All good...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anyname

Member Since 2010
Took LB for a vet check. He's gained weight. :-x 8.9kilo's. (nearly 20lbs) - more rationing for LB! Vet is absolutely wrapped in the progress and suggested we trial him off insulin. Yikes - he's getting more keen than us! When he finished consult he asked us to send him info on Metacam. He said "they" don't tell him anything about what is wrong with a medication! He asked us to show him where we blood test and he suggested we not squeeze too much as it can increase bg reading. I am pretty sure he's converted and will be telling newly diagnosed keen cat owners about what we've achieved. As I said before our vet has never had a diabetic cat go into remission.

FYI we will be following the protocol and decreasing as suggested though the latest decrease was a bit rushed. All very exciting.

Little Boy looks very healthy and the granuloma on his tongue is nothing compared to what it was this time last yr.
 
We at same level of progress Kim. Started around the same time and enjoying the same rewards. DH and me are 'blown away' by the results - even though we're not there yet, the progress to date has been fabulous - for you too!

I noticed you mentioned yr profile that Shadow's a nicer kitty since dx. I reckon they get it that they are receiving special care. LB is nicer now. He's appreciative - hard to explain but my DH says it too. It's like we're sharing something extra special with our cats and they really appreciate that we are saving their lives. :cool:
 
a special bond develops when they get sick - of course, I'm the one filling the food bowls, maybe that's why she likes me so much. :lol:
 
Marilyn:

LB is doing very, very well. IMHO, he's not ready for an OTJ trial yet, though, if that's what your vet is suggesting. Typically, what we look for is a lot more green -- pre-shot numbers should be in the greens much more consistently and I think you know that insulin doses should be at about a drop. If your vet is saying that LB is heading in that direction, there's a very good chance that's the case (anti-jinx). I'd just take it one dose reduction at a time.

If you send Carolyn/Latte a PM, she can provide you with information on the Metacam black box warning. It's been associated with increased risk for kidney failure. You may mention the Veterinary Information Network (VIN) to your vet. It's an online resource for veterinary professionals - it's their message board!!
 
Marilyn,

Anytime I here/read of maybe off insulin Im so hopefull, its been an emotional journey for Esmeralda and myself. Esmeralda and I have always had a strong bond, but when she was diagnosed aprox 2mos ago, it has become OH MY STRONGER, if that was even possible. I wish you guys all the best.
 
Glad things are going so well for you and LB!!

I'd really recommend taking the weaning of insulin slowly, as it seems to increase chances for staying OTJ!!

in any case, there is tons of anecdotal evidence on this board about how previously difficult to manage kitties become snugglebugs after diagnosis and treatment of FD. My own Cosmo went from a difficult to handle, scaredy cat to a confident, loving, MUST TOUCH THE MOMMY AT ALL MOMENTS baby in less than a couple months after diagnosis. In that way, I don't regret his FD at all.
 
Re: All good...added question..

thanks everyone. I already send vet something re Metacam: http://www.avma.org/onlnews/javma/nov10/101101e.asp but will check urls incase I missed something important. I will also give him the vet group url, thank you.

I think our vet WAS very skeptical and he made his share of jokes about what "the internet people" are saying now!! But LB's improvement has been too impressive for him to ignore.

We have no intention of taking LB off insulin yet. We're doing it by the book! I've given him just 1 unit this morning as his AMPS were 111. Just a bit nervous about giving him the 1.5units because I don't want to have to feed him because of low numbers - I want him to lose weight.

I am wondering if there could be any correlation between LB's recent diet and his rapid progess in the last few weeks. I asked vet this and he said he couldn't rule it out. I've had to take LB off beef (even some in fancy feast fish tins ohmygod_smile ). This because of his allergies. Is it at all possible that the low fat diet of mostly raw chicken breast is helping his numbers? It may be coincidence but his numbers have been dropping so fast since 80% raw, free range chicken breast (fat trimmed).

Just checked at +3. 82 (there's more legs in this morning's dosing!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top