Alex - 8/13

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny & Alex

Member Since 2011
AMPS -- 264, shot 1.6--I suspected a fur shot, but
+5-167
+7.5-76

Remind me (I've been so consumed with just trying to see a green number) what is the ideal PS and nadir??? I know, duh!
 
I am not sure what "ideal" is, but well regulated is considered preshots in the 200s and nadirs in the 100s or lower. Alex looks like he is doing Great, I don't see that you can change a lot with his dose with nadirs in the 70s.

Remember when you never thought you would see a green?!

Looks great and so soon after DKA!
 
I know, Kim, I am absolutely thrilled with our current progress.
I also know that things can change sooo quickly, so want to always be mindful of that.
 
PMPS is 81 and DH and I are meeting friends at the county fair in about 30 minutes.

I guess I'll hold off shooting until we return.
 
You know.....I am starting to think that you and DH, just might get to start back taking those vacations if this continues!
 
I know this sounds strange, but we're meeting a couple (we know the woman from yoga class, but have never met her husband) at the fair to look around at the arts and crafts and then go to the horse show. So it's kinda like a blind date. :razz: Anyway, Alex told us not to stay out too late. I'll check in later.
 
Couples blind dates? Sounds like fun.

Way to go Alex. With an unshootable PS on 1.6u you might want to go to 1.4u now, let him even out.
 
We're back and had a good time. THey are cat people too so understood when I said I needed to get home and check on Alex.

So, we're at +15 with 161. What do I do?
 
Even though he is getting better numbers, this is still uncharted waters for you. I would use 200 as my no shoot--and I would not shoot him until he reached it. He isn't climbing very fast....and you fed him before you left.

Even if he goes a little higher, you will be okay. He is responding so well you will recapture your momentum.

Just my thoughts.
 
and once he reaches 200, do I shoot a reduced dose?

I assume he would be shootable at +15, so I was originally planning to shoot 75 % of his dose since we were 3 hours into the next cycle. Is this logic OK? And I guess I should lower dose from 1.6 to 1.4 when I'm ready to shoot a full dose.
 
I would reduce--if not you might continue to present yourself with unshootable preshots. Are you planning on backing your schedule up to accomodate for the late shot tonight or do you need to stay on your previous schedule? To me, that would determine how much I reduced.
 
You know I don't have a lot (none!) of experience with having to wait on a preshot for them to become shootable. But, if you are going to want to shoot again in the morning at your normal time and you are already 3 hours into the cycle-- when he reached 200, I would shoot a "token" dose. Is 75 percent correct, I don't know.....but, I would play it safe and try to have him shootable in the morning. You logic to the 75 percent seems logical. If you short the dose too much, he will just be higher in the morning and you can adjust. I would play it safe---and it is a pm cycle.
 
It looks like Alex is asking for a dose decrease. I think when he gets to 200 I would go with something more like 1.2u.

Let whatever bounce you get clear and see how he does on this dose.
 
One of two things...meter variation or his pancreas is sputtering......hope it is the sputter!

It makes for a long night waiting them out, but it beats the heck out of red and black numbers!
 
I took a little cat nap :mrgreen: , and at +18.5, he's at 225 and sleeping like a baby.

Given I'm half-way into the cycle, I only shot .7. Tomorrow morning, I'm hoping I can shoot at full dose at 6:30am--either 1.2 or 1.4.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top