Heather & Seasaidh (GA)
Active Member
DCIN foster Albert needs a furever home. Read his blog here: http://fdmb-cin.blogspot.com/2012/04/albert.html
He was never really officially OTJ, but he hadn't been eating so I didn't give him any insulin. Albert is eating much better (low carb canned FF/Friskies) and I haven't given him his cyproheptadine since Sat. Since he was feeling so crummy from being anorexic I didn't test his BG right away. I tested him last Friday and I got these numbers:
PMPS: 175 no shot
+1.5 200 still no shot
Sat: PMPS: 233 no shot, but was tempted to
+1 198 going down, so no shot
+3 178, down even more so still no shot
Sun I didn't test him because I had a migraine and I thought he was doing ok.
Today: PMPS: 447, gave 1U ProZinc
I tested him several times before that and got numbers all in the 400s. I have to update his SS but I'm having trouble signing into Google right now.
This stinks. But the good side of it all is that he is eating again, and he has his insulin. I took him out for two walks today and he did really well walking on his toes. He had to sniff a lot of flowers and grass, so we took frequent breaks, but his neuropathy seemed to be much better. Here are a couple of pics of him feeling much better now that he's eating again:
edited to add his DCIN blog link
He was never really officially OTJ, but he hadn't been eating so I didn't give him any insulin. Albert is eating much better (low carb canned FF/Friskies) and I haven't given him his cyproheptadine since Sat. Since he was feeling so crummy from being anorexic I didn't test his BG right away. I tested him last Friday and I got these numbers:
PMPS: 175 no shot
+1.5 200 still no shot
Sat: PMPS: 233 no shot, but was tempted to
+1 198 going down, so no shot
+3 178, down even more so still no shot
Sun I didn't test him because I had a migraine and I thought he was doing ok.
Today: PMPS: 447, gave 1U ProZinc
I tested him several times before that and got numbers all in the 400s. I have to update his SS but I'm having trouble signing into Google right now.
This stinks. But the good side of it all is that he is eating again, and he has his insulin. I took him out for two walks today and he did really well walking on his toes. He had to sniff a lot of flowers and grass, so we took frequent breaks, but his neuropathy seemed to be much better. Here are a couple of pics of him feeling much better now that he's eating again:


edited to add his DCIN blog link