Astra&Purrfect
Member Since 2016
Hello everyone and hiya Suzanne if you’re there!
I’ve decided to post this update about Felix because this is unknown territory for us and any advice would be much appreciated from people who’ve had similar experiences with cats.
Over the last few months, we’ve had to drop Felix’s dose from 3.3u to 2.6u twice a day. But everything’s gone beserk in the last week. His numbers have been all over the place and we’ve had lower numbers on 0.5u today than 2.6u 8 days ago! He was pretty low at nadir 88 mg/dl today (human meter).
When he’s been around or under 200 mg/dl pre-shot, we’ve taking the SLGS advice of 10-25% of the dose. Coincidentally, in this last week he has had frequent loose stools and has dropped almost a pound (he’s already very underweight). His food has not changed. He doesn’t seem to be able to gain weight although he’s been eating around 250 to 300 calories of wet food every day. I’ve stopped giving pancreatic enzymes today just in case it’s too much now and is causing over-processed, over-quick transit of loose stools.
Anyway, I presume that the lower need for insulin is a sign of the pancreas starting up again? But why the worrying diarrhoea though? Any pointers or advice would be appreciated - thank you!
EDIT: He was at 137 mg/DL preshot this evening, the lowest he's ever been preshot, so decided not to inject for the first time. Some might still inject their cat a mini dose but after today we thought not. What dose to give tomorrow depending on numbers, I wonder
Astra & Felix.
I’ve decided to post this update about Felix because this is unknown territory for us and any advice would be much appreciated from people who’ve had similar experiences with cats.
Over the last few months, we’ve had to drop Felix’s dose from 3.3u to 2.6u twice a day. But everything’s gone beserk in the last week. His numbers have been all over the place and we’ve had lower numbers on 0.5u today than 2.6u 8 days ago! He was pretty low at nadir 88 mg/dl today (human meter).
When he’s been around or under 200 mg/dl pre-shot, we’ve taking the SLGS advice of 10-25% of the dose. Coincidentally, in this last week he has had frequent loose stools and has dropped almost a pound (he’s already very underweight). His food has not changed. He doesn’t seem to be able to gain weight although he’s been eating around 250 to 300 calories of wet food every day. I’ve stopped giving pancreatic enzymes today just in case it’s too much now and is causing over-processed, over-quick transit of loose stools.
Anyway, I presume that the lower need for insulin is a sign of the pancreas starting up again? But why the worrying diarrhoea though? Any pointers or advice would be appreciated - thank you!
EDIT: He was at 137 mg/DL preshot this evening, the lowest he's ever been preshot, so decided not to inject for the first time. Some might still inject their cat a mini dose but after today we thought not. What dose to give tomorrow depending on numbers, I wonder
Astra & Felix.
Last edited: