Alex - 8/5 - Mini-curve today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny & Alex

Member Since 2011
Today was the fifth day of shooting 1.8 units and I see very little difference in the 1.6 dose.
I can probably get a +6 over the next 2 days, but Alex is now resisting the pokes more than the shots.

What do you think????
 
I like the curve-- you almost have bookend preshots and they are both yellow. You got into the blues and the curve is "U" shaped. If Alex was my kitty and his curves were similar on two doses (1.6 and 1.8), I would stick with the higher dose due to the risk of ketones.
On 7/31 when you shot 1.6 into a similar cycle--it doesn't appear the duration was as good. I found with Kitty that if I could avoid the zoom, the higher doses did seem to give longer duration.

But, truly I like the curve. The cycle might have even been better--he might have gone lower at +6. I like it!

Just my thoughts!
 
Can you get another +6 reading tomorrow at this dose? I'd like to see if this is a pattern or a one time fluke sort of thing (and possibly going lower on other days) before giving you advice to hold or raise the dose.
 
My vote would be to raise the dose. You got a nice U-curve, but a drop of only about 30% and numbers too high overall. No arguement with getting a little more data to confirm it, but I'd tend to go to 2u.
 
He's at 192 this morning and I will try to get a +6. Still holding at 1.8.
Maybe someday I'll see a "green" number. :mrgreen:
 
Great Start to the morning--A blue preshot! Come on Alex go green!

I think he is doing great, especially with the DKA episode so recent. Sometimes it takes kitties a long time after DKA to get back into "decent" numbers.

Looks Good!

How is his Foot?!
 
It is hard to say what the increased +6 means, but the two thoughts that come to my mind are---he continued to go up after you am shot and had a late onset--so, even though your preshot test says 196--the bg could have been much higher before onset took place.

Or, you had an early onset and his nadir was earlier than +6 and he is now heading up.

If you got another test at +7 or so, you probably could determine if he had early onset and the +6 is a rising number.

Don't get discouraged, he is doing so much better and you can't base the whole cycle on one test.

See where he is in an hour!

Just my thoughts.
 
Looks like he had a late onset. The +6 and +7 are so close, they could be considered a meter variation--but, I think he probably had a late onset and his bg continued to rise. Hopefully, the later looking onset will leave you with another good pm preshot. These numbers as a whole look really good!

Hang in There!
 
Great amps, lousey pmps...
sorry, I know so well how you feel!
hang in there..
you both are doing great!

Densie and Shakes
 
Well today's numbers tell me that he needs more insulin. What do you think about bringing the dose up to 2u tomorrow morning?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top