Alice 7/28 AMPS 57 +3 90 +5 104 +7 137 / PMPS 150 +2 172 +9 100

She stayed by my side after a huge breakfast, (including a poop then more food lol,) so when she got up from our nap in bed we did +3 which was 90. I knew she did not have enough food yet. If she had not been with me and had I not known her food influences or if I had to leave home I definitely would have tested more, and sooner.

@Sienne and Gabby (GA) when we started this dose I expected her to keep on the previous track of shrugging off a dose every 6-8 cycles..... so I guess I’m not really sure what to do now. Are you suggesting I evaluate to increase?
I must admit it has also given me some time to rest as I’ve been having a pain flare, and also to try and catch up on some life things. While that is important, so is her dosing, and my mini break cannot last forever! :p
 
Are you suggesting I evaluate to increase?

With a 57 at pre shot I don't think an increase is suggested? Maybe Sienne will come back & clarify.
images
 
I was suggesting that you evaluate. IMHO, you've been at this dose too long.

If you look at the the pattern from the last dose reduction, I would have increased on 7/21 -- the reduction didn't hold. Instead, the same dose has been in play since the PM cycle of 7/18.

My feeling is that if someone wants to follow TR, then follow the guidelines unless there is a compelling reason to not do so. I don't see any notes on Alice's SS to indicate why the dose has been held this long. Even if the thinking is that there are more nadirs in normal numbers so you hold the dose for 10 cycles, the dose has been held overly long.

@JoyBee&Ravan - everything needs to be taken in context. For me, I would not hold a dose based on one number. With TR, most of us would shoot anything over 50 and increase as necessary regardless of the pre-shot number. The idea is "shoot low to stay low."
 
I was suggesting that you evaluate. IMHO, you've been at this dose too long.

If you look at the the pattern from the last dose reduction, I would have increased on 7/21 -- the reduction didn't hold. Instead, the same dose has been in play since the PM cycle of 7/18.

My feeling is that if someone wants to follow TR, then follow the guidelines unless there is a compelling reason to not do so. I don't see any notes on Alice's SS to indicate why the dose has been held this long. Even if the thinking is that there are more nadirs in normal numbers so you hold the dose for 10 cycles, the dose has been held overly long.

@JoyBee&Ravan - everything needs to be taken in context. For me, I would not hold a dose based on one number. With TR, most of us would shoot anything over 50 and increase as necessary regardless of the pre-shot number. The idea is "shoot low to stay low."
I believed at some time I questioned dose increasing but maybe it wasn’t time yet? This whole time I have been wishing I could figure out how to do less than 1.75 but more than 1.5..... I don’t have calipers.

Eta, admittedly this decrease occurred also only because of a reading of about 48 once, I believe. It may have been a preshot number too.......

I welcome any thoughts on any of this. I definitely wouldn’t decrease. She’s not showing enough pancreatic action imo. Today is an example where she is holding fairly steady but also slowly going up. She had a low-ish preshot because she ate less last night. I’m sure there could be other factors but this one is most likely.
 
I don't think a reduction is in order, either. If it were my cat, I'd be increasing.

There are a couple of options for shooting a "fat" or "skinny" dose.

  • The "drop" method. Get a used syringe. Using water or a colored liquid, draw up a few units -- enough so you can see where the liquid is. Very carefully, turn the plunger so you are squeezing out a drop at a time. I'd suggest letting the drops fall on plastic wrap, wax paper (basically anything where you can see how many drops are there), etc.. Keep checking to see how close you are to either a unit or 0.5u. Do it a couple of times so you can tell how consistent you are. Take the average # of drops that you measured and use that as a way to figure out how many drops would give you your fat or skinny dose.
  • Same Idea but find a ruler that's in millimeters/centimeters. You can use the marks on the ruler to "measure" your dose.
  • Eyeball the dose. This is pretty much what I did until I got calipers.
 
Back
Top