AliceMeowliss (GA)
Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-now-amps-62-advice-available-perhaps.231446/
Okay, I could use some guidance.
Alice’s appetite has been really low.
She keeps going hypo and is completely asymptomatic when she does.
I leave plenty of food out. I have tried adding all the supplements she likes and I have tried heating her food.
I recognize there are some weird gaps in testing that, if I myself were doing well each day, would likely not be there. Like the times I didn’t re-test after 20-30 minutes when she was low (but I also always gave a lot of syrup).
I remember once reading someone’s comment that a sudden reduction in insulin needs could be indicative of cancer. It’s been a little over 1 year since her mammary tumor was removed, and it was grade 2 with chance of metastasis, according to the histopathology report. So I worry about that.
Also, it could just be her IBD. Nausea? A sudden complete disdain for the ziwi lamb?
I found a couple local places (I think) that carry the halo kangaroo limited ingredient food. I could try to switch foods. I’m pretty broke without enough income so I can’t order a whole new case of anything expensive for her right now, and I still have 3+ cases of ziwi lamb.
Also, is slippery elm for nausea? It’s also kind of pricy for my slim budget but I’d be willing to try it if I can find it in an affordable quantity. The past couple days I gave her some Cerenia and today I just have her a ribbon of Mirataz (transdermal mirtazapine). Are there consequences for long term use of mirtazapine and Cerenia?
She keeps taking these dives and she’s so skinny. Why won’t she eat?
I’m worried for her. I’m also having a civvie with some loss of appetite lately, unrelated I’m sure, but a stressor nonetheless, and I can’t afford a vet visit for each cat without any idea whatsoever what they should be checked for. My vet doesn’t have an ultrasound in house. Alice has never had one.
It scares me. She doesn’t act differently at all when she is so low. It’s terrifying. I skipped a dose and she was HI, I reduce the doses and give them late too and she dives for limes.

Okay, I could use some guidance.
Alice’s appetite has been really low.
She keeps going hypo and is completely asymptomatic when she does.
I leave plenty of food out. I have tried adding all the supplements she likes and I have tried heating her food.
I recognize there are some weird gaps in testing that, if I myself were doing well each day, would likely not be there. Like the times I didn’t re-test after 20-30 minutes when she was low (but I also always gave a lot of syrup).
I remember once reading someone’s comment that a sudden reduction in insulin needs could be indicative of cancer. It’s been a little over 1 year since her mammary tumor was removed, and it was grade 2 with chance of metastasis, according to the histopathology report. So I worry about that.
Also, it could just be her IBD. Nausea? A sudden complete disdain for the ziwi lamb?
I found a couple local places (I think) that carry the halo kangaroo limited ingredient food. I could try to switch foods. I’m pretty broke without enough income so I can’t order a whole new case of anything expensive for her right now, and I still have 3+ cases of ziwi lamb.
Also, is slippery elm for nausea? It’s also kind of pricy for my slim budget but I’d be willing to try it if I can find it in an affordable quantity. The past couple days I gave her some Cerenia and today I just have her a ribbon of Mirataz (transdermal mirtazapine). Are there consequences for long term use of mirtazapine and Cerenia?
She keeps taking these dives and she’s so skinny. Why won’t she eat?
It scares me. She doesn’t act differently at all when she is so low. It’s terrifying. I skipped a dose and she was HI, I reduce the doses and give them late too and she dives for limes.

I have to rotate either proteins or brands of the same protein.