Alex 7/1 -- PMPS is 202 (lowest of the day)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny & Alex

Member Since 2011
I held at 1.0 unit today like we discussed yesterday. I got a +6 last night and a couple of mid-cycles today. He's flat with one slight rise into the wonky pinks (Joanna's term).

Are we still in agreement that I should lower to .5 tomorrow and then raise at the PM shot if he rises higher than he's been today? And if I do raise the dose, what should it be? Like I said, I've already shot everything between 1 and 2.5, but I didn't stay long at 1.2. And just because it wasn't the optimal dose a month ago doesn't mean it couldn't be today>>> confused_cat

Alex's appetite is good today, but he does seem lazier than normal.
 
Re: Alex 7/1 -- definitely not the optimal dose

I was going through your past threads and I don't see the suggestion to drop to 0.5u - I see some suggesting to raise the dose. A flat curve usually either means too much or too little insulin. Since you were getting larger dips on higher doses, I'd be inclined to say this is a case of too little insulin actually.

Are you testing for ketones? It wouldn't hurt to try 0.5u if you wanted to, but I strongly suggest you be testing for ketones if you do try it.
 
Re: Alex 7/1 -- PMPS is 202

The most recent suggestion came yesterday, on the thread "Alex 6/30". Since I've been posting, it's been pretty much lower from 1 or 2 people and increase from the rest. To elimiante any possibility of whether I should go up or down, I was going to try .5 tomorrow.

And yes, I have been checking for ketones when I find him in the litterbox.
 
Re: Alex 7/1 -- definitely not the optimal dose

We are having company for dinner tonight, so rather than not being able to find Alex hiding under the furniture at the proper times, I moved up his PMPS. He's at 202.

Still hoping to hear from you about the plan for tomorrow.
 
I don't know whether up or down is best. I am just thinking this is your chance to try the .5 - you are home and can get some numbers. If he is high, then it is a failed experiment, but you will have tried it and it won't be in the back of your mind as a possibility.

You are getting decent numbers, just not much movement down.

Ketone testing would be good.
 
Yeah, it's weird such a good PS tonight! If you don't know which way to go, I would do the lower the dose trial, and test vigilantly for ketones. If it's clear the 0.5 is too little, then I would try 0.75, and if that is clearly too little, then I'd jump to 1.2 - I think if anything under 1u is too little you can safely skip 1u on the way back up.
 
Kelly, I suggested the experiment, if I'm wrong she will know right away and can raise her dose accordingly but at least she will be able to raise with confidence and know that she didn't miss her perfect dose that might have been lower.
 
Rob & Harley said:
Kelly, I suggested the experiment, if I'm wrong she will know right away and can raise her dose accordingly but at least she will be able to raise with confidence and know that she didn't miss her perfect dose that might have been lower.

Thanks Robin. I apparently missed yesterday's thread for Alex. There is no harm in lowering the dose just to be sure. I just don't see the usual pattern that indicates the dose is too high.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top