Alex -- 6/17--what do you think?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny & Alex

Member Since 2011
Hello All,

Alex had an AMPS of 208. I was pretty excited and am planning to get some additional numbers today. So, about 15 minutes before +3 (he was sitting on my lap, why pass up an opportunity like that?), he's at 248. After I saw the number, I also remembered him just licking his chops, so I assume he just had a little snack. Could that snack have affected his BG level that quickly?
 
Re: Alex -- 6/17

I truly have no idea, but I would think it wasn't the snack if he "just" ate it.

I would say it was more likely a late onset.

I tested Kitty the other day and her +3 was considerably higher than her ps.

Give him some time and test again.

Do you meet the Pet sitter today!
 
Re: Alex -- 6/17

I can't answer your question but yay for good #'s! Thanks for your well wishes!
 
Re: Alex -- 6/17

How much did you shoot this morning? I can't get the ss to come up.

Any chance it was a fur shot?
 
Re: Alex -- 6/17

What has Alex eaten this morning? Just the norm, or anything different?
 
Re: Alex -- 6/17

Just normal stuff--a little FF and some Wellness, even though he hasn't eaten as well the last couple of days. He did eat some grass and then proceeded to throw it up.
 
Re: Alex -- 6/17

I haven't checked for ketones in a while. I need to go out for a haircut, but I'll to catch him in the litter box later today and test.
 
Re: Alex -- 6/17

You need to test. Not eating and increased bgs (especially unexplained increases) are bad Partners for ketones.

Test when you get home!
 
Re: Alex -- 6/17

Still waiting for Alex to go to the litter box. Of course, my mere suggestion that he go just made him hissy!

In the meantime, the +9 was 351--a steady increase all day.
 
Re: Alex -- 6/17

Yes, he ate today, just not quite as much normal. He is behaving perfectly fine.

I wish he would pee.
 
These are the ones I am never sure about - whether it looks flat and could use more insulin or whether it is inverse and needs a little less. If you factor in glucometer variance, it really muddies the picture. I hope Robin and Joanna will weigh in.

You are getting nice ps numbers - just not much midcycle action.
 
Wish I could help here, I know with shakes, sometimes when that happens,
he is flat all day
when I mix him up and give him a little more carbs he starts moving along again.....

but EVERY CAT IS DIFFERENT!
boy that sometimes just stinks doesnt it?

well hope he starts moving soon, but I think he will as everyone is starting to move again

hang in there
Densie and SHakes
 
A 100 point rise looks inverse to me which would suggest that is too much insulin, that said you wern't getting much action on the lower doses.

You have gotten some blues but they are mostly early steep drops.

If you are going to be home tomorrow you could do a reverse rebound check and drop down to 1.5u, if his bg's improve then you'll know the dose was too high. If his bg's go high then you can quickly increase back up knowing that the dose was too low.

That should tell you in a hurry which way to go.
 
Hmmm, what a puzzle. These ones drive me nuts. I feel like there is someone out there who can look at these and know in an instant what it all means, but it ain't me! Sometimes I can see stuff really clearly in the SSs, and then sometimes I just feel so inept!!!!

Well anyhow, here are my thoughts:

Back on 6/15 PM cycle you got over a 50% drop by +3, which is a lot. If they get a 50% drop by +4 or +5 I'd say they are probably right on track. By +3, could be dose is too high. No where close to lows in that cycle though, so not too high from that perspective, but drop could be overly steep, and dose would be too high on a 150 PS. And then one other pretty steep drop on 6/10.

But other than that cycle, not much drop to speak of, so the dose looks too low, and especially when you look back at lower doses, you aren't seeing much response.

Wish I could be more help. Maybe try posting on Health for ideas? I'm hesitant to suggest a dose increase given those couple steep drops, but I don't see what decrease you could try that you haven't already.

You could try feeding in the 1st half of the cycle to ease the drop (if there is one). Who knows, maybe doing something like changing up his eating patterns would end up helping? Just brainstorming.
 
Yeah if he is doing ok and no ketones or anything like that I might give Rob's idea a shot. Then if the #s don't improve at least you could raise the dose with more confidence. Today I just don't know - I don't like a 100 pt rise by +6, but then there's not a big drop by the end of the cycle to really complete the inverse pattern. So... hmmm.
 
I still haven't caught Alex in the litter box to test his ketones, but I know he's peeing--there's plenty evidence of that.

This morning's AMPS was 298, so I went ahead and took Rob's suggestion and only shot 1.5 this morning. I'll try to get a couple of tests in today, but I also need to get out and run errands (in the rain).
 
Good luck today, maybe it will give you some answers.

I wish it would rain here-- it is dry!
 
Awesome!!! It is so hard to say on the dose, sometimes they get a good response one cycle but then not on others. I would say if you got good results on this dose, stick with it until it proves otherwise.

You want roughly a 65% drop from PS to nadir, so you can kind of use that as a guide (definitely not a hard and fast rule or anything). If you are only seeing a 50% drop and the nadirs are above 80, then you can probably raise the dose a little. If you get an 80% drop you probably need to reduce a little, though it depends on what the PSs and nadirs are. ECID applies.

Today's drop looks pretty good to me, about 60% if I did the math right, so I would stick with it and see how the pattern shapes up over the next few days. Of course if you see any number below 50, or if the PSs start being under 150, you want to reduce the dose immediately. I wouldn't expect either of those based on today's #s, but just for clarity.
 
what a difference 3 hours can make! He's back up to 353 at about +9 and 15 minutes.
He did munch on some grass --nothing else--and threw it up, but other than that, it's been a normal day.
 
If he's higher still at PMPS time, should I shoot the same as I did this morning? Or should I shoot higher than yesterday?
 
It looks like his liver is freaking out from the blue. If you look at your ss every time he's seen a blue it's followed by pinks and yellows. He's been so high for so long that he needs to get used to the better numbers again.

I would stay with this dose since he did so well with it, the bounce will clear by itself in a cycle or two.

So happy for today.
 
Yah, I would probably ride with this dose for a couple days (barring low #s, etc., etc) and see where things settle out. Beautiful nadir today, awesome!
 
Robin mentioned yesterday that his liver was freaking out because of a nice low blue number.
Well, this morning, he is at 371 at AMPS. Hubby already shot and allowed me to sleep in and there won't be a lot of testing opportunities today, but do I continue to shoot 1.6 units?
 
I would stay with it another day and see if you can get a nadir test. If it was some liver training he would have run higher overnight and hopefully will settle down some today and you would possibly see a lower PS tonight, and a better nadir either today or on tonight's cycle. If the #s haven't come down by tomorrow it's probably time to reevaluate - but you don't really know without at least a nadir-ish spot test. Maybe a bed-time test tonight if you can't get anything else in?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top