Alex - 6/22

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny & Alex

Member Since 2011
While Alex is logging some better numbers all in all, he still doesn't ever really show a curve. He had an AMPS yesterday of 159 and I shot, but hesitantly. Since he's flat, I understand that calls for more insulin. Should I raise to 1.8?

Last night's spike, I'm assuming, was the fact that the young woman who wouldn't hurt a flea (potential petsitter) stressed him out. I had arranged for a friend's college-age daughter to come over and meet Alex at shot time so she could give it a try. No go! He ran and hid and came out about 45 minutes after she left. I was late giving his shot.

I posted on the wrong insulin board. At least I didn't post with a candle. Sorry, Kim, I couldn't resist.
 
Ha! I actually did it again yesterday, but I caught it before I submitted.

It only happens when I use my phone-- the screen is so small!
 
The candle joke actually get's better with time .... sorry Kim! I just got in don't want to hijack your condo, Ginny :) I left SF by way of Sausalito and stopped in Napa to re-stock! I'm doing to eat, then I'll be back. Good to know Sue is still popping in! (probably looking for rainbows and candles!! sorry, sorry!!)
Nancy
 
I have a civvie that hides from everyone like that. You'd think someone was gonna murder him! And every time the doorbell rings he runs like someone's chasing him....silly cat last night he actually ran towards the front door. :lol:

Good AMPS for Alex, but I would have been scared to shoot into that too!
 
Nice AM number! dont know what to tell you to shoot although it is night now!
Shakes hates all men (except my hubby) so any male that comes over gets the
hissing sctaching yelling....fun times here!

I hope you will be able to find someone to help...I wish I could once in a while!
 
Re: Alex - 6/22 & 6/23

He's at 345 this morning and hubby would never dream of upping the dose. What do you all think?
 
He has no objections, he just does exactly what I tell him. :lol:
So far, he has helped with poking and shooting, but really hasn't been invovled in any of the decision making.
 
I agree with Judy , I think you can up it. From looking at your spreadsheet most of the nadirs are yellow. It looks like to me you have ample room to increase.

Just my novice opinion!
 
Sounds like you have DH "trained" well!!!


Before Robin suggested you decrease, due to the inverse curve, most of your test/curves appear flat to me. Very little movement.

If I increased the dose I would test him some today to see how he reacted, to be sure you are not going in the wrong direction. He did have a good response to the decrease to 1.6--but, it doesn't appear to be lasting.

Just my thoughts.
 
one of my biggest problems is I don't know if I've ever found the nadir. Like I say, Alex is not a curvy boy, but mostly flat, most of the time. But I think I will increase at shot time tonight.

Since hubby and I can't take a vacation away, we've taken today and tomorrow as vacation to do yard work (read that as pull weeds since the MidWest has gotten so much rain the last 2 months), so I can get a few mid-cycle tests.

I just read that Sue was gone to a convention in a post from a few days ago. I thought she wasn't leaving until July, or is she going to be gone again?? :shock:
 
Yep--gone again for 6 weeks to Europe!

I agree with what you are saying regarding the nadir--I don't really see one except the day you went to 1.6 and got the 125.

I am careful what I say, because I am in no way trying to encourage you to "do anything?' But, I was having trouble to get Kitty to curve. I even bought 2 new vials of insulin, swearing it had gone "bad" because there was no curve. But, I really think Kitty's flat curve was too little insulin. Once I started increasing doses I got movement.

When I would start the new vial I got movement, so that suggested to me it was the insulin. But, I think the reason the insulin was working better on the "new" vials is because it is more potent when first opened and unhandled. So, a 3.5 on a new vial might be more like a 3.75 on an old vial. So in essence when I started a new vial and didn't change the dose, I actually was increasing the insulin--creating a curve and convincing me the "old" insulin had pooped!

Does that make any sense? Just sharing my thoughts!



edit--grammer!
 
It doesn't typically qualify as vacation for us either, but Alex's diagnosis has changed our lives. We usually take a couple of big trips a year, but since Alex doesn't seem like he's going to let anyone else administer a shot, we're stuck. Our only other choice is to get him OTJ.
 
One more thought-- even though you are not estatic about your numbers now-- they aren't that bad. Alex is in a lot better numbers than he was early on--at least no reds or blacks!



Go pull weeds! I am a big Gardener. I absolutely love spending time in my yard.
 
We're headed out the door--it's a beautiful day here so far--not too hot.
Yes, Alex's #s are not too bad. We just always want better, right?
 
Yeah, his #s are kind of a puzzle. It looks like a U-curve though today - I would probably go to 1.8 and see what happens. Mostly the dose looks too low to me, but those couple blue PSs really throw me off.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top