Advice requestd-Humulin2Lantus-Lookg 4feedbk

Status
Not open for further replies.

pepperthecat1969

Member Since 2010
Khan will be switchg to Lantus tomorrow morning-amps. Right now I could really use a Lantus user whom was on Humulin N- advice. SS is attached- What should I shoot rt now..with the focus on not having too much Humulin N in system when I shoot Lantus at 7am tomorrow? I plan on only starting at 0.25u of Lantus-going slow. maybe 7am isn't the best time tomorrow to begin?? My thought is 1.25u of Humulin N. I'm home all day and all weekend.. I want to be on schedule with the Lantus so I didn't think I should start at 2pm in the afternoon.

thanks!
 
All I can tell you is that Lantus is a 12 hour insulin. I'm up at 5:30 a.m. every morning as I give my cat her shot at 6:00 a.m. and again at 6:00 p.m.

I hope that someone who's been on the Humulin N before switching to Lantus can help you very soon. Congratulations on switching to Lantus. I think you'll be quite pleased with the insulin. :)
 
Hi. I am by no means an expert with respect to Humulin N or Lantus. However, I am happy to share how we switched Achilles to Lantus from Humulin N. In terms of the Humulin N, Achilles was on it for about 6 days and we were finding that it was leaving his system well before 12 hours - perhaps we were getting 6 hours from Humulin N. He was a yo-yo. High numbers at amps and pmps and blues and yellows 6 hours after injection. With that in mind, and wanting dearly to get Achilles into better numbers, we switched to Lantus immediately. In fact, we shot Humulin N in the morning and shot the Lantus approx. 12 hours later that evening. You can see the details in his SS below. What time did you last shoot the Humulin N? If it was close to 12 hours ago, I don't see any harm in starting Khan on the Lantus tonight at 7pm (assuming you have the Lantus). If you don't have the Lantus yet, I see no harm in the reduced dose you are proposing as I think it will be well out of his system by 7am tomorrow.
 
I do not personally have experience with Humalin N, but I do know that it does not last long in the system at all. It looks like from your spreadsheet that it lasts 6-7 hours for your kitty and then he zooms right back up very quickly. If you shot this afternoon at 2:30pm you have two choices:

* skip the pm shot and shoot the lantus at 7am tomorrow morning

* shoot the pm shot early since the Humalin doesn't last in the system that long anyway (like 11pm - +9) and shoot the lantus at 7am.

Since you are already giving more than 1u of Humalin - and that will cause a steep drop and not a gentle one like Lantus, I would start at 1u on the lantus and not ultra low like 0.25u. It takes a few days to fully build up in the system when you first start, so you might not even see much of a drop the first cycle anyway.
 
Hey Kelly & Oscar-Welcome to lantus land.. Moonie started on humilin N on 2/19/08--She got progressively more frightened, stayed sick & reacted badly to it--Vet said increase from 2.00U to 3.00U which I did. That was even worse! She just stayed by the water bowl, food bowl, or hid most of the time--I saw my cat getting worse & then when he said raise to 4.00U--I said NO--I was already here & listened to what was told to me here! Went to a different vet who put her on lantus!(Bless her)
Starting dose here is 1.00U according to the protocol we all follow here..1.00 of lantus is totally different than N--It is much more gentle, produces a much gentler curve than N, and no sudden drops like on N--If we get drops, they are controlled with food..Lantus is managable, where N is not--
If I were you I would skip tonite's shot of N and start fresh tomorrow with 1.00U.
You will see a difference in the first week, and he will feel a lot better--N is harsh, quick acting, lantus is not-
Please read the stickys at the top of the page they are utmost importance--Ask questions, be part of this board, read peoples posts--It all helps & you will see an improvement..We all help each other here--Hopefully a dosing helper will see this & verify what you should start at for you, if you need it--Welcome again to lantus land!
 
I'm very new to Lantus and sadly very old to the world of Humulin N . I'm not an expert in FD but the people on this board are great!

My SS does not reflect the four years Savannah was on N, but I did note the last few weeks of N. It does leave the system shortly but I agree with Roni, skip N tonight and start fresh with Lantus tomorrow.

I felt like I had more flexibility with N in terms of when I could shoot, but with Lantus it works best to stick to 12/12, so make sure that you are ready to wake up on the weekends :). I wake up at 5 during the week but don't leave until 6:30, I give Savannah her shot between 5:45 and 6 so that way if I need to retest her sugar (in case she is lower than usual) I can retest at 6:30. It's much better to wake up at 6 on the weekends as opposed to 5!

I did not start Savannah on 1.0 of Lantus, b/c she was already getting a small amount of N, however Roni has been doing this way longer so if you are home tomorrow and can get some spot checks thru out the day & evenings next week go for it.
I didn't really see much blood sugar action until about 3 weeks with Savannah.

The reason we switched was b/c she had several small seizures in one night and the vet said it could have been from the "roller coaster ride" she was experiencing with N. She is (knock on wood) doing very well with Lantus. She's much more playful and less "wiped out" after her shot.

I know N gets a bad rap but ECID. She did pretty well on N (preshots about 200 and drops in the 70-100 range consistently) but in the last year it seemed to get funky on us (300+ preshots and drops to 70, very inconsistent readings/dosage). I'm so happy we switched and I wish I was brave enough to do it earlier.

Good luck!
 
Here is the link to your previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27282
Each day we post a new condo (thread) for our kitties and in the header we put: Date, Name of kitty, AMPS=_____
and we link the previous day's condo to the first post of the day.
I wish you and Pepper much success with Lantus!
Did your vet suggest the starting dose? 1 unit is a good starting dose usually for Lantus, especially if you have been on another insulin.
12 hours after you gave the Humilin, you could start with Lantus since it is like the Vetsulion we used...a short acting insulin that is out of the system before the cycle is near finish. Yes, I think you will be much happier on Lantus. :mrgreen:
 
Lantus can be started 12 hours after N. There is no reason to skip a shot just because you're switching, and in fact Lantus doesn't work as well on high numbers so if you skip and the number gets too high, it will take that much longer for the Lantus to bring the numbers down. I do suggest starting Lantus when you can be home to monitor.

I would like to encourage you to consider starting on a higher dose than 0.25 units BID. Based on your spreadsheet, 1 unit BID of Lantus seems like a reasonable and safe starting dose. Of course everything is up to you, but based on my experience most cats end up needing the same or higher dose of Lantus than their previous insulin. You're getting mostly pink and some mid to high blue on 1.25 of N.
 
I did use N with Gabby and switched directly to Lantus both in terms of not skipping a shot and in terms of dose. N does not have the duration of Lantus nor is it the kind of insulin that builds up in the system whereby you would have to be concerned about overlap. So, as Libby has suggested, you can shoot N tonight and switch over for your AM shot.

I want to second Libby's suggestion regarding starting dose. From your post earlier this week, you indicated you are familiar with the weight based formula for initial dose of Lantus. Based on that formula, and your noting Khan weighed roughly 10 lbs, Khan's starting dose would be a bit over 1.0u. I agree that 1.0u would seem to be a safe dose and reasonably consistent with your current dose of N.
 
Hi, welcome to Lantus Land.
I used Humulin N with DC for about 2 1/2 years before switching to Lantus.
DC only got about 4 hours from the N.
I switched to Lantus at his regular shot time without any break and didn't have any problems.
His numbers have been much more stable and lower since the switch.
 
Roni and Moonie said:
Hey Kelly & Oscar-Welcome to lantus land..

Hey Roni, I'm not the newbie here, wink wink, nudge nudge :-D

Looks like we are all kinda suggesting the same thing for your starting dose. What are your plans for tomorrow morning?

Edited to point out: the OP got a shootable number today at 2:30pm, she wants to get the lantus on a 12/12 schedule she can keep, which means a 7am shot time - hence the option for shooting tonight (2:30am or slightly earlier) or waiting until 7am to start the lantus.
 
I did say to check with the dosing helpers in regard to starting dose--I think you will be happy you changed to lantus--I actually did start lantus the next day, and it has all been good since then--I usually speak from what I have experienced here on FDMB--Hope you find succes with lantus- :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top