advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

scissorchik

Member Since 2011
Hey guys.

For whatever reason, I can't enter anything on Basil's spreadsheet this morning. I've tried re-downloading it, but I just get a blank page.

I was in a bit of a 'I don't know what to do' moment this morning. I tested Basil AMPS and he came in at 90. I thought this was a bit low, so wasn't sure if I should give him his .25 lantus. He tends to drop quickly in the +2-+4 range, and since I can't get home till closer to his +11 test , I waited and retested him at +1 (it was actually an hour and a half later) and he came in at 59.

After his AMPS I grabbed a can of ff, split it in half, added a bit of water and froze. Before I left I put out the frozen food and can only hope that he gets some and his brother doesn't get greedy and eat his and his brother's.

Being new at this, I am still learning how to navigate his BG levels. I am planning on posting on the lantus group, but I am kind of scared-I have read the stickies but kind of got the idea that if you ask a question and it could have been explained in the stickies you are in trouble.

Bas is at such a low dose and his numbers have been good, but we're not even 2 weeks into this, and without my vet's help, am unsure what to do next. (as in skip shots or lower the dose)

It's a crazy day at my salon and i only have a few minutes between clients to sit and type this, but if any of you have any advice I'd appreciate it.

:)
 
At that low, you definitely do not want to give insulin. At that low of a dose and with that reading, Basil may be on his way to becoming OTJ. (off the juice)

There have been many cats that all it takes is a diet change and a jump start with insulin that are able to stop needing insulin within a very short time. :thumbup
 
Crazy day here, too, so just popping in quickly...

So, are you saying that his BG went down to 59 WITHOUT the shot? Then, WOOOOOOOOOOO!!! It will be most interesting to see what his BG is when you check his PM PS. If it's gone up a lot, give him his shot as usual. He may well need just one shot a day for a little while .... or maybe even none. It really looks like Mr. Basil is heading to becoming (if not already) diet controlled.

And yes, it can- and has!- happened as quickly as 2 weeks in. Nice work!
 
Hi guys! I did give him his shot, and made sure there was food for him

I just heard from the vet-she told me to stop the insulin and continue to test and do a curve and bring it in to her on Monday.

Does this sound good to you?
 
Yes Jen-I gave it to him. I didn't know what to do, and being so new to this was unsure of what would happen if I didn't give him the shot.

But we will no longer be giving the shot-just picking the ears.

I'm so glad the vet was co-operative. It makes me feel better to know he has improved and we can (hopefully) control this with diet.

:-D
 
It was safe to give 0.25u of Lantus at that number. It would not have been safe to give a faster acting insulin.

I think a trial of OTJ is fine... but if he starts to rise again, don't hesitate to bring the juice back out!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top