Alex - could use some opinions, pls

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny & Alex

Very Active Member
I never know whether to increase the dose or decrease it.

A couple of weekends ago, Alex missed 3 consecutive shots (he wouldn't let pet sitter touch him) and when we returned home, his BG was only 233. I decreased the insulin for a day or so, but pre-shots soared and I went back up.

I'm now committed to trying 1.8 for a solid week before making any changes and will try for a curve on Sunday. If that doesn't look good, then I'm tempted to start decreasing again. What do you think?

Early this morning, Alex came running and jumped on the bed. Seemed like he was feeling GREAT! Seems he feels better when his BG is higher rather than lower. Go figure.

SS is up to date.
 
I think the curve will tell you alot. Interesting though that without insulin he stayed lower. I think Asher did that too when Donna was lowering the dose, he stayed in the 200's.

It's good to hear that he's feeling great.
 
Cass did the same kind of thing when Lisa dropped him to really tiny amounts (IIRC), she didn't see what you would expect to see when you basically gave little to no insulin. He didn't skyrocket despite a huge reduction in dose.
And I understand, Ginny, it doesn't make logical sense that he would seem to feel better with higher numbers, but I think I have seen Lori say the same thing about Copper?
Maybe it's a BG swing thing? Maybe he feels better at a more constant level that he does when he's high and low over the course of a day. I have no idea what it feels like to go through the ups and downs in BG. I know a couple of us beans are diabetic, maybe they can explain what it feels like?

Carl
 
Alex is a puzzle. With each new dose, he seems to throw a nice nadir. Then it's like he gets used to the insulin and goes up again. (Linus and Sue seem to be having similiar issues.) Does this means he needs a bam dose to wake him up or less insulin? I guess the only way is to experiment, Ginny, with the option that seems most likely to you. (Huge help, I know.....) I agree curve first - maybe that will improve our advice.

Don't lose sight of the fact that his numbers are not bad and he feels good - great things!
 
He's a puzzle and a stinker. He won't let pet sitter #2 touch him. Pet sitter #1 currently has a boot on her foot and can't walk or drive. On May 9, she finds out if the boot comes off or if she has to have surgery. In the meantime, we have an 8-day trip scheduled and paid for. I have to see if Alex will still allow my friend to give him a shot and then take advantage of her if he will. :oops: It's either that or take him to a kennel and I simply can't imagine Alex and his attitude staying there for 8 days. If he goes to the kennel, then there's shots to catch up on too. :cry:

I really need this vacation and I've only got 4 weeks to figure it out.

In the meantime, we will try a curve tomorrow or Sunday and report back.
I've always got dose decrease in the back of my mind, but we certainly don't want a repeat DKA event again.....
 
Hershey acts like he feels the same or better at higher BG's, too. I think it's his way of telling me we don't know all we think we know. ;-) I hope the curve gives you some concrete answers and that you have a wonderful 8 days away!!!!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
I read about using a Bam followed by a reduction to break through insulin resistance, don't know that anyone has tried it. Maybe this is why some kitties seem to do so much better after a hypo and then a reduction? Not saying that anyone should intentionally shoot enough to risk a hypo....
 
Alex was very cooperative today for 3 extra pokes.

Here's the numbers for today:

AMPS- 244 - shot 1.8
+3 - 144
+6.5 (didn't get home in time for 6.0) - 62
+9.25 - 244
PMPS - 331

Not too shabby. Should I stay with this dose or was that dive from 244 to 62 too steep???
 
Hmmm. Will you be around to test at nadir? Feeling brave? I like to see the numbers lower but understand the nervousness. It was a big drop; can you level it off with a snack at nadir? He may bounce too.....
 
Ginny
75% is a tad steep, but I would have to see it happen a couple of times before saying for sure. If he can hit greens without bouncing high, I think it is a great curve.
Carl

damn stupid smart phone.....how can you hit the right key when your finger covers six of them at once?
 
Type 2 Bean DIabetic here - regulated via pills and diet (cut out all sugar drinks,juices, soda and watch carbs other wise I still eat all sorts of stuff I shouldn't) My A1C was just tested and despite being a "bad girl" since Christmas diet wise I was in great shape with a number my doctor almost fell over at . My test numbers (although I don't test as much now as I'm using my strips for Robbie :roll: ) are generally around 80 to 140 which is fine. However, to answer the question about how it feels when my BG is high - it feels like CRAP. I can tell right away and it's awful - I feel "other worldly", kind of sick and dizzy but what's worse? TOO LOW - too low and I feel REALLY sick - cold, shaky, spacey - it's horrible. I tend to swing big if I'm not careful - if I dont' eat small snacks between meals and if I don't eat period for a while - I get pretty bad - I also get really irritable, just plain nasty sometimes. I have no idea if it's the same for cats - I know Robbie seemed so much more like my "old" boy when he hit the blues for a bit - other wise he seems a tad off, sleeps more, is less playful and more hungry (most of the time).

I can say that swings don't feel well either - much better to be consistent - which I think is why we have these issues with bounces and stuff - the body is trying to regulate and even though LOW is "better" if the body has not been low for a while and isn't used to it maybe it's trying to get back to where it's used to being? I don't know - but I can attest that I don't feel good being too high or too low for any length of time at all - so I'm guessing our kitties don't either.

So probably not much help - but there it is.
 
I would guess that the feeling's and sensations between human and feline diabetics are much the same and should be treated much the same. Small frequent meals, low carbs, etc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top