Alex-11/28

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny & Alex

Very Active Member
Alex tolerated our company fairly well, but was glad to see them leave on Saturday :mrgreen: .
I really don't think he was that stressed out, but he didn't have very many good numbers this weekend.

Today,
AMPS - 339 (shot 1.7)
+6 - 97
PMPS - 341 (sliding scale calls for 1.7)

It's a really nice curve, but I'm uncomfortable with the higher pre-shots.
What do ya think?
 
Did Sir Alex wear his calming collar while the company was there?! :lol: I still can't get that visual out of my head!

Great nadir today, but I don't blame you for shaving the .1 off in hopes of lower preshots.

Go Alex!
 
I think Alex is more stressed wearing the calming collar than not. :mrgreen:

Got a nice AMPS of 208 after shaving off that .1.

So next up on the way of "challenges" is Christmas. We always travel to my parents for the holiday and I know we'll be taking Alex with us, but I'd also like to take Audrey. However, the last time I took her for a ride in the car, just prior to putting her in the large cat carrier, she peed all over my jeans. Now, everytime I try to pick her up, she's very suspicious. I always though Alex was the difficult one, but maybe not....
 
we did a trial run a couple of weeks ago--just her, and once she was in the car, she did OK. It was just catching her, followed by the pee soak. And this was just her in the carrier. I'd like both of them in there, but it's stressful for all. I guess that's one of the things we can try to do this weekend--take both together for a short ride. My, we know how to have fun. :cool:
 
Yeah. Good times. :mrgreen: I have heard people who have trouble with the carrier, first wrapping the cat in a towel and then sliding them in the carrier, wrapped up?
 
Nice AMPS and nice nadir yesterday.
Hope Alex and Audrey won't be too stressed with all the holiday traveling and festivities.
 
Ginny & Alex said:
However, the last time I took her for a ride in the car, just prior to putting her in the large cat carrier, she peed all over my jeans. Now, everytime I try to pick her up, she's very suspicious.

Thumper's sister Callie does that everytime I try to put her in the carrier now. I just have to remember to be prepared. I'm assuming you have a hard plastic carrier? I just use a towel in the bottom of mine so I can change it if she pees in there, but usually it's before I get her in there. Are you saying you are planning on putting them in the same carrier? If so have you ever done that before? I'm thinking the stress of getting in the carrier & leaving the house might make them get upset with each other then the first thing you know you have a cat fight going on. I would really consider putting them in separate carriers and just have them so they could see each other.
 
We had some company over the holiday and although he was still in the 200’s, Asher’s preshots were a bit higher. I think it wasn’t a high stress thing, but still effects numbers. Creatures of habit these kitties are.

I agree with Barbara on the two crates and towels in the bottom (and carry some extra towels along with baby wipes).
Alby always leaves a “gift” in his crate when we are in the car. It’s bad enuf when he sits or steps in it let alone two cats in the same yuk.
Better safe I say.

cat_pet_icon
 
donnahc said:
It’s bad enuf when he sits or steps in it let alone two cats in the same yuk.
Better safe I say. cat_pet_icon

:lol: That brings back bad memories....we had 2 Basenji's and if you know anything about them you know why we crated them when we weren't home (they are WILD :lol: ) one of them had IBS, although this was at the very beginning of her disease so we weren't prepared. We had a pretty large dog crate & kept them crated together for company when we weren't home. One day we came home & my male was literally screaming...he was a pretty good howler but I could tell something was very wrong. My IBS dog had an "accident" in the crate & of course it was smeared everywhere from them stepping in it! The are very clean dogs & it was just killing him to have poop on him. It was awful at the time but I can laugh about it now. :lol: We actually got that breed of dog cause they were so cat like. Needless to say, we never crated them together again. Something to think about Ginny! :lol:
 
Barbara, Basenji's are the dogs that don't shed, and don't bark, right? But they can howl and sound like they're talking? A USMC buddy of mine had a couple. They were beautiful dogs.

Here's a scenario I see with two cats in a carrier on a road trip...

Police Officer: "Uh, ma'am, can you tell me why you wrecklessly crossed three lanes of traffic and came to a skidding stop in the breakdown lane?"
Ginny : "Because I've got 2 damn cats in a small box in the backseat that both just crapped all over the place and decided to run through it for 5 miles and I couldn't freaking deal with the smell anymore!!!!! You wanna clean this mess, pal???? Now get back in your stupid car and go find some freaking law breaker and leave me the hell alone!!!!"
P.O. : "Uh, yes ma'am. Y'all have a safe trip now, y'hear?"

Carl
 
Point taken. We have a very large crate and have typically transported both cats together. But, with Alex's feistiness, it might be safer to transport then separately. I'm still not sure about Audrey going, but we'll have to take some practice drives to decide for sure.

I thought they might be more comfortable if both were in the same crate-you know, misery loves company. :lol:
 
carlinsc said:
Barbara, Basenji's are the dogs that don't shed, and don't bark, right? But they can howl and sound like they're talking? A USMC buddy of mine had a couple. They were beautiful dogs.

Here's a scenario I see with two cats in a carrier on a road trip...

Police Officer: "Uh, ma'am, can you tell me why you wrecklessly crossed three lanes of traffic and came to a skidding stop in the breakdown lane?"
Ginny : "Because I've got 2 damn cats in a small box in the backseat that both just crapped all over the place and decided to run through it for 5 miles and I couldn't freaking deal with the smell anymore!!!!! You wanna clean this mess, pal???? Now get back in your stupid car and go find some freaking law breaker and leave me the hell alone!!!!"
P.O. : "Uh, yes ma'am. Y'all have a safe trip now, y'hear?"

Carl


:lol: :lol: Yes, that's the dog Carl. We have always been cat people but the girls wanted a dog so we chose that breed cause they are so cat like. They don't smell like dogs & never need a bath & I can't stand barking. Well, let me tell you that scream is worse....they just don't do it all the time.

Ginny, if you have travelled with them like that before you are probably just fine & you're right they would keep each other company.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top