A
Anonymous
Today is my Buddy's 6th day on Levemir (I switched from Humulin). I give him one (1) unit 7am/7pm. I currently do not have a ss because I'm having great difficulty in getting enough numbers to even post. I too started (or attempting) the home testing on that day. I do have 2 questions.
#1. Please reassure me that I'm not the only bean who is having trouble getting successful tests in the beginning. What used to be a quiet little home has become one of great anxiety and frustration. I've tried all the techniques, it's just that his squirming makes it difficult to test. Is there anyone out there who could at least reassure me they had the same difficulty in the beginning and it will get easier and that I'm not the only one going thru this. I would greatly appreciate it. But my main concern is ....
#2. Buddy's numbers just keep climbing. Buddy is 8 yrs old, 14 pounds and was diagnosed 11/19/10 with diabetes with a bg of 454. He was placed on Humulin, 3 units 2x/day and was tested one month later and his bg was 127; then was tested a month later and it was 264 and was told to increase Humulin to 4 units. That's when I switched to LEVEMIR. The advicie is to start low/go slow, as stated ablove 1 unit 2x/day). Is it time to increase?
I have been able to get morning pre-shot numbers. Each morning they keep getting higher in the 400's. As I said I started six days ago .... that day his am pre-shot number was 376, the am preshot # has increased everyday since and today his preshot number was 439.
I have been successful in getting tests around noon everyday and those numbers range between 264 and 304. (I have tried at other times during the day but have been uncessessful) At least the times of successful testing has been at the same time during the day.
I eliminated his dry food last weekend and he only eats Fancy Feast "Classic" and his treat at "testing" time is boiled chicken.
Is it time to increase insulin ... if so how much? When his numbers were low using Humulin he was lively and playful. This week he has not been.
(I'm sure the stress of testing hasn't helped either). Please help .... we're heading in the wrong direction.
I love my Buddy and it's just very distressing seeing these higher numbers everyday. Thank you in advance to anyone willing to offer advice.
#1. Please reassure me that I'm not the only bean who is having trouble getting successful tests in the beginning. What used to be a quiet little home has become one of great anxiety and frustration. I've tried all the techniques, it's just that his squirming makes it difficult to test. Is there anyone out there who could at least reassure me they had the same difficulty in the beginning and it will get easier and that I'm not the only one going thru this. I would greatly appreciate it. But my main concern is ....
#2. Buddy's numbers just keep climbing. Buddy is 8 yrs old, 14 pounds and was diagnosed 11/19/10 with diabetes with a bg of 454. He was placed on Humulin, 3 units 2x/day and was tested one month later and his bg was 127; then was tested a month later and it was 264 and was told to increase Humulin to 4 units. That's when I switched to LEVEMIR. The advicie is to start low/go slow, as stated ablove 1 unit 2x/day). Is it time to increase?
I have been able to get morning pre-shot numbers. Each morning they keep getting higher in the 400's. As I said I started six days ago .... that day his am pre-shot number was 376, the am preshot # has increased everyday since and today his preshot number was 439.
I have been successful in getting tests around noon everyday and those numbers range between 264 and 304. (I have tried at other times during the day but have been uncessessful) At least the times of successful testing has been at the same time during the day.
I eliminated his dry food last weekend and he only eats Fancy Feast "Classic" and his treat at "testing" time is boiled chicken.
Is it time to increase insulin ... if so how much? When his numbers were low using Humulin he was lively and playful. This week he has not been.
(I'm sure the stress of testing hasn't helped either). Please help .... we're heading in the wrong direction.
I love my Buddy and it's just very distressing seeing these higher numbers everyday. Thank you in advance to anyone willing to offer advice.