Alice 8/15 AMPS 409, vomit x2 +4 216, vomit, +5 cerenia & vomit, +9 44 +10 72 PMPS 81 +2 79 +4 131..

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...t-video-5-51-6-50-7-67-pmps-207-4-121.218132/

Okay I am really worried. Shot was 30 minutes late again, overslept a little, went to feed her and she was very hungry, she did not overeat but she threw up right away twice.
I didn’t expect a bounce like this, does that mean she dived last night and I missed it? :(

I hope I can get some water into her and get a ketone test.

Should I give cerenia since she is vomiting? This scares me like DKA..... I can’t afford a hospitalization right now and neither can DCIN! And recently I caught her sneaking out of the baby gate to eat from the herpes-sneezing-constantly cat’s bowl (also LC), so if she didn’t have it before I’m sure she does now, and that could be the infection component soooo....

Or maybe she’s just bouncing really high. To the moon. Hey Alice, I’m the Casstronaut, not you!
 
Last edited:
She ate a little then threw up, I gave her some new food in case something was wrong with it, I don’t know, she ate part of that then threw up, then she finally drank some water, now she will lick her food. Hmmm. I know her tummy wasn’t full because she didn’t have enough but yes, maybe she ate too quickly. Just a high number plus vomiting and I am terrified of DKA again!!!
 
She also got really mad about the syringe this morning. I ended up dropping the first one and having to start a new one. Had to get backup from human.
 
I got her to eat, out of my hand first, maybe this bounce is just uncomfortable, I don’t know.... I feel so awful that I may have missed a bad low last night? After her PM +4 she was still pretty high compared to yesterday AM, so I went ahead and slept at some point, after feeding/leaving food. She was snuggled with me plenty. Ugh that kitty care “did I mess up?” guilt thing. :(
 
That high number this morning could be a response from yesterday's low number - that's quite a drop yesterday - so her body is saying WTH!! Hope she'll settle down and eat a little - could have been she was so hungry she gobbled and puked..sometimes when they eat too fast that happens...you didn't mess up...just give her tiny amounts of food to see if she'll keep it down...before giving more...let's see how the day goes...try not to panic :bighug:
 
No guilt! I saw your cute video yesterday - she looks AMAZING! Just step back and look at how far you've come. Try not to worry about daily issues unless they become ongoing issues. Wait for urine, get a ketone test, there's nothing to worry about until there's something to worry about.

Don't forget that you got lime greens two days in a row this might just be a delayed bounce from that? I too wondered if maybe she just ate too fast today since her breakfast was late. Boy, you just can't get good help, can you Alice?!?!?! ;)

And just think about what you just said: "She was snuggled with me plenty". Total bliss. That's what it is about.
 
agree, sometimes they eat too fast, get too excited, and one gulp is enough to set off the spasm -- 'Imi cat is like that, I almost have to put food down morsel by morsel; he's not nauseated, has an oversensitive nervous system I guess -- but he's made it to age 17 being a mostly-outdoor cat
 
Well I took a bit of nap on the couch, asked thebhiman to feed her again when she cried about it, but got up to take a +4 and she has thrown up again at some point (didn’t have my glasses on, stepped. +4 has brought her down to 216. But of course probably because she’s thrown up nearly everything so far today?
She wants to eat, so I don’t really understand. I just hand fed her a small amount. She’s walking around looking at me like where is more?


—-and as I write this she threw up again, whatever I fed her.

Okay I need help, what do I do?
 
she may need an antacid -- though it almost seems as if her system is saying give me a rest -- how about broth? do you have any without seasonings?
 
Currently she is drinking alllll the water ever.

she may need an antacid -- though it almost seems as if her system is saying give me a rest -- how about broth? do you have any without seasonings?
I don’t have any meat-based stuff in the house besides cat food. Can cats use baking soda as antacid?

Going to sit with her for a bit and see if the water stays down.
 
if she's drinking a lot, she may be diluting whatever it is in her system -- sounds like the way to go -- I would say no to the baking soda, hard to get it gentle enough for cats -- any chance you have unflavored gelatin? or a tiny bit of powdered vitamin C that you could add to the water? sometimes citric acid will settle a stomach (doesn't make sense but I know it works, at least in humans) -- am sure there are others who have even better ideas
 
if she's drinking a lot, she may be diluting whatever it is in her system -- sounds like the way to go -- I would say no to the baking soda, hard to get it gentle enough for cats -- any chance you have unflavored gelatin? or a tiny bit of powdered vitamin C that you could add to the water? sometimes citric acid will settle a stomach (doesn't make sense but I know it works, at least in humans) -- am sure there are others who have even better ideas
Lol I have to say no, once again, I suppose my cupboards are too bare for that. I agree maybe she is diluting things a bit.... as long as she is getting fluids then I feel a little better, I don’t want her dehydrated too. I wonder sometimes if super high blood sugar can make them nauseous anyway?
I never gave the cerenia, if it “doesn’t hurt” then I can always go ahead and give some just in case.....
 
Ravan went off his food for a few weeks. He was nauseated. A new vet told me some cats don't feel good when their BG is too low. I started giving him less insulin to let his Bg go above 60 & within days he started eating better, No more nausea !

He had a few days when he seemed to want to eat but didn't. I think he just needed to let his stomach rest with no food for a while.

I've had a stomach bug when I couldn't even sip water or I'd vomit. It took an entire day of no food or even water before I felt better.

I hope Alice feels better by the end of the day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Thank you @JoyBee&Ravan .... maybe the high BGL is making her feel sick. I just get so scared because last time she couldn’t keep food down she ended up almost dying. So I’m in instant alarm mode.
In your opinion would you go ahead and give cerenia? Is there any reason not to?
 
I would try some Cerenia and then try feeding again in 2-3 hours, do you know the right dose for her? I was told that cerenia is also good for little digestive issues in addition to nausea.

In my experience, when Macka was DKA, he vomited, but not food, or if, very digested already. He would not scarf and barf. But of course, get a ketones strip and put your mind at ease!
 
@Penelope and Mačka , waiting to catch a pee, realizing I haven’t caught one for a ketone test in quite awhile now!

I have given her about equivalent to a chocolate chip size of actual food, and she wanted to lick the contents of the can, so far so good.

May let her sit a little and then give the cerenia shortly..... I do have her dosage I think, I still have some left from before..... then again she was about one and a half kilograms smaller then.
 
She is really chipper, rubbing her face on stuff, walking around, grooming, just cannot keep anything down. Is there a nausea medicine I could get as a shot? Or at least maybe I could try to get some ondansetron (Zofran) from my vet? What can I do?
 
She is really chipper, rubbing her face on stuff, walking around, grooming, just cannot keep anything down. Is there a nausea medicine I could get as a shot? Or at least maybe I could try to get some ondansetron (Zofran) from my vet? What can I do?
Cerenia can be given by shot at the vet. Did you give it to her with a pill pocket? I don't think it tastes good at all!
 
Sorry I couldn't respond earlier. Yes, Cerenia can be given by injection and in my experience it works a lot better than the pills. But I think it is also fairly expensive. If you have or can get Ondansetron, I would absolutely try that. Probably over the Cerenia injection, but that's just my gut feeling. Poor little girl.

At least she seems to be feeling/acting well. Silly Alice :nailbiting:
 
Cerenia tastes like butts. Giving it to a vomiting cat is the worst in my experience.

How much does Alice weigh now and what is the strength of the cerenia pill that you have?

Alice is probably drinking water from throwing up so much so she is probably a bit dehydrated. I’m glad she still wants to eat and is acting good. I would probably try for ondansetron as well and something to settle the stomach. Have you tried SEB before? Slippery Elm Bark. It might be a good thing to add regularly to Alice’s regime. You just can’t give medication 2 hours before and after giving SEB.
 
We rested in bed together, I have been fatigued lately, and I got up for a +9 and she was down to 44!!!! Soooo I had her lick some syrup off my finger and then gave her a small nibble of food...... I would normally give a larger amount of LC and leave it at that but I don’t know if she will keep it down this time or not.
 
Just to clarify: giving a cerenia pill to a vomiting cat is fine. It just sucks because it tastes bad and makes then vomit more.

And oh my Alice!! I hope she eats and keeps it down for you later.
 
I'd see if you can get her to eat and keep it down so you'll know if she will be able to eat at shot time. You may need to shoot a reduced dose tonight if she's not eating well.
 
I'd see if you can get her to eat and keep it down so you'll know if she will be able to eat at shot time. You may need to shoot a reduced dose tonight if she's not eating well.
She kept down what I fed her last, I fed her right before +10..... it was a small amount but she has been resting and now she is grooming on the bed. If she can eat and keep it down, should I shoot normal?
 
Just step back and look at how far you've come. Try not to worry about daily issues unless they become ongoing issues. Wait for urine, get a ketone test, there's nothing to worry about until there's something to worry about.
Yes. 1.5u


I don’t have any. Can you find it in health food stores? Or just online?



+2 is 79, nice and steady.
@Bobbie And Bubba has a good source and is a great contact for experience with SEB :) ;)
 
Back
Top