Alex:3/6: AMPS 187, +2 127, +4 111, +5 119., +8 148, +10 297,Pmps 141, +2 121, +5 74, +8 78, +10 68

working my way back to the 7 AM time

Don't forget we move to Daylight Saving Time this weekend too. So you have to start giving earlier so that when you "spring forward", you end up at the same time.

Awesome Awesome Awesome BLUES staying almost all in blue yesterday and last night! Look at that @Chris & China (GA) !

A thing of beauty! Now to work our way into seeing a little green would be purrfect (but don't let perfect be the enemy of really good, especially with all you're juggling right now).
 
82 at 2:15…. Don’t really want him to go much lower… Hoping that’s about as low as we go, I don’t want to get into those 60’s… i know 50 and below is the number, but i want some cushion!! 😏😻
Thinking if we are in low 100’s or lower, need to reduce PM shot amount…
 
I see he went as low as 79. He did very well. Hopefully you just gave a little LC each hour. Many times a teaspoon of LC each test will help them surf in green without raising BG too much but keeping them pretty steady. If you are trying to follow SLGS, he would have earned a .25 unit reduction anyway. Depending upon his PMPS, you may want to do a temporary reduction for the evening cycle and reduce by another .25 down to 1.5.
 
Ok thank you..
I was not here all day, but gave him some snack before I left and had my son give some while he was home. His legs are coming back much better today as well… Walking up on his toes again and even got a little jaunt in the backyard with my son.
I will go down to 1.5 tonight.

Big day tomorrow with the blood work!
 
3:30 appt.
I’m looking online at the Weruva Wx Phos focused foods… have you tried these with your kitties? Wondering how they liked it… They seem to be the lowest in phosphorus content. Also, are Tiki Stix ok for the phosphorus content?
 
7am update: 187 BG. Should I be Going back to 1.75- 2 units this AM? Should I have stayed at 2 units last night? Or better to be safe and gone down to 1.5 as I did? He’s doing so well.. so alert, going back to his usual habits and interactions.. Very hopeful here for some good quality of life for him for as long as we can!! 🙏🏻🙏🏻😻
I did 1.75 units .
 
Last edited:
How dod everything go today. I had a kitty who went for a dental today and he had some extractions. I was thinking about Alex and wondering what results you got today?
 
Re dose: with a preshot number like last night, it looks like 1.75 for next time would be good to try — hopefully that would have kept his AMPS lower this morning.

And this morning when his AMPS was closer to 200 — it looks like 2 would be the dose to try on a normal day, but since it was a “vet day,” I also would have been conservative. In my own cat sometimes he would drop lower at the vet instead of the expected rise due to vet stress.
 
Last edited:
Re dose: with a preshot number like last n, it looks like 1.75 for next time would be good to try — hopefully that would have kept his AMPS lower this morning.

And this morning when his AMPS was closer to 200 — it looks like 2 would be the dose to try on a normal day, but since it was a “vet day,” I also would have been conservative. In my own cat sometimes he would drop lower at the vet instead of the expected rise due to vet stress.
Thank you.. I will get results tomorrow of the labs…
He was 197 two hours ago and now he’s 141. I think I will stick with the 1.75 for tonight.
He’s doing so well! So relieved!
 
I think I will stick with the 1.75 for tonight.
It would be best to select a dose like 1.5 or 1.75 and stick with it as much as possible to actually see what a given dose can do for him. From the dosing protocol:
1772884629932.png
 
Was just getting ready to say that the protocol doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t shoot a reduced dose when he has a really low AMPS/PMPS. He is really keeping us on our toes recently. I am hoping things will at least settle down a bit so that a regular dose can be determined.
 
You disappeared on me. I hope you gave a few spoons of LC wet food. Don’t worry about the two hour window. He’s not going to get much of a food bump from the LC. Don’t stress. The 60s are normal healthy BG numbers. It’s new though so I do understand the anxiety. There’s always a thought in the back of your mind…. What if he keeps going down…. What if he drops too low, etc.
 
This morning at AMPS would be a good time to begin a new thread—be sure to link this long thread to the first post of the new one. Usually we try to keep threads to about 50 posts, but there was so much going on with Alex that I let it go in this instance.
 
Will he eat a spoonful of regular wet LC food? He’s extremely stable in his BG so don’t worry.
just gave a spoonful of LC food… and handed them off to my husband so I can get some sleep… I have bronchitis and a terrible rattle in my chest That’s been keeping me up as well as just worrying about Alex… very sleep deprived! He’s going to test him again at 6 AM.
 
Was just getting ready to say that the protocol doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t shoot a reduced dose when he has a really low AMPS/PMPS. He is really keeping us on our toes recently. I am hoping things will at least settle down a bit so that a regular dose can be determined.
so what are you thinking for his a.m. dose? If he is in the 60s or 70s? going to go read protocol again.
it looks like I either need to skip his dose if he’s still really low this morning at AMPS or hold it and check again in an hour or two and then shoot a reduced dose…
 
Last edited:
so what are you thinking for his a.m. dose? If he is in the 60s or 70s? going to go read protocol again.
it looks like I either need to skip his dose if he’s still really low this morning at AMPS or hold it and check again in an hour or two and then shoot a reduced dose…
I would consider stalling for up to one hour after his normal shot time before making a decision on the dose.
 
Okay. I looked at the SS I see the 73. Did you decide to skip the shot or did you want to give a token dose of maybe .5 units. I have seen this happen before. Some cats will surf along for quite a while before rising.

Since you are sick and need rest, I would consider skipping this morning’s dose and getting some rest and testing him later to see what he’s doing.
 
Okay. I looked at the SS I see the 73. Did you decide to skip the shot or did you want to give a token dose of maybe .5 units. I have seen this happen before. Some cats will surf along for quite a while before rising.

Since you are sick and need rest, I would consider skipping this morning’s dose and getting some rest and testing him later to see what he’s doing.
oops, I posted response… before i saw yours above… At 8am he is 69 so he’s still going down which is strange., I don’t think I should do anything this AM, but at what point do I consider giving him a shot an how does that work with the schedule ??
 
oops, I posted response… before i saw yours above… At 8am he is 69 so he’s still going down which is strange., I don’t think I should do anything this AM, but at what point do I consider giving him a shot an how does that work with the schedule ??
So he was 73 and 69? If you were following SLGS you wouldn’t shoot anything below 90. If following MPM you can shoot anything 50 and above. But you really aren’t currently following any particular dosing method. I think you should skip because you need some rest. If you check him in a couple of hours and he’s go e up enough to shoot you can shoot then or wait until PMPS. You don’t want to get too badly off schedule.
 
So he was 73 and 69? If you were following SLGS you wouldn’t shoot anything below 90. If following MPM you can shoot anything 50 and above. But you really aren’t currently following any particular dosing method. I think you should skip because you need some rest. If you check him in a couple of hours and he’s go e up enough to shoot you can shoot then or wait until PMPS. You don’t want to get too badly off schedule.
At 9;30am he is 87, so trending back up..
Do you think I should give him a unit? Two nights ago I gave him 1.5 when he was at 96… and he actually trended up through the whole night. Last night he trended down throughout the whole night mostly..

Just don’t want to lose control of this.. We are thinking just skip this dose and hold out until tonight.. Just don’t want him to skyrocket!
 
Back
Top