Alice 7/3 PMPS 142 33% dose +2 217 / AMPS 84, 50% dose &recent reduction, 30s and 40s hypo battle AM

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/alice-7-2-pmps-120-7-5-39-amps-63-3-34-4-51-5-32-6-57-7-5-67-9-54-2-day-recap-pic-3.216318/

Alice keeps going shark swimming. 3 cycles in a row now.

Just gave her a little HC on top of her LC that was already out. With these lower numbers and her weight being mostly restored, I think her appetite may have decreased and maybe that is part of why her BGLs keep ending up so low?

Well. Anyway. Tomorrow I will be gone from mid-cycle to a late PM shot and I have a food sitter. That will be tricky if she stays like this!
 
Wow, is she ever giving you a run for your money! Maybe now that she has healed up a bit she doesn't have all that inflammation affecting her numbers???

I guess? No uterus, cystic ovaries, or mammary tumor to mess her up, either, now!


Seriously, after HC at +2.3, she was only up to 48 at +3.5.

She’s being too pancreactionary. :D:p:facepalm:

Remember the 3 units will be in play tomorrow.

Definitely thinking about this. If tonight’s cycle is difficult too, she will get a reduction again I think...... also planning mid carb food I think while I’m gone tomorrow.
 
126977FB-79CC-4733-8E4E-DB2E203556B1.jpeg

Had a nice bath after an also nice mid-carb meal. Being perfect and amazing, as usual. Even if she’s difficult and wants to shark swim. <3
 
Her sugar won’t come up!!!

+5 was 39,
+5.75 35
been giving gravy and HC and using the last can of HC now :(
Gave her a bit of corn syrup. I’m not really sure how much that takes or how long it tends to work.


On the bright side, she is strong enough again to jump onto the toilet lid, at least when I leave the gravy food there. But it made me happy as a sign of hind strength regained!!! :D
 
I added a 911 for now just because I honestly don’t know if I should just give her some Purina DM kibble or something to last longer. Maybe my strips are messed up? Could they erroneously be reading too low? Clinically she keeps acting normal.

Can a cat be just fine physically when BGLs are as low as 30??
 
Okay I mean and I added the 911 because I am lost.... no matter what today she just wants to drop down..... she is not actually seriously emergent right now but let’s keep it that way???
 
Can a cat be just fine physically when BGLs are as low as 30?

They can look fine, yes....but there's no way to know at what point the brain is so starved for glucose that there may be damage being done.

Try giving her a good dose of Karo/honey/syrup to get her up, followed by some more HC

Tonight, I think I'd skip her shot if she's not a LOT higher and let the depot drain more
 
Any form of syrup will not take long to work. Things like Coca-Cola syrup used to be given to human diabetics to raise their numbers. Corn syrup, maple syrup, honey, etc. will all work.

I would offer the following advice when it comes to managing low numbers (from the "Don't Panic" sticky):
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
In other words, you needed to be testing and feeding more often in order to get the numbers to go up and stay up.
 
I am glad that you are skipping tonight. With a recent DKA, skipping can be a bad idea, but you gave a reduced dose yesterday and a 1/2 dose of 1.5 today's AM and she still is going too low. I hope you can get a good night's sleep tonight with no insulin on board. I would still get a +2 tonight's cycle even though you aren't shooting insulin to make sure she is stable and has come up.
 
Let’s see where she is later this cycle before deciding on a skip. DKA is still in the recent history. A reduced dose for sure!

Rule of thumb I used, 30’s mean adding sugars like karo/syrup/honey. You can do a large drop on food. You want them out of 30’s ASAP.

Thank goodness she is out of the lime green, but you still need to test frequently to make sure she stays there.
 
How long till your shot time? You can wait until just before to decide whether to shoot or not. When did you last give food or syrup? If she continues to come up without more food, etc., it may be safe to give a reduced dose. Like Wendy, I hesitate to recommend skipping with a recent DKA.
 
Her poor ear hurts her so much right now and the other ear doesn’t really have the capillaries and vein in the same spot. She came up a stable enough amount after a whole hour. I haven’t done anything today except sit with her, basically, even when I wasn’t testing.

I have also gone through a lot of strips the past couple of days..... she had something like 20 tests within 24 hours... if anyone wants to buy the Contour next strips I was given, cheaply, then I can turn those into my strip preference at $10/bottle.... (see supply closet.)
Also all out of high carb gravy food now and I had a good stock for awhile. :\

@Wendy&Neko , thanks, your syrup in the 30s explanation is very helpful. I never had a day before where it was this hard to steer her numbers!
 
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey
She ate until she finished the HC FF.... that was finished probably around +7.5 at the latest. Syrup was only at +5.75....

/

I would like to note.... I don’t particularly feel like her DKA risk is anything at all like it used to be. If she is not gaining weight right now, she is maintaining at minimum. Her DKA was in part a result I believe of how poor her regulation was on NPH BID. I wasn’t testing enough prior to the DKA, either. She is almost 1.5kg heavier than she was. I know an infection could of course mess alllll of that up.... but it is much less my concern at the moment..... I think sleep and rest for her ears and a more drained depot would be good.....

ETA.... so 10 cycles ago she was on 3.5u...... seems like she really doesn’t want the insulin. :b
 
Last edited:
So she came up to 110 without any food for two hours? That's great. I would definitely go ahead and give insulin if she is still up at shot time. I have asked a couple of other veterans to weigh in with their thoughts about whether you should shoot a full dose of 2.75 (reduction has definitely been earned!) or a smaller dose just to drain the depot a bit more.
 
If you're really tired, I think it's OK to skip tonight, even with the DKA in the picture.....but if you think you can do it, you might want to try giving a small dose like 1U so you don't drain the depot TOO much and start again at 2.75 in the morning

Giving any insulin (even a drastically smaller amount) doesn't guarantee she won't drop too low again because the depot is still in play, so it kind of depends on how you feel about it
 
Sorry you had that unpleasant experience with your outdoor cat. I hope the wounds aren't too deep.

Be sure to get a couple of tests in before bed to be sure Alice doesn't decide to head for the deep end of the lagoon again.
 
I’ll try to be up again for +6 in 3 hours.... we got some red dot chase exercise to burn some sugar and build some muscle, and some good LC feeding.

Oh, I almost forgot, also got a ketone test after +2. It was either trace-negative, or inconclusive..... maybe my lighting was awful. Sometimes those strips are hard. :p

Wish me sheep......... bah.....
 
Back
Top