After almost 5 months... finally good numbers!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't know if anyone remembers any of my old posts, but Sebastian had been in and out of "remission" with Vetsulin, and when he needed insulin, his pre-shot numbers were in the low 200s. After we made the switch to Prozinc, back in March or April, his numbers were CRAZY all over the place. His pre-shots were constantly over 300 and many times close to 400. We varied his dose from .5 to 1.5 until finally we discovered keeping him at .8 was keeping his numbers steady, even if they were a bit high. His spot checks were NEVER very low, but when we increased the dose, his numbers went even HIGHER.

Well... finally.... this week, we've been getting constant pre-shots between 220-250. A few days ago his PMPS was at 255, and his .8 dose dropped him to 98 at +4. Now, with his lower pre-shots, we've taken him down to .6. We'll get a new spot check tonight, hopefully.

I've been HATING Prozinc but maybe he's finally stabilizing! Just had to share our good news! He hasn't been this low since he started the new insulin and we didn't think we'd ever see good numbers again. :-D
 
You know Harley kind of did the same thing. The first 6 weeks he was crazy high and all over the place. It wasn't until I stuck to 1.2 for 2 full weeks that he started coming around and has needed less insulin to achieve the same numbers in baby steps as we go along.

Maybe Prozinc ISN'T exactly like the other PZI's. Maybe it has a much longer settling in period.

Maybe WE are pioneering the new protocol for Prozinc.

Keep posting your observations, we might be on to something here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top