Advise for possible NS and Novolin R use for sick Kitty Preshot 82BG

Bear & Lora

Member Since 2018
So Bear was 48Bg at 3.5.
20u honey given
Cerenia given 10 min after, 10 min later puked.
+4 =47Bg

I'm thinking pancreatitis with low event.
Was going to test 4 ketones and he had diarrhea.
A few min ago Ketone test negative.
About to go to ER.

What is the test to have done for pancreatitis?

At +4.25 20u more honey.
So far hasn't vomited after honey.
 
Last edited:
The pancreatitis test is the Spec fPL if done at a lab. It gives you a number. The Snap fPL is yes/no and done in house.

How long since the last test? Glad he hasn’t vomited the last bit of honey. Did you try feeding him a bit of gravy? A tsp or two?
 
The pancreatitis test is the Spec fPL if done at a lab. It gives you a number. The Snap fPL is yes/no and done in house.

How long since the last test? Glad he hasn’t vomited the last bit of honey. Did you try feeding him a bit of gravy? A tsp or two?
Just now test 62Bg
Puking all morning while DH let me sleep in. :(
Woke me at 47Bg.
threw up gravy
 
Would be eat a tiny bit of watered down LC? Or do you have all meat babyfood around. Glad he’s up, Bear knows how to break a bounce in style. :eek:
 
He ate some meat babyfood, has kept it down.
About to leave.
I only have one Cerenia left, which is not enough for weekend probably..
 
Should be good for 1.5 to 2 hours. I would still test 1/2 hour after that last one to make sure he’s still up.
 
Blood panel was good, slightly elevated cholesterol and globulin. They have to email me the results some snafu with printer.
They use a pet meter at the pet hospitals right?
They said his BG from a blood vessel was 117.
Now we have meds to handle vomiting for the weekend.
Vet recommended half dose of Insulin for PM.
I don't think that sounds reasonable.
 
Blood panel was good, slightly elevated cholesterol and globulin. They have to email me the results some snafu with printer.
They use a pet meter at the pet hospitals right?
They said his BG from a blood vessel was 117.
Now we have meds to handle vomiting for the weekend.
Vet recommended half dose of Insulin for PM.
I don't think that sounds reasonable.
What is it that you don't think is reasonable?
 
The
Half his insulin.
Yes that's a tricky one because of the DKA history. Bear has earned a reduction anyway.
Do you know if they checked ketones?
If there was no history of DKA I think the half dose would be reasonable considering the vomiting, loss of appetite and low BSL
And 117 is not all that high on an Alphatrak meter if that is what they used..
I am going to tag @Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Chris & China (GA) @Kris & Teasel to help you with this. Hopefully one of them will come online before your next shot.
 
That will help figure out what to dose tonight.
@Wendy&Neko

So he is 133BG @ +11.
Here are some things to consider.
Bear had vomited twice before 8:45 one large, one small.
After his shot and food he vomited 8 more times between 9AM to 12Noon.
He vomited 3 additional times after that between 12 to 2PM.

Vet injected Bear with Zofran and said the injection would last and be good for tonight and he wouldn't require additional meds till tomorrow.
Vet also said we should feed him when we got home that he would be hungry.

Bear would not eat cat food when we got home though he was crying for food so I gave him more baby food.
He ate 1.2 oz which would be 40 calories.
Later I tried his favorite cat food and he only ate 0.1 oz.

So Bear has had so very little food today.
 
If he will eat baby food, that is an OK temporary solution for tonight. Just not great long term.

Note that the 5.25 unit depot will still be in play tonight. A small reduction might not impact until the last half of the cycle. But Bear does tend to bounce the cycle after a low or green. How are you feeling tonight? Are you up for a possible night up?
 
I get it I can't steer much with food if his appy is low even with mirtz he usually ate more.
I am not toooo concerned about ketones so I lean toward 4 units.
 
I would pretty much have to test all night because of the Depot then use Novolin for a bounce if it occurs.
 
This could be a second dip of Lantus. Which is safe to shot. You could still do a reduced dose, maybe 3 units? I will not be up for your +6 to give R suggestions.
 
I will post for more advise but please look back on SS Bear's use of Novilin with prozinc.
DH has agreed to relieve me at 5AM.
 
You have to do what you feel comfortable with. Note that an R scale you used before may or may not need to change now on Lantus.
 
You have to do what you feel comfortable with. Note that an R scale you used before may or may not need to change now on Lantus.
I had read on your post that you have used R for NS.
Is it comparable to Neko?
No matter what I would start at the smallest dose for outcome & reaction.
 
I’m sorry Bear is not feeling well. I’m glad you took him to the ER and got some meds.

I’ve used R but I won’t be up either if you shoot it when he starts the bounce. You used it on a smaller dose with no depot to deal with. If you do use it, be sure you start at 0.1u and be careful of overlapping any nadirs. I’m sure you’ve been given the cautions about R but one extra, one that I’m not sure if it occurs with PZ, is often R with the L insulins seems to also affect the cycle after so you’ll have to be on your toes for a couple cycles.

Most FD cats have elevated cholesterol. The simplest reason globulin is sometimes high is due to inflammation.

Have you shot yet?

BTW, you said you gave 20 ccs of honey? That is a ton. Are you sure you didn’t mean 2? Even that would be a lot.

Edited to add: sorry I’m slow tonight but I see you are thinking of skipping the shot and using R to bring down any high numbers. The R will only hold him down for a few hours. I would suggest a lower dose of Lantus and then, if he shoots up, you can use R.

Are you able to syringe feed him?
 
Last edited:
Back
Top