Alfred's Diabetic Adventure

Status
Not open for further replies.
finally caught him in the box, negative ketones
Sounds like he is headed in the right direction and I hope that continues. If you could find the 1/2 life of his appetite stimulant, that would tell you how long that would stay in his system. In case you at still interested the name of the hemp Buddy is using, RX Vitamins for PETS, Professional Veterinary Formula, HempRX, Soft Chewz For cats, Formulated By Robert J. Silver, DVM, MS, CVA. I got Buddy's from 1 of his vets, but this can be bought on line, that is why I entered a lot of the info that is on the jar. If you should order these do not give your kitty over 2 in 1 day. When Buddy first started taking these he had been in a flare all summer, he started out taking between 1 1/2 to 2 chewz a day. At this time he is taking around 1/2 a chewz a day. Buddy would not eat them, so I put them in his pill pusher like a pill and that has worked just fine. I know every cat is different, but this has really made a BIG DIFFERENCE for Buddy. Healing vines for Alfred.
 
Sounds like he is headed in the right direction and I hope that continues. If you could find the 1/2 life of his appetite stimulant, that would tell you how long that would stay in his system. In case you at still interested the name of the hemp Buddy is using, RX Vitamins for PETS, Professional Veterinary Formula, HempRX, Soft Chewz For cats, Formulated By Robert J. Silver, DVM, MS, CVA. I got Buddy's from 1 of his vets, but this can be bought on line, that is why I entered a lot of the info that is on the jar. If you should order these do not give your kitty over 2 in 1 day. When Buddy first started taking these he had been in a flare all summer, he started out taking between 1 1/2 to 2 chewz a day. At this time he is taking around 1/2 a chewz a day. Buddy would not eat them, so I put them in his pill pusher like a pill and that has worked just fine. I know every cat is different, but this has really made a BIG DIFFERENCE for Buddy. Healing vines for Alfred.

Thank you so much for the information on the hemp, I will definitely look into getting it. I would love to find a hemp CBD product I can get Alfred to take as I know it can be very helpful for pain and inflammation.
 
Thank you so much for the information on the hemp, I will definitely look into getting it. I would love to find a hemp CBD product I can get Alfred to take as I know it can be very helpful for pain and inflammation.
When I first got the hemp for Buddy, I thought this is never going to work, because he would not eat the chewz. I wanted him to take this bad enough that I cut one of the chewz in 4 pieces and I thought maybe if I treat it like a pill it will work. Buddy is good about taking pills, so it worked out fine for me. Maybe Alfred would like the chewz to eat, or maybe you could find another form that Alfred would like.
How is he today, hopefully he is feeling better.
 
When I first got the hemp for Buddy, I thought this is never going to work, because he would not eat the chewz. I wanted him to take this bad enough that I cut one of the chewz in 4 pieces and I thought maybe if I treat it like a pill it will work. Buddy is good about taking pills, so it worked out fine for me. Maybe Alfred would like the chewz to eat, or maybe you could find another form that Alfred would like.
How is he today, hopefully he is feeling better.

(preemptive anti-jinx ;P) He's doing good today, he ate well this morning and this evening. The mirtazapine should be almost out of his system now and he seems much more himself. He's being sassy and not liking me pilling him or giving him the bupe, which is a good sign that he's feeling better.

I can't thank you enough for all your advice and help, it is so helpful having someone who's been through all this giving advice. I'm hoping the continued use of the bupe and ondansetron will get him back up and running at full capacity so I can concentrate on getting his BGs under control. I'm cautiously optimistic at this point and am just taking it one meal at a time with him.
 
(preemptive anti-jinx ;P) He's doing good today, he ate well this morning and this evening. The mirtazapine should be almost out of his system now and he seems much more himself. He's being sassy and not liking me pilling him or giving him the bupe, which is a good sign that he's feeling better.

I can't thank you enough for all your advice and help, it is so helpful having someone who's been through all this giving advice. I'm hoping the continued use of the bupe and ondansetron will get him back up and running at full capacity so I can concentrate on getting his BGs under control. I'm cautiously optimistic at this point and am just taking it one meal at a time with him.
If I can help let me know, glad to do so. With Buddy this had been going on for years, so I just took it one meal at a time since he had become diabetic. It is such a problem when you cannot get them to eat and then you can't give their insulin because they won't eat. Hope Alfred goes on with his big adventure.
 
I raised his dose to 3 units this morning (AMPS 537). He did pretty well today, appetite decent. I didn't give any ondansetron last night or this morning. It looks like his lowest today was 280 at +7.

Tonight he ate, but wasn't very enthusiastic about it so I gave ondansetron. PMPS 322 gave 3 units. Will get a +2 and then most likely get up to get a +6 and see where we're at.

Hopefully he's not painful and the pancreatitis isn't flaring up again ... it's such a delicate balance. :banghead: :blackeye: :nailbiting:

Oh and last time he was at the vet they did a GI panel. His cobalamin is normal but his folate is high. Vet says that usually means an overgrowth of bacteria in the intestines and wants to put him on metronizadole. I'm stalling because I don't want to upset the very precarious balance I think I might have going now (anti-jinx).

Anyone have any experience with a cat with high folate levels?

If it's not one thing it's another. :( :blackeye:
 
I keep metronizadole at the house, I gave Buddy 1/2 a pill this morning. When Buddy is having flare his stools get loose, then I will start him on metronizadole. One of my other cats is also taking metronizadole, we use it a lot. I have seen no problems when one of the cats take this. Humans also take this medicine.
 
I keep metronizadole at the house, I gave Buddy 1/2 a pill this morning. When Buddy is having flare his stools get loose, then I will start him on metronizadole. One of my other cats is also taking metronizadole, we use it a lot. I have seen no problems when one of the cats take this. Humans also take this medicine.

Thank you for relating your experience with metronizadole. I was worried about it causing tummy upset, but I will go pick it up today and see about starting it with Alfred. I still have the ondansetron so I can always give that to offset any nausea.

So many plates to keep spinning! :eek:

I hope Buddy is doing well and his soft poos clear up soon and hope your other kitty is doing well too. :bighug:
 
Sam gets metronidazole when his IBS gets really bad. He's never seemed to have any upset with it, although we do give it with food. Usually helps settle things down pretty quickly. I hope it works well with Alfred!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top