Alex - 8/7--we have GREEN, but at PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny & Alex

Very Active Member
I overslept by about 15 minutes and both Alex and Audrey were staring at me when I opened my eyes. :lol: They were hungry which I'm thankful for since Alex was so NOT hungry a couple of weeks ago. The ear poke, though, is getting harder and I had to chase him down to finally get his BG # this morning and it wasn't particularly good.

AMPS--346 and I increased the dose to 2.0 units.
 
Re: Alex - 8/7

Sure sounds like Alex is feeling better. He has made a nice recovery!

I think the increase is a good move. Insulin is a really good thing for ketone prone kitties, so if the bgs can accomodate a dose increase--I think it is always a good move.

Have a Great Day!
 
Re: Alex - 8/7

Sorry he's giving you a hard time with the ear pokes. Thumper does not seem to mind the pokes at all but she does fuss at me sometimes about her shot.
 
Re: Alex - 8/7

Sorry she is giving you a hard time, maybe you should try the back paw pad..
that what I do..
just a suggestion
Hope you guys have a good day

Dneise and Shakes
 
Re: Alex - 8/7

Checking out Alex's SS---looks like he likes the 2 units! :-D
 
Re: Alex - 8/7--we have green! but at PMPS

We careful what you wish for!!!!

He's at 65 at PMPS. I know I don't shoot, and need to test again in a little bit, but can I feed now or do I need to hold off?
 
Sheezzzz! You've been asking for it!!!!

I didn't look at the SS---is this the lowest test? I am assuming it is. If in fact it is, I say don't feed....you need to be sure he is not still dropping. I would not feed and test in 30 mins and see where he is. Sometimes they can go up pretty fast, but I think it might take him some time to rise to a shootable number. But, you need to be sure he is not still dropping.

Don't feed....retest in 30 mins and post your number!

I know this is not how you imagined your first green.....but, great to see a positive response to the insulin from Alex!
 
yes, this is the lowest we've ever been. We've never seen a green number until today.

He was playing with his laser mouse, but I tell ya, this makes me a nervous wreck nailbite_smile
 
Okay, I just looked at the SS--this is his lowest test of the cycle....retest when you can and be sure he is not dropping.

I think it is also fair to assume you need to reduce on you next shot.
 
Thumper has done that a few times. I always test again in 20 mins but I usually can't hold off feeding them much after that. It's best if you can hold off on the food but if he's not close to a shootable # and it's time for dinner you can't starve him all night.
 
HYPO Ginny....get the Karo and high carb food out. If you are comfortable okay...I will stay with you...if not..go post on Health.
 
I am not leaving you, but let me go look on health and see who is onling...feed him......
 
I would, but not a lot....do you have high carb canned with gravy..faster acting than dry...let him lick the gravy
 
Just rub the karo on his gums and let it absorb---that and the gravy are faster acting than the dry

You can roll broken pieces of bread in karo and put in milk and see if he will eat it...very high carb
 
DH said the test strip that registered LO might have been sitting out in the light for a while.
So how quickly does the dry food affect the BG level?

He's at 111.
 
Thank goodness! I don't really think the dry would effect it that quickly so you might see him go higher. I would take the dry food away now.
 
I have no idea and who cares....he is at 111 we will take it....retest him in 15 mins and see where he is

I pm Lori and Nancy...they were both on line,so hopefully they will be over to give you better advice.
 
He's acting fine. In fact, he wants to know why all the hub-bub.

I fed him some dry food, but no Karo.

Now what?
 
Hi Ginny, I'm reading thru your thread...did you say the meter read "low' instead of giving a number?
 
Yes Lori...he was 65 at pmps...she retested some minutes later and it read LO
 
well, if it was just one 'lo' which usually means meter problem...i mean, they can go pretty low and still produce a number...even like a 21!
so now he is at 111?
no h/c needed at this point, none at all.
how much h/c did he actually get?
 
I am not leaving you.....but, Lori is here....I would let her advise you.....
 
Hi,
Just looking over your SS Ginny.
You do know that you can reduce dose when shooting lower numbers right?
Yesterday when you shot 1.8 into like...180 or something...and then just saw the numbers go up...I think that was a bit much insulin for that number.
I actually thought wow, this looks like lantus or levemir style dosing.
If you reach 150 or above I think you can give a small dose, maybe .5 and still expect a rise if Alex ate a large amount of kibble.
Interesting doseing....you know I am not around here much anymore.
That is just my 2 cents.
Lori
 
Ok, I'm getting off...Alex about gave me a heart attack & I've had enough excitement today...I tell you about it later on my thread. I think she needs dosing advice & I certainly can't do that anyway!

Glad all is ok for now Ginny!
 
Alex was just DKA two weeks ago. She tried low doses, but had little success prior to DKA. The ER vet wanted her to increase to 2 units after DKA, but she tried ...something..1.6 and 1.8 I think...lower doses....... before going to 2 units today.

That might explain the dosing.....might not!
 
Lori,
Alex was in the ER a couple of weeks ago with DKA and the vet advised a dose of 2.0, but I started out at 1.6. I've been at 1.8 for a while and today was the first time Alex has ever been in double-digits. I didn't make the decision alone, but several folks on ProZinc board recommended I raise to 2.0 units.

If I give .5 unit sometime tonight, should I return to 1.8 in the morning?
 
Ginny to be honest with you I don't know if I am in the same school of thought as the regulars here, I say shoot the number, and change with the number. I would have reduced for the 180 yesterday.
Sooooo, if you want my advice don't decide NOW what you will shoot....shoot the number as indicated.
Doesn't that make most sense?
 
You can let him continue to rise until you are comfortable shooting your regular dose (not 2.0!)--- I have "heard" many hear say that after hypos (was he..wasn't he???) that they can be very insulin sensitive....so, be careful. Remember, better safe than sorry!
 
PZ should not be shot on a 'regular dose' basis. Do you shoot a 300 the same amount as a 180? How can you regulate this way?
Tonight if you fed alot of kibble you are likely to have a big ol fat number in the morning anyway.
And are we really sure a hypo happened? One 'lo' on the meter I would think is an error.
Which meter are you using Ginny?
 
lori and tom said:
Sooooo, if you want my advice don't decide NOW what you will shoot....shoot the number as indicated.
Doesn't that make most sense?

Yes, Lori, that does make sense. But even if he's high in the morning, I don't think I'll be shooting 2.0 units.
 
no, I agree with you Ginny, no to the 2u...but with the crack in him you may very well see a high number and bummer about the dka...really sorry, but you could shoot a bit higher than 'regular' kitties if you can be around to test. the last thing we want is for Alex to be high for any period.
If you continue on a same dose basis...you could actually push his numbers up...you know all about that right? I know you do.
Sooooo, tonight .5...or if he is really on the fast track up go with 1u...something to combat all those carbs.
and tomorow see what the boy gives you.
 
Don't know if you saw my comment about the test strip that was used when the LO registered. Hubby used a strip that he found sitting on the kitchen table. I know they're supposed to be light sensitive and I really have no idea how long it sat there. I'm hoping that explains the LO.

He only ate about 10 pieces, or less, of the dry kibble, so I'm hoping that doesn't cause his too high of a # tomorrow.

Getting ready to go re-test him.

Thanks, Lori, Kim and Barbara for staying with me.

P.S. Lori,
I saw where Tom is doing better. Great news!
 
looks like the 1.8 on 180 (?) was too high...
then he did the self protect liver thing.
then you raised dose on the rebound number.....it was too much and he came down hard.
sooooo, guessing tomorow will be big. try to get over the hump. see that he get plenty of fluids, (ff with water in it?)
and start fresh by tomorrow night.
but like i said...'lo' is kind of suspicious and i would love to know the meter you use.
 
well it sounds like you are well on your way to testing...i'll be here for a while if you want to talk dose.
ok Ginny.
and yes...amazing tom has come thru yet again...from the ledge.
 
I'd bet the farm that that "lo" reading was a meter error. Kitty would have to be below 20 for it to read low, and they would not be alert at numbers like that. Period. For future reference, any time you get a wako reading like that *always* retest to confirm that it wasn't a meter or strip error. Sometimes you have to take the best two out of three readings to see what the real number is in instances like this.

If you gave karo + a few pieces of kibble, be prepared for the zoom. You can shoot a reduced dose like 1.5u tonight. It could be that the duration you got today was a fluke. That is a big difference in response from the 1.8u to the 2u. After this, I'd go back to the 1.8u and hold it there for about 2 to 3 days to let any possible bounce clear and then reassess this dose.
 
and I guess I don't understand. I thought I was supposed to try to shoot the same dose of ProZinc in the AM and PM.
 
check your pm's...i jsut want to look at the chart togther..no dose advise behind walls...jsut want to understand.
 
You do need to shoot the same dose am and pm right now. Unless the numbers make you have to change the dose. Right now until you get data, I wouldn't shoot a full dose into a number below 180.

Lori - not many are using sliding scales around here anymore. Right now with people it seems consistency of dose seems to help get more consistent numbers and really helps us see what that one dose is doing for the cat. We aren't advocating shooting a full dose into a 150..... not until *a lot* of data has been collected.

Alex is on his way up right now. I'd shoot either a 1.6 or a 1.8u dose tonight. Just make sure to do a couple of spot checks tonight. Once that high carb stuff wears off, the bounce will probably be in full swing is my guess. Of course, you hold the syringe, so if you feel more comfortable with a lower dose, that is completely fine too.
 
why would anyone shoot a morning 380 the same dose as the same evening pmps of 189?
this happened with alex and ginny.
can someone explain this to me?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top