Alex 7/2 --gonna wants lots of advice today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny & Alex

Member Since 2011
It's experiment day!
I shot Alex with .6 units (decided with the syringes I use, .6 would be easier than .5) this morning after an AMPS of 221.
At +3, he's at 349.
 
We wait to shoot after he's fed now since he accepts the shot a little better. But he does eat a decent meal--not all of it, but most. Before I poked for the +3, I did look at food bowl and it looked the same as it did after he finished his b'fast--so I don't think he just snacked before the poke.

He's also very lazy again today.
 
It looks like he did the same thing yesterday. Last night's PMPS was the lowest you've had for a while.

Lets see what +6 brings.
 
+6 poke--I was almost afraid to look b/c quite frankly, I was expecting 300s or possibly 400s, and it was 146.

Stayed tuned for +9.
 
I think I would stick with the .6. He hasn't been in the blues for a while so maybe his liver panicked a little.

I would certainly say he qualifies for our Difficult Kitties Club. He has numbers almost exactly like this on 1.6 and 1.4. Wonder what Joanna will think?
 
Funky!!!! I tell you, I'm starting to wonder if I know up from down any more. Not to mention it's something like 100 degrees here today so I'm pretty sure my brain is fried mush at the moment. The air is full blast, but my RV a/c can't keep up too well once it goes much over 90.

I mean, looking at the SS, the 146 almost looks like a wonky reading. I wonder if his pancreas is kicking, and we are seeing some wide natural variation mixed with some insulin effect? I really don't know, jury is still out for me on this one.

In the absense of having the foggiest clue WHAT is going on :mrgreen: I would hold the dose. Time will tell.

I got this book from the library by Nora Ephron called "I Remember Nothing" about growing older. I can't WAIT to read it... if I can remember where I put it.... :lol: :lol:
 
Interesting that today's AMPS was the same as yesterdays. Hopefully last night was a little bounce from the blue and it's already cleared.
 
The dose is looking too low to me. My suspicion is that he is one of those kitties that doesn't zoom on his own, but basically he is not seeing greens, it just looks to me like you are getting closer and closer to basically seeing what his numbers look like if you don't give him insulin at all. Since they are diabetic numbers, I think you may be stuck with a trade-off where if you push him to the greens, you end up seeing some higher PSs in consequence. Of course the black and red PSs you saw a while back are not an option, but I wouldn't worry too much about higher yellow and low pink PSs. If you can get to a dose where you see green nadirs, I would just tolerate the higher PSs (provided he does not see a steep drop). They are either something that will settle down over time, or if not, you could consider shooting more often than 12/12, or switching to a longer-acting insulin.

Of course he is tricky b/c you have never seen greens, and it's hard to know what dose might get him there. If it were me, I would probably go to 1.2 and stay there for a couple days before raising further. I might try 1u as an intermediate step, not b/c I think that will be a good dose, but just not to jump the dose too much all at once. I'm kind of on the fence on that one, 1u vs. 1.2.

How is he acting?
 
He is acting OK (not Oscar or Emmy quality). Appetite is good, but he seems to be sleeping a lot over the last 5 or 6 days.
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
. They are either something that will settle down over time, or if not, you could consider shooting more often than 12/12, or switching to a longer-acting insulin.

Shooting more often than 12/12 is not an option for me. I've already given up my vacations, I can't give up working too. ;-)
 
While we like the 200s better than the 300 and 400s, we would like to see curves instead of flat lines, so I increased to 1.2 uniots tonight.
 
Obviously the .6u wasn't enough insulin. At least now you know. I'm not sure I would have increased by double the dose though. I probably would have increased by smaller increments to make sure I didn't miss a good dose inbetween.
 
Someone suggested 1 or 1.2 and since I had been at 1.0 immediately priot to .6, I went on to 1.2.
Do you think it would be beneficial to back down to .8?
 
I think I would, you got that one wow +6 and then nothing.

You have ruled out .6u as a dose, I would try .8u for a few cycles just to be sure then 1u etc. That way you won't have any doubt about missing a good dose.
 
I agree. If you are going to experiment this one time with the lower doses, I would make sure I did it systematically. You can always go up if you see high numbers, but you only want to do this experiment once.
 
I agree with the logic of the systematic increases. The reason I suggested skipping 0.8 and possibly 1u is that she already tried 1u and didn't get any results. So to me the drop to 0.6 was the super-check to be sure we aren't seeing some wacko overdose effect. Since 1u looked pointless before, that's where I thought lets move at a 0.5 increment to get back over 1u, and then go back to 0.2u increments after that.

If it were me, I would stick with that higher dose, I think there is minimal chance that anything 1u or lower is going to do any good. But I do agree that if skipping the dose is going to leave any questions and any more back & forth on lower vs. raise, then just try it and see, and raise with confidence. It's all about what makes sense to you Ginny. If you are convinced any given dose is too low, I wouldn't even bother with it. If you aren't sure, then you should try it and see.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top