ADVISE PLEASE BAILEYS NADIRE 1.8

Status
Not open for further replies.

BaileyUK

Member Since 2013
Have just tested Bailey +5 after AMPS of 9.9 he has tested 1.8
Have fed him gravy food any advise much appreciated,have locked him in and will stay with him and keep testing
 
Forgot to say in my panic,I use the freestyle freedom lite,which we know reads low.he is acting his normal self,had a large bowl of food and is happy cleaning himself,no signs of hypo.
 
One piece of advice is you don't want to get him too full, so feed only a teaspoon or two at a time. You may need him to be hungry and eat again later.
I don't know what 1.8 is but guess it's about 32. I would try to squeeze the gravy out of the can or pouch and give him a teaspoon or two, and then test again in 15 to 20 minutes.

Come on Bailey, up you go.
 
Thanks Dyana,I have just squeezed out a couple of t spoons of gravy,and he has licked it all up.
My spreadsheet is up to date,I can get it,can't understand.
 
I think the problem is that the US tab on Bailey's SS isn't loading. You will get more help if when you put numbers in your subject line, you use US numbers. For the majority of people here, a BG of 1.8 is meaningless.

Here are the instructions for handling low numbers.

You will want to re-test Bailey in 30 min. and give more HC food, if necessary. You repeat this process until the numbers have stabilized in a safe range.
 
I'm trying again.
It just stopped Loading maybe, and there were two tabs and both were gray, so clicking on the US one did nothing.
It's Loading now.
 
1.4 is 25? in US numbers.

I would try to get him to lick up some more gravy with a couple drops of honey in it. Test again in 20 minutes.
Sometimes it takes longer for the sugar to reach his system, but I just don't want to see him go any lower.

I did finally get the spreadsheet to load. I see numbers on the US sheet up to yesterday before PMPS.

You should reduce the dose by 0.25.
 
Thanks Dyana,this morning AMPS shot he was 9.9.
He is a nadir time +6 about now,what do I do about his insulin for his PM shot?
Will test him in half hour and report back. Many thanks
 
Just tested again we are now 6hours after his PM shot. He is reading 3.5. Gravy and honey must be kicking in.
Any advise as what to do from now? You think you are well prepared for this but my mind went blank!! He is asking to go out but will keep him indoors until I am sure he is out of danger.
Many thanks
 
I have to log off to go to work, but there should be others online to help you. If you don't get the response you need in this forum, then cross post (provide a link to the other post in each forum, so things don't get confusing) in the Main Health Forum. When he gets up into the 50s or 60s, then give a teaspoon of regular food. Keep testing. Once he's in the 50s to 60s for a while, try to go without feeding between tests. It's getting later in the cycle, so hopefully, the insulin is wearing off a little.
Tonight, I would reduce the dose by 0.25.

I have to go. I'll check in on you at my lunch time, but that's 5 hours from now. Good luck. Keep testing.
 
Hello from Canada to UK,

I see by the postings today that you've had some really low numbers for Bailey - 25 - :o . You did a great job raising his numbers to safer values - 63 - super duper! In case you want to post the numbers in US form, all you have to do is multiply Bailey's number by 18 and you will get the number that is more readily recognizable here at FDMB. In Canada, we use the decimal number as you do so it took me a while to get comfortable with the other way of interpreting the numbers. Now after a couple of weeks of practice, it's old hat to me - I know that we have to start feeding MC and HC when the cat goes below 50. In your case Bailey went to 25 which is pretty low but I understand that you think your meter reads lower and that Bailey didn't show any hypo signs. That's reassuring but nonetheless, those kind of numbers should be watched very carefully - which you did. Bravo!

So it looks like Bailey has earned an automatic reduction of 0.25u for PMPS. Again, the magic number for a reduction is anything below 50 or on your meter, below 2.8 - I hope I'm not overstepping and explaining things you already know. If I am then please forgive me. Good luck with Bailey this evening - I'll be keeping an eye out for you guys. Take care!

Anne
 
Hi Anne,thanks for your input,It is very much appreciated.
Baileys ears don't give much blood,so the only meter we have in the UK that requires a small amount of blood is the freestyle lite,which I believes reads low.
As far as his ss goes there is a link to US numbers top right hand corner of the ss which will convert for you.
The strange thing is he was showing no signs of being low,even when he was 1.4 (25) I have locked the cat flap,and he is sleeping on a chair in the garden,will be sitting by watching him for rest of the afternoon!!dont want to disturb him,but will test again when he wakes up. Do you all think reducing by .25 tonight is sufficient? Or shall I reduce more,the problem is it is difficult for me to test him through the night.
 
Hi,

I was just looking at Bailey's ss and I don't see his numbers for May 30 - have you had a chance to plug in today's numbers? The only reason I suggest using the US numbers when you're posting, particularly in your title, is because you're more apt to get a quick response if members at FDMB see low numbers that they recognize. Otherwise, the decimal numbers are meaningless because they don't use them ever day as we do and if they look at Bailey's ss and they don't see his numbers for today, as is the case for me, then answers may not be as forthcoming as you would like.

With regards to the amount of decrease, I really am not experienced enough to make that kind of call but I can tell you what has been communicated to me. That being said, the understanding is ECID - every cat is different - and sometimes you have to decide what is best for your cat and your circumstances.

As you probably already know, the idea of tight regulation is to make small increases or decreases in order to avoid large bounces in any one direction and to avoid missing a critical level that may be the one that works for the cat. So technically, the ideal is 0.25 or 0.5 decrease if the dose is larger however, I'm not sure whether 4.25u is considered a large dose as I have seen some spreadsheets that indicate kitty is on an 8 or 9 unit dose. This is where experience is invaluable and I know someone with more experience will be around to advise. You might want to put a question mark in your title and write PMPS Dose Advice Needed. I read in one of Julie's post yesterday that she looks for the question marks first when she decides who to visit first. The other thing that is helpful is to include today's date at the start of the title - this is especially important for overseas people as there is a much larger time difference than for us in North America. I believe most of us our dealing with about a 3 to 3.5 hour difference between coasts (from Newfoundland in the East to Vancouver in the West) which means that most of us are operating within the same day time frame.

Hope this is helpful and Bailey is safe for you this evening.

Anne
 
We are now nearly 8 hours after AMPS and Bailey has just tested 5.2 (93) he has not had any food for the past hour,so we look as though we are out of danger.will feed again now.
I think I would feel less anxious if I reduced his PM shot more than the .25 what do you think? Any input much appreciated.
 
I'm currently sending messages to some of our most experienced members that you need some advice. Hopefully, someone will be around soon - we still have about 4 hours before PMPS. Anne
 
You're welcome. Have you read my second last post about putting a question mark in your title? My responding in your post keeps you at the top of the list so hopefully someone will pop in but a question mark might be helpful as well. Sorry to sound so pushy - I just want someone to see your post and advise you better than I can. :smile:
 
You did a great job today!!!

Personally, I wouldn't reduce his dose more that the .25U because you don't want his shed to drain too much, but you hold the syringe, and you have to do what makes you feel most comfortable. You still have a few hours to go, too, before you need to really make that decision.

(It's probably my computer, but it is taking forever for Bailey's SS to load, so I haven't actually been able to look at his trends.)

Lookin' good, Bailey, but no more of those super-lows, OK?
 
Update on Bailey,AMPS 9.9 (178)
+5. 1.8 (32)
+6. 1.4 (25)
+7. 3.5 (63)
+7.5. 5.2 (93)
+11. 8.8 (158)
He is 1 hour away from his PMPS and I would feel safer reducing more than .25 of his insulin,any thoughts?
Many thanks. Diane
P.S Bailey seems unaffected by today's little trauma,it's only me that needs that extra glass of wine tonight.
 
Hi Diane. I'm at work and only have a couple minutes until log off time. I am trying to load your ss again and it is still loading and taking forever, so I probably won't get a chance to see it before I log off.
You hold the syringe. If you want to try to reduce by 0.50 that's up to you. Your comfort level matters, too. You can always go back up in dose.

Okay, got to get off the internet. I wouldn't try any lower than 3.75. You have the weekend to test and see if the dosecrease works? Good luck with the new dose whatever you decide.
 
Hi Dyana,had just given Bailey his PM shot before I saw your post.gave him 3.50
His PMPS was 15.4 (277) that is a big jump from his +11 of 8.8 (158) so am I to presume this is a bounce?
Thanks a lot for checking back in on us,it's much appreciated,if he is in normal numbers for Bailey tomorrow at AMPS what dose of insulin should I give him?
D x
 
Am unable to get Baileys numbers for today to load on the computer,so here is the update
PMPS 15.4 (277)
+3. 14.2(255)
+5. 13.8(248)
 
Yes, I think you can be pretty sure that's a bounce!!

Dropping him back .75 may be too much, but you'll know soon enough if you need to go back up! None of us would tell you not to decrease when they drop into the 30's (or the 20's! :shock: )

I got your spreadsheet to open, but it sure took a long time! Wonder what's up with that? My own opens fine, but yours sure didn't. Strange things going on I guess?

I wouldn't be surprised if he continues to go up during this cycle. That was quite a low earlier today, so he may go quite a bit higher, but at least you know his liver works!
 
Hi Diane! Good job handling the low numbers today. That was a pretty big reduction - if he shows any sign of trending up over the next couple of days (not the bounce from the 20's, but once the bounce has cleared) you might want to go back up to today's dose (4.25) minus the 0.25u reduction for going under 50. So a new dose of 4.0 instead, which is what the protocol would've suggested. Just watch his numbers and take action if they are looking like there isn't enough insulin in there.

I'm trying to remember - did you get Bailey tested for acro, or just talk about it when we were talking about Anna's Bailey?

Nice to see you!
 
by the way, diane, i meant to say that the Freestyle is lower in measuring the HIGH numbers. I don't think it measure low in the low ranges. We used one for the first year and a half or so, and what i observed was that numbers that read 250 on the Freestyle were 350 or 400 on the new meter. I don't think anyone has said that they found the Freestyle to be low at the low numbers.

He didn't show any signs of a hypo, did he? The list of some of the most common symptoms are on the Low Numbers sticky. If you don't have that printed off, just in case you can't reach someone here, you should definitely print it out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top