? Alice 4/16, cycle #9, PMPS 399, +2 456, +5 477 / #8 AMPS 335, +2 224, +4 137, +6 167

I also may have trouble updating my SS today due to technical difficulties.

Her syringe had a tiny bubble today and I realized looking at someone else's SS this morning that that could mean she got less than 4u?

What kind of notes do you usually add to your SS? What things may be notable?

I did get a little sleep last night yay! So I'll be a little better off today...
 
What kind of notes do you usually add to your SS? What things may be notable?
Good morning :) :cat: Ahhh SLEEP!
Gosh, everyone is so different in this department :joyful:.
Some (many) use abr. for things. Most of the time I don’t know what in the heck they mean :eek:. Some people seem to write complete journal entries of events, comings and goings... some rarely write anything.
You might want to look at different peeps SS. I think you’ll come up with, what works for you ;).
Myself for example, I try to record the day knowing I am creating a daily diary for myself which will go into archives for me someday.
 
Good morning :) :cat: Ahhh SLEEP!
Gosh, everyone is so different in this department :joyful:.
Some (many) use abr. for things. Most of the time I don’t know what in the heck they mean :eek:. Some people seem to write complete journal entries of events, comings and goings... some rarely write anything.
You might want to look at different peeps SS. I think you’ll come up with, what works for you ;).
Myself for example, I try to record the day knowing I am creating a daily diary for myself which will go into archives for me someday.

I guess, let's say, what do you consider relevant? When my phone isn't busted up so badly, I keep notes on there with pics inserted, but keeping up with the SS and forums and other things has me taking a little less focus on tracking bowel movements and fecal scores, pre and post feeding etc weights, disposition, etc.....

These are good notes for me to have in theory, but just for myself sometimes, too. Not all is relevant to share on SS?

I'm rambling disconnected right now. Still in major sleep debt since DKA onset. Despite maybe a full cycle last night, I think.
 
I keep notes on there with pics inserted,
Krystina is not the most organized person and therefore time management seems to often times be a problem! Being a true Aquarius, strong right-brainer, I find for me that because I need to keep a SS on Nelli anyhow I have combined my notes, even copy emails from the vet into remarks of the day. This way, for me I am better organized.
 
Krystina is not the most organized person and therefore time management seems to often times be a problem! Being a true Aquarius, strong right-brainer, I find for me that because I need to keep a SS on Nelli anyhow I have combined my notes, even copy emails from the vet into remarks of the day. This way, for me I am better organized.

See this is why I used the notepad on my phone- not as streamlined as a spreadsheet but I could keep my notes without the confusion of where to put my notes. I don't know if that makes sense.

Ideally I'd like a paper record of my own designed sheets, hole-punched and in a binder. But I'm not that organized to execute the binder concept and figure out what should be on what sheet.

5 minutes to +2 test..... Whee.
 
but just for myself sometimes, too. Not all is relevant to share on SS?
I agree! Whole heartedly. There was a time not too long ago when I thought I would keep two copies of SS. One with my daily diary in it and the other one with remarks only applicable to Nelli treatment. Peeps don’t really need to know about my occasional daily woes, business woes, etc.
Well, that turned out to be a freaking disaster just ask Marje and Grace! Thought I knew what I was doing but all I did was create a disaster. Thank God for @Ti-Mousse who graciously stepped in and helped me out… fixed back up :bighug:
 
As someone who pretty much opens a spreadsheet for every cat I make an observation about, what I look for would include:
  • information about ketone tests
  • change in behavior that might be worrisome (e..g, lethargy)
  • nausea, vomiting, refusing food
  • any indication of pain or just not feeling good (e.g., "meatloafing")
  • any change in schedule
  • when you might be feeding high carb food
  • if you have a petsitter caring for your cat
  • some people also list positives that have occurred and some people have truly hilarious comments
The idea with the comments is that it's a brief way for someone who doesn't want to page back through all of your posts to see if anything is different.
 
I agree! Whole heartedly. There was a time not too long ago when I thought I would keep two copies of SS. One with my daily diary in it and the other one with remarks only applicable to Nelli treatment. Peeps don’t really need to know about my occasional daily woes, business woes, etc.
Well, that turned out to be a freaking disaster just ask Marje and Grace! Thought I knew what I was doing but all I did was create a disaster. Thank God for @Ti-Mousse who graciously stepped in and helped me out… fixed back up :bighug:
was a pleasure to help you !!
 
+2 244, trend for the day thoughts? I also had a really hard time bleeding her ears. It btook extra attempts. Sorry I'm trying bro use my phone and can't backspace!
 
+2 244, trend for the day thoughts? I also had a really hard time bleeding her ears. It btook extra attempts. Sorry I'm trying bro use my phone and can't backspace!
I always had trouble testing Ti-Mousse because of his frozen ears! What worked best for him was from Ella:
Most important is to warm the ear otherwise it won't bleed!
I use a baby washcloth. I dampen it, put it in a plastic baggie, and microwave it for about 15 seconds (test it on yourself first, since all microwaves are different).
Fold the washcloth around her ear to warm the ear. When warm, put a little vaseline on the place near the edge of the ear you plan to test (this will help to bead up the blood drop). Blood flows from the tip of the ear down, so if you put a little pressure below where you plan to test, the blood drop will be easier to get.

Fold the gauze pad around the ear and put a little pressure maybe 10-15 seconds on it to stop the bleeding and to prevent bruising.

Always use Neosporin AB with pain relief after each test.
Hope it works OK for Alice!
 
@Ti-Mousse thanks the blood flowing from the tip of the ear part is new info to me! I have a little bean bag type thing they sent with my Lantus from DCIN. I heat that up. I don't have the pain relief neosporin just be regular. Will get some when I can afford. :\

Test at +4 or +5? She seems in theory so far to peak on the earlier side except for that bounce. She's very hungry right now (at +3) but I told her she has to wait for the food to move a little. She's had half a can of friskies and a quarter can of fancy feast all mixed with water so far!

She's so emaciated it's become extremely easy for me to tell where the food is at. It's awful when she lays on her side and she's really full and it's not just her stomach that I can feel the bulges and shapes of. :\

When will she be able to regain muscle? She's so weak. :( I hate seeing her like this.
 
Ketone test at +2.25 was definitely trace or less. Did I post that yet? Can't remember. She seems pretty good today. The flick at the end of her tail might mean she is a little irritable though.
 
As someone who pretty much opens a spreadsheet for every cat I make an observation about, what I look for would include:
  • information about ketone tests
  • change in behavior that might be worrisome (e..g, lethargy)
  • nausea, vomiting, refusing food
  • any indication of pain or just not feeling good (e.g., "meatloafing")
  • any change in schedule
  • when you might be feeding high carb food
  • if you have a petsitter caring for your cat
  • some people also list positives that have occurred and some people have truly hilarious comments
The idea with the comments is that it's a brief way for someone who doesn't want to page back through all of your posts to see if anything is different.
Perfect @Sienne and Gabby (GA) ... thanks ;)
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) thanks! I'll update subject line when my screen allows. I wish I had done my username differently too now that I see how others do theirs. Oh well!

So for awhile Alice was having pale/clay-colored stool, and her tummy has always been sensitive so I've found she can handle chicken and liver and stuck there with FF and friskies. She's been having poorer fecal score the past couple days and I think it's from the gravy chicken friskies other ingredients. Is Wellness very pricy? Can you recommend a flavor she might be able to handle? I will not feed rabbit because I'm also a bunny mommy. Otherwise, I think some turkey and fish bother her, maybe not beef but I don't usually feed that protein.
 
I think you could wait for +6.....unless she acts like she's really hungry....I always knew China was dropping because she demanded food in a way she didn't do any other time
 
I've grown so used to her hunger I'm almost more worried when she isn't.

Is it the BGL itself, or the drop, in this case, that exacerbates the hunger?

I think you could wait for +6.....unless she acts like she's really hungry....I always knew China was dropping because she demanded food in a way she didn't do any other time
 
She's following the food can with her eyes. They got so wide when I picked it up.

image.jpeg
 
+6 is 167, she had to wait in her carrier while I cleaned her room (surprise large pee puddle collected under the box, yuck!), but then she got a big meal (after BGL). She's holding steady. I'm going to give her a break. +10 might make interesting data. But if I do +8 too then it's a full curve. Hmm.
 
Give her ears the break....no real need for a +8

Doing a strict "curve" really isn't necessary for Alice right now....you're getting spot checks at various points in both cycles so that's more than enough
 
I'm feeling so much dread over the next cycle. She gives me a rough time at night! Sigh. Bathroom floor snuggles, though. <3 My straightening up today may allow me to half-nap with her though at night. :)
 

Attachments

  • 15554521935596044812230893252705.jpg
    15554521935596044812230893252705.jpg
    44.7 KB · Views: 130
  • 20190416_164403.jpg
    20190416_164403.jpg
    76.9 KB · Views: 105
I had lots of pj parties. Made sleep impossible. I hope Alice doesn’t follow that pattern. Have you given any thought as to whether you will follow TR or SLGS? No rush. I’m just curious.
 
Okay PMPS 399, shot 4u.

BUT I'm not the best with the shots and usually I beg my partner to do it. This time I tried and I think I got it maybe because her fur doesn't feel wet. But it still smells like insulin. Then again maybe it was a little residue from squirting out the little extra I drew first.

Sigh. Worried. :confused::(
 
After I'm done with my draw I always flick the side of the syringe a couple times to knock off those drops hanging on the outside of the needle or at the top of the syringe body.
I'm probably treating Lantus like its stupidly fragile. I've seen some vague idea somewhere that it oughtn't be shaken, etc, etc. Its probably wrong. My partner did not think she smelled like insulin. So perhaps all is well. Going to be doing +2 on the hour again as I have her backed up to 8 even again, from delay the other day.

Having technical difficulties, that is frustrating in regards to communicating and tracking/documenting as I normally would.
 
TR= Tight Regulation….increasing the dose as often as every 3 days until we're getting them where we want them

We actually fast tracked you from 3 to 4 to get her numbers down
 
Back
Top