omglolcats
Member Since 2018
i've been furiously reading the fdmb boards since my cat was diagnosed 3 weeks ago to get up to speed.
could use some advice because i was thrown a curve ball i wasn't expecting haven't yet read any other posts with similar experiences yet - (i'm sure there are but nervous and searching while nervous isnt helpful)
cats levels were tested one the first visit by blood and urine: 367 (blood) +3(1000) for urine; and just blood on the second visit: 375
cat was and is on a wet food diet and from reviewing the food charts - one of the low carb ones.
had switched cat to dry food for about 1 month right before symptoms started showing because of a work/family emergency apocalypse and thought (stupidly) it was better to have some dry food out since i was away from house for 18 hours at a time. the symptoms were excessive thirst and peeing all the time.
just started insulin yesterday - (1 unit of glargine) to be given twice daily - 12 hours apart. did not have a glucometer, but ordered the alphatrak 2 thing online. arrived last night after the second dose of insulin. (was not expecting it to arrive as quickly as it did - online said 7-10 business days - otherwise i would have waited to start insulin). was instructed by vet to start the insulin and begin monitoring the BG levels whenever the glucometer arrived.
so yesterday was the first day giving insulin and her doses were given as close to exactly 12 hours apart as you can probably get at 9:45 am and 9:46 pm.
cat was not super interested in food this morning but had a bite or two while i set up the glucometer - which is somewhat unusual. tested BG at 9:35 this morning - it was 180. called vet who said to hold dose and test again when i get home from work to let her know the results and also mentioned some cats only need to be dosed once a day on glargine.
is this normal? anyone experienced something similar or can point me in the direction of some similar posts i can read up on?
could use some advice because i was thrown a curve ball i wasn't expecting haven't yet read any other posts with similar experiences yet - (i'm sure there are but nervous and searching while nervous isnt helpful)
cats levels were tested one the first visit by blood and urine: 367 (blood) +3(1000) for urine; and just blood on the second visit: 375
cat was and is on a wet food diet and from reviewing the food charts - one of the low carb ones.
had switched cat to dry food for about 1 month right before symptoms started showing because of a work/family emergency apocalypse and thought (stupidly) it was better to have some dry food out since i was away from house for 18 hours at a time. the symptoms were excessive thirst and peeing all the time.
just started insulin yesterday - (1 unit of glargine) to be given twice daily - 12 hours apart. did not have a glucometer, but ordered the alphatrak 2 thing online. arrived last night after the second dose of insulin. (was not expecting it to arrive as quickly as it did - online said 7-10 business days - otherwise i would have waited to start insulin). was instructed by vet to start the insulin and begin monitoring the BG levels whenever the glucometer arrived.
so yesterday was the first day giving insulin and her doses were given as close to exactly 12 hours apart as you can probably get at 9:45 am and 9:46 pm.
cat was not super interested in food this morning but had a bite or two while i set up the glucometer - which is somewhat unusual. tested BG at 9:35 this morning - it was 180. called vet who said to hold dose and test again when i get home from work to let her know the results and also mentioned some cats only need to be dosed once a day on glargine.
is this normal? anyone experienced something similar or can point me in the direction of some similar posts i can read up on?
Last edited: