Alex - 11/3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny & Alex

Member Since 2011
Alex has been showing me quite a colorful SS lately (at least it's updated :mrgreen: )
Back on Oct 22, Robin put together a sliding scale for us. When we started off, he was bouncing so much, we shaved off .1 two separate times.
Now, surely all the bounces have cleared, so I'm returning to the original scale with 1.8 being the max dose and 1.1 or 1.2 being the lowest dose.

If I wasn't checking his BG at least twice a day, I would never know he has a problem except for the wetter litter box we have compared to pre-diabetic days.

Anyone care to look at his SS and make comments, I'm all ears!
 
So glad the SS is updated!!!! You get member of the month!! :lol:

I will gladly look at the SS later today and throw my 2 cents in.......
 
I really don't have any good advice, Ginny. It does look like the bounces have cleared, so I guess all I can suggest is stick with the original scale, and see what he does with it. If you keep getting bounces, then the scale may just need to be adjusted a bit lower? I'd rather see you get blue nadirs and no bounces than a boing every time he sees green.
What you said about not seeing any signs of anything wrong other than the LB is really great. Alex sounds like he's feeling good.
Carl
 
I agree with Carl, I said this same thing to Barbara, the scale seems to be to aggressive, it gave you nice nadirs but caused the bounces and possibly some rebound.

I would start back on the scale at the lower doses, shave .2u off of the original scale and let him get used to it, you may see flatter curves but you won't see the bouncing and if you do it should be not quite so dramatic. Once he has settled into that scale and is doing well and predictable add .1u back onto the scale and let him get used to it. We will ease him down a little at a time that way.
 
Well, I did shave off .1, and then .1 again, for a little over a week, and just yesterday went back to the original scale.
Are you suggesting I back off again?
 
Judging by today the scale is doing ok, that was about a 65% drop.

If you start seeing him bounce hard I would back off a bit. We just don't really want him bouncing all over the place again if we can help it.

Nice day he's having today.
 
Stan bought 1 can of Wellness chicken and lobster (they loved that!) and we fed that at lunch and dinner times. I just checked the food chart and it is 11% carbs, so I'm hoping that contributed to the HIGH PMPS.
 
Dang, it could be a combo of the higher carb food and a big ol bounce from the green, he hasn't seen one in a week.

That is why I suggested going with a pared down scale so the dips and bounces won't be so big.
 
It seems if we're lucky enough to get a "green" then we pay for it with a high PS, so I shaved .2 back off the sliding scale dosages this morning. (I already did this once, but maybe didn't give it enough time or wasn't consistent enough).

I'll be asking for some eyes later in the week.


.
 
After church, I had a bunch of errands run (cat food to buy, etc) so called home and told DH to not forget to get Alex's BG at +6 and to feed him his snack. I got home a little bit ago, and DH tells me Alex's BG was 52 at +6 and he ate well at snack time. I just got a +8-ish and he was 130. This after I shaved off .2 from the sliding scale and was trying to even out the curve a bit.

Guess that plan didn't work!
 
I like today's colors so far, but I'm afraid what PMPS will look like. And I certainly wasn't excepting a green at nadir today with that reduced dose. :mrgreen:
 
Nice surprise. You might get a high PMPS but you are one more green closer to him getting used to normal numbers again. Yay!

Don't shoot the bounce, depending on how high he goes maybe shoot the same dose you shot this morning. Paws crossed that he doesn't.
 
That's not so bad.

Two days ago on the same AMPS with a higher dose and a nadir of 50 points higher he bounced 50 points higher. He might be settling down.
 
Full moon is right.

PMPS - 161, so we waited 15 minutes and it was 112.
He was starting to get mean, so I knew he wouldn't let us poke him again before feeding, so we fed and I'm waiting until he comes upstairs to poke again.
 
Nice freakin preshot!
You are right on that!
0 to 60 in no time at all!
curious how he doestonight!
 
Did I mention that I'm cluless? So, I shaved off .2 from the scale and he's still bouncing.

AMPS - 310
+6 - 104
PMPS - 407 --I'm shootin even less this evening -- 1.4.
 
after my doubly reducing the dose last night (does that make sense?), this morning's AMPS was 249!

I shot 1.4 again.
 
Go Sir Alex! Aren't these cats so complicated? Nothing ever makes sense......
 
so this morning, he's back up over 350. I shot 1.5 b/c I didn't think it was related to a bounce, but I wonder if I should be backing off the dose.
Tomorrow is a holiday for DH, so he should be able to get a nadir to see what else is going on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top