve will save me on test strips
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top