Alex 6/29 - Check it Out

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny & Alex

Member Since 2011
I decreased the dose to 1.0 unit this morning and except for the initial drop, he's been fairly flat. These numbers don't make me nervous, so I think I should hold here for a few days. Do you agree?

But, just suppose that tomorrow, he is back up into 400s, should I increase and if so, how much?
 
My advice, and I wouldnt listen to me, but I would hold whatever dose you chose
for a few days so he can get used to it and you can maybe get a better idea...
I did that for Shakes ad it works better than only holding for a day or 2.....
 
I can understand dropping back the dose just in case you are seeing bounce numbers, but I really don't see a bounce here. I see some pretty good break through numbers around the 1.6u dose.
 
Very nice PMPS. Try to get a spot test in sometime tonight so we can see how the 1u is doing.

For tomorrow I would hold the dose on a similar PS. If you get a lower AMPS I would lower the dose accordingly.

I like it so far.
 
I would be systematic about it. Hold the dose for 4 - 6 cycles, (2-3 days), whatever works best for you in that range, and if at that point nadirs are above 50 and PSs are above 150, raise by 0.2, then keep repeating that until you get the numbers. And lower of course immediately if you see numbers under that.

If this dose is 100% obviously too low I would say you don't need to hold it as long (but I would hold any increases for at least 4 cycles). The thing is you can't judge just from a high PS. Tonight's PS is surprisingly good, and you got over a 50% drop by +3 on one cycle at 1.4, so I'd be tempted to just hold this for 2 days and then raise if the numbers aren't good.

The exception would be if you see an increase in his symptoms or if he acts like he is feeling worse. Those are signs the dose is too low, and I would go ahead and raise if you see that, assuming the numbers aren't great.
 
I was afraid to see the AMPS number this morning, but he was at 272. I won't be able to test mid-cycle since I'm in the office today.

It's almost time for me to get another bottle of insulin and after reading thru last night's posts, I'm uncertain about what to ask the vet to order.
I paid $120 for last bottle of ProZine (thru vet). Does anyone get it cheaper from other sources?
 
My Prozinc was about 104.00 from my vet. I don't know if you can get it anywhere else. I've seen some people post about the compounded & I think it's cheaper. I answered your question about changing insulins on another thread...was it Kim's. I'm just not sue either!
 
113.00 per vial at my vet--I am on my 4th one. The first one sure enough pooped out! The second one, I think I quit on it--I was underdosing and blamed it on the inusulin. The third one, I just quit on the am cycle yesterday--I was at the end of the vial, but it had lost its potentcy--. And GOOD ole number 4, I started last night--whew!



At the doses Kitty is getting-- even if it doesn't poop out, it will only last 2 months max. For a grand total of $678.00 annually!


My feeling about the ProZinc is--if you start the vial and are dosing 2 units and having success--by the end of the vial to get the same response you will be dosing about .5 units more---ECID!! I think you can use the vial even as it is losing potency, but you have to continue to increase when your numbers get off to get the same "amount of punch" form it. It seems like it is strongest the first 10 days and then surfs for awhile before pooping out!

I can assure you I was apprehensive about starting the new vial.

Just my experience.
 
It's just insane the cost! I would certainly be shopping around for other insulins. Vetsulin is defunct now but it was $25/vial that lasted 1-2 months, PZI Vet was in the $120 range but it lasted forever unless you were on a high dose, and I don't know about the Ls. I don't know about BCP PZI - I'm pretty sure it expires after a couple months, but maybe it's more affordable?
 
In looking at your signature, I see you changed from Prozinc. Care to elaborate? Any particular reasons why you switched?
 
If you look at the first part of our spreadsheet you can see that we were just hitting our head against the wall with prozinc and Oscar, but Oscar I believe has a touch of insulin resistance. We would have constant high and flat curves and then all of a sudden it would kick in big time. Not much in between. We switched, not in an effort to get longer duration, but in an effort to try another insulin to see if his body would work better with it.
 
My vet charges $85.00 dollars a vial.
You can get it from some online vet supply sources (vet has to fax in Rx) for around $75.00-95.00 but when you factor in the Fed Ex overnight shipping your'e not saving much unless you find one that has free shipping.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top