Alex - 10/2 - We're Home

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny & Alex

Very Active Member
About 4 hours in the car on Friday, and again on Sunday to return home. I put the calming collar in the carrier along with a small litter box. Alex hardly moved a muscle for both rides. He didn't meow or whine, he wouldn't eat a snack. He just sat there-somtimes with his head up, but mostly with his head buried in his towel. Stan said he needed to get me a calming collar.

So, when we got to our destination, I assumed he would hide under the bed and maybe not eat well. Neither was true. He adapted quickly and well. He even let my mom pet him and only hissed at her quietly. :lol:

Here's my question: On both travel days, we arrived at PMPS time and both times PMPSs were very high--on Fri, 460 and today 514. Would it have been better to just let him stay home and miss a couple of shots or let the stress of the travel elevate his BG to these numbers? No signs of feeling bad. In fact, as soon as we got the 514, he ate and groomed and cordially greeted Audrey. If it weren't for seeing the high numbers on the meter, I'd never believe he was soooo high.
 
I would not elect to leave him home and skip the shots. The BG will come down quickly when induced by stress. Glad Sir Alex went and that you had a good time!

Let me know how the calming collar works if you try it. :lol: If it works, I have a couple of people I would like to try one on!

Glad you are home safely!
 
Welcome home! I'm glad everything went well and you were able to get away.

As for your question it is better to let his bg's be high from the stress for a day or two rather than skipping the insulin which can cause ketones.
 
I agree, better high due to stress than be without insulin, besides if DH thinks you need a calming collar now what would happen if you were worrying about Alex home alone all weekend? :-D I know I would worry more about him being home with no insulin & me not there to observe. I wouldn't trust anyone else to judge how he was really doing.

Glad he did well at your parents & he let your mother pet him!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top