Advice Please

Heather & Shooter

Member Since 2009
Yay! Finally green since his first accidental dose. However, now I'm not sure what to do from here. How do I know how much to shoot tonight if he doesn't go back up into his "normal" 300's? Here's todays numbers -

AMPS 303 gave 2u (levemir) +4 178, +6 88, +7 92, +8 121
 
Hi Heather, I've been away lately - do you have a previous post?

Which dosing method are you following?

Typically we dose the same a.m. and p.m. unless kitty drops below threshold (below 90 on SLGS or below 50 on TR)...well below 50 sometimes...based on if kitty holds reductions well or not...

If you could please set up your title per the instructions: (date, kitty name, AMPS ###)...it helps others to view your post as the first one today (I'm only guessing that it's the first one today?)
 
Looking at your ss you aren’t following either of our methods and are making too many dosing changes in my opinion. We don’t increase faster than every 6 cycles if following TR. I went back and saw you were given the links to our methods. Have you read them? Any thoughts?
 
Yes, thank you. I wasn't really understanding any of it. Just recently someone explained all of it to me... insulin is a hormone, why it needs to be held for 7 - 10 days, how even a small dose change creates the need to start the count all over... I'm doing that now. Gonna stay at 2 units. I really should read thru all of it again as I still don't understand the SLGS versus TR.
 
I really should read thru all of it again as I still don't understand the SLGS versus TR.

The most important point about either dosing method is how long you hold the dose and what the threshold for is for reducing. Pick one that you're comfortable with - based on how often you can test (looks like you're testing enough for TR) AND how comfortable you are with your cat going lower than 90 OR lower than 50. Personally I feel that unless you have to work outside of the home TR is the best way to get your cat into better numbers.

Every time you change the dose you're causing the numbers to be wonky - please hold the dose according to your chosen dosing method.

Please fix your title.
 
The most important point about either dosing method is how long you hold the dose and what the threshold for is for reducing. Pick one that you're comfortable with - based on how often you can test (looks like you're testing enough for TR) AND how comfortable you are with your cat going lower than 90 OR lower than 50. Personally I feel that unless you have to work outside of the home TR is the best way to get your cat into better numbers.

Every time you change the dose you're causing the numbers to be wonky - please hold the dose according to your chosen dosing method.

Please fix your title.


Thank you. I guess me asking what I might need to shoot tonight didn't matter since he jumped from 121 to 420 in a matter of 4 hours! :(
 
That's the bounce. When they go low, the liver responds by dumping all the stored up glycogens into their blood stream - it's an automatic defense mechanism to keep him safe...only problem is that number looks horrible...but it's a natural/normal thing. Just ride it down by giving the same dose that you gave this morning - and continue doing so for 3 days (if on TR) or 7 days (if on SLGS)....that's why it's so important to pick one dosing method - so we can advise you on when you will want to change the dose...otherwise it's just too difficult to tell when to change it, if at all. The insulin that you're using now isn't a quick acting thing...so slow down, pace yourself...adopt one of the methods and ride it out ... hopefully the numbers will improve over time with consistency and care on your part :)

Have a good evening!
 
Levimir often has a late nadir, sometimes when it’s time for the next dose so you will need to get used to shooting lower numbers. I agree with Sue that TR gives the best chance at remission.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top