Alice 8/18 AMPS yellow

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...wrong-dose-4-252-9-376-pmps-405-5-287.218213/

Nothing but yellows and a pink for the past day, break for mommy a little I guess. I swear this 1.5u just isn’t quite enough!! We are about to start a new pen though..... I also need to decide which pen to use. I have slightly expired ones I was given and the one I had to use still worked. I have three my friend gave me not expired, and then the other two I had from before not expired either..... I think. When Alice was going through a pen a month easily, this would be helpful, but now she isn’t, should I try the expired ones again to use one up, or just hold them in case of some crazy emergency...?
 
Happy you're getting a bit of a break Cass, you sure deserve it! :bighug:
Not sure about the pens, how expired are they? Maybe throw up a question mark and get some experienced people weighing in. :bighug:
Good luck!
 
I'm not sure about using expired pens. Maybe if they are just a little past the expiration date they will be okay. It's hard to know for sure. I hope Alice comes down for you today.
 
images
 
Well, regarding the expired pens, I used one of them right before the one we are finishing, I was waiting between DCIN shipments and ran out a few days early because it was only our second pen back then, so my friend gave me a whole box of pens, expired less than a year. It was quite effective and we used it to the end before moving on to a newer one from the DCIN shipment. If it’s not worth using the expired ones then I should just keep them for a major emergency or toss them.....
Does anyone on here know chemistry well enough that they would be able to tell me what happens to it chemically over time?
I may try to ask my vet. She has a masters in chemistry and worked in research in a previous career. I just haven’t seen her in a bit, and she may not really know what to tell me either.
 
I’ll be curious to know what the vet thinks.

It’s just unfortunate that the box instructions for Lantus say to discard vial after 30 days when it is still quite effective past. And even past expiration date it seems in regards to Alice.

It might just be more of a safety protocol. Maybe their research didn’t expand last 30 days of use and it could still be effective, just not to full strength like a new vial would be. I’m thinking this only because I know buprenophine can still work past it’s expiration date. It’s efficacy just reduces over time and you just have to give “more” but you don’t know how much.
 
Back
Top