Advise please on shooting low numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

BaileyUK

Member Since 2013
I know every cat will react differently to low numbers,and I have read the advise on how to handle low pre shot numbers,but there is no mention as to above what number it is considered a safe number to give the normal insulin shot.
As you can see from Baileys ss we are having a lovely run of blue,this morning at his AMPS he was 150 (8.3) this caused me concern,as I didn't want to jeopardise this good run he is having by giving a late shot,so I made the decision to shoot at the correct time when he was 150.
So my question Is at above what number is it considered safe to shoot at?
By the way he is a happy boy today being in the blue,out enjoying the sunshine,on watch,doing catty things!!
 
There isn't one answer to this question. The actual answer is, "It depends."

When you are new to FD, on this board we suggest if you have a pre-shot number below 150 that you post and ask for help if you feel that you need it. So, shooting 150 was fine. However, any time you shoot a number lower than you typically shoot, you need t get early tests (e.g., a +1 and +2) to make sure that numbers don't start dropping with a lot of momentum. The early tests allow you to intervene with food if should need to.

Ultimately, we want everyone to "shoot low to stay low." Experienced Lantus users will shoot any number above 50. But, we work our way down to shooting those low numbers and have a good deal of data to guide our decisions.

Other factors to be considered are whether you are there to monitor, if you cat is ill or not eating, if you have sufficient strips and high carb food should they be needed, if a bounce is breaking, and probably several other things I'm not thinking of at the moment.
 
Thanks SIenne,
This is what I don't understand,presuming there are no mitigating circumstances,all is well with the cat,and you don't want to rock the boat by delaying shot time,is there not a number that you can say this is the number that anything over this it's safe to shoot? Like this morning Baileys shot times are 6am & 6pm this is the middle of the night for you in the US,and if I posted and waited on a reply he could be way off time for his shot time,sorry to push you but there must be a general number you all would feel comfortable with as a guide line?
 
If you shot a 150 today, then you can shoot lower than that the next time. A lot depends on your comfort level and availability to monitor. What's appropriate for Bailey isn't for Gabby. I'll shoot anything above 50 provided I'm around to keep an eye on her numbers.
 
Thanks SIenne,
That is useful to give me a guideline,if all was well with Bailey,and I was able to stay around to watch over him for the day,what percentage would you drop the next time he gives a low pre shot reading?
Many thanks,that will give me more confidence next time a low number stares back at me at 6am!!
 
It's important to remember dose changes are based on the nadir (lowest part of the cycle). So although pre-shot numbers are important, the mid-cycle numbers are even more so. If kitty drops below 50 mid-cycle you would then earn a reduction. Good job on shooting the 150! It can be a little nerve wracking the lower you go. nailbite_smile
 
Onset has been on the money for some time with us and we could shoot comfortably below 100. Now my guy is seeing major lows at end cycle that stick around so we have to be more careful about what we shoot. It's a combination of numbers and how we feel about the overall situation. If I can stick around to watch and take care of him if there are problems, I am more likely to shoot lower numbers. If anything at all is going on that seems off, or if I know I won't be around, I am far more cautious. If his numbers are lower but a retest indicates they are rising quickly, I am okay with shooting low. I know that isn't the ideal response you may have been looking for, but you will get a better idea of how things can go as you go along and people here will let you know when you could have done something different, which helps a lot. We are still learning and God willing, we have not killed Frank yet. Just remember, it is not great for them to be high, but numbers too low can turn into an emergency.
 
I'll second Sienne's "It depends"....

I shoot about any AMPS number for KT regardless of how low...I've shot a 55. BUT I KNOW he drops because he doesn't eat overnight - as soon as he eats breakfast, he'll zoom up for the day. If he DOES turn around a head back down, he'll eat ANYTHING with Karo on it. I never have a chance to shoot a low PMPS...that's just KT.

Dakota - I don't dare shoot a low number with him. He DOESN'T zoom up and is like trying to pry a huge boulder out of the mud when I'm trying to get him up. I have to force feed him Karo and even that doesn't rise him very quickly. I'll shoot in the 100's but never in double digit greens.

So....it depends... :-)
 
Prying a huge boulder out of the mud...apt description. It is the same way with Frank. I get a little bit of both with him though, so I feel like I need to be somewhat clarvoyant some days.
 
Thanks each and all for your words of support,it is very much appreciated.Have just taken B's PMPS and he is back in the yellow! That's cats for you!! have a good weekend. X
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top